We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charm, worth every Dirham. Go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 551 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A charm, worth every Dirham. Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I found this place thanks to the scored of positive reviews about it from other intrepid travelers who found themselves dodging the souks to arrive at this cafe's unassuming entrance. Once you ascend the steps to the terrace, you are worlds apart from the chaos below. We settled into a nice sofa-like thing with a nice view, and based on reviews I went straight for the 100 Dhr menu.

Simply awesome.

Moroccan soup came and was pretty tasty, but the real treat was the chicken tajine. Yes, yes, you've probably had 10,000 tajines by now, but this one is great. The sauce was quite thickly reduced and therefore very flavorful, the chicken moist and very tasty. This was served with some bread if I remember correctly, some dates, and followed by a fruit salad of oranges with cinnamon and finally a coffee (or mint tea). Suffice to say I was full and very satisfied - I kept looking at the bill in disbelief that that whole meal cost me around 11 Euros (with my large water and orange juice).

My friend got the 160 Dhr menu, which had a different, more exotic sampler of Moroccan mezes as a starter (mostly veg I believe, all very good) , and finished with a large bowl of quite good ice cream. Might be worth a shot if soup isn't your thing.

All in all, good setting, and attentive service with a smile. Just go there. Quit thinking about it, quit analyzing the map, just go. Now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    217
    50
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed place with live music. Pives with bread nice starter. We both had our first tagines which were great. Sit up the top if you can

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Come here for a break from the souks, with two floors of terraces complete with water vapour sprays to cool you as you eat. The Moroccan mezze starter is enough for 3, and the delicious couscous dishes will defeat anyone. Price was well under 100dh each for more food than we could eat, plus drinks and tip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not the best food unlike other reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

After reading all the great reviews I was happy to try this place, but perhaps from the last posts the cook has changed.

I ordered the Kefta kebab which was to have a flavor of cumin and parsley ... But it was a total fail. I asked for more cumin but it couldn't get better. Kefta kebab should have some chopped onion, parsley or cilantro and spice .....this only had salt and a lot of it.

My sister ordered, chicken tangine and there was lots of salt as well.

Before you order ask clearly if the Kefta meat is marinated and to put less salt.

Happy trials!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Surrey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely set meal £10 but impossible to find alone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had seen great reviews for this "restaurant" so decided to eat here. We had to get a taxi £10/100MAD against our will as we could never have found the address otherwise. We were passed on to a bystander who helpfully offered to escort us to the place as the taxi could not pass into the alley. After a circuitous route we arrived and were told we should pay him 200MAD/£20 for the privilege. We firmly refused & on leaving we found that we could have walked a few yards to the restaurant from the cab rank. As it is away from the centre of the medina and wandering the labyrinth of alleyways was not a good idea at night; we took a cab back to the hotel. These two trips made it more than we anticipated paying.
That said, the meal was lovely traditional Moroccan fare and for £10 we ate well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.