We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place when you can get here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice enough place when you can get here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't find it last night so went to Un Dejuener a Marrakech (see my review) which is handier to Fna, and tastier with a nicer terrace at about the same price. Beef tangine 'Marrakechia' fairly bland, as were my kebabs. Pleasant place with nice live music. Directions on their business carc (photo sumitted with review :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    254
    197
    42
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute cafe at the edge of the souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A bit difficult to find, but worth the effort. I had some lovely Moroccan pastries and my partner had the lamb tagine. It wasn't too expensive and both dishes were excellent. The terrace is an oasis of calm, not far from the souks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“try the cold mint teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We escaped the souk here a couple of times. It is the perfect place for a refreshing break. Free wifi, nice roof terrace. Clean bathroom. The iced mint tea was refreshing and very minty. Great place to get your strength back before heading out for more shopping or site seeing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A charm, worth every Dirham. Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I found this place thanks to the scored of positive reviews about it from other intrepid travelers who found themselves dodging the souks to arrive at this cafe's unassuming entrance. Once you ascend the steps to the terrace, you are worlds apart from the chaos below. We settled into a nice sofa-like thing with a nice view, and based on reviews I went straight for the 100 Dhr menu.

Simply awesome.

Moroccan soup came and was pretty tasty, but the real treat was the chicken tajine. Yes, yes, you've probably had 10,000 tajines by now, but this one is great. The sauce was quite thickly reduced and therefore very flavorful, the chicken moist and very tasty. This was served with some bread if I remember correctly, some dates, and followed by a fruit salad of oranges with cinnamon and finally a coffee (or mint tea). Suffice to say I was full and very satisfied - I kept looking at the bill in disbelief that that whole meal cost me around 11 Euros (with my large water and orange juice).

My friend got the 160 Dhr menu, which had a different, more exotic sampler of Moroccan mezes as a starter (mostly veg I believe, all very good) , and finished with a large bowl of quite good ice cream. Might be worth a shot if soup isn't your thing.

All in all, good setting, and attentive service with a smile. Just go there. Quit thinking about it, quit analyzing the map, just go. Now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed place with live music. Pives with bread nice starter. We both had our first tagines which were great. Sit up the top if you can

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.