We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a great night as a student couple at souke kafe. The staff was nice, the food delicious, and the atmosphere was lovely. We absolutely recommend a visit, since it is hard to find reliable and hygenic restaurants in marrakech. However, it was not the best restaurant we visited in this price class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    265
    62
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Souk Kafe is a great little roof top terrace tucked away in a small alley in the Medina. It’s definitely worth a visit if you can find it! The terrace is elevated high above the craziness of the Souks and provides a refreshing break from the hustle and bustle below
.
The food was fresh and tasty and very reasonable priced. We had an entrée of salads and I would highly recommend the chicken and lemon tagine.

Great Value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A delightful rooftop terrace with views over the medina is the setting for sampling the delicious menu. Add attentive and friendly service and the Souk Cafe doesn't disappoint.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice enough place when you can get here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't find it last night so went to Un Dejuener a Marrakech (see my review) which is handier to Fna, and tastier with a nicer terrace at about the same price. Beef tangine 'Marrakechia' fairly bland, as were my kebabs. Pleasant place with nice live music. Directions on their business carc (photo sumitted with review :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute cafe at the edge of the souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A bit difficult to find, but worth the effort. I had some lovely Moroccan pastries and my partner had the lamb tagine. It wasn't too expensive and both dishes were excellent. The terrace is an oasis of calm, not far from the souks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.