We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Update restaurant details
Ranked #35 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

During our week's stay in Marrakech we've spent hours researching where to eat and the results on the ground have been mediocre so it's a pleasure to finally be able write a really positive review.

In the evening the roof terrace setting is nice (possibly hot during the day), the service is charming, the portions generous and the food tasty and well presented and the cost reasonable.

I wish we had found Souk Kafe at the beginning of our visit rather than the end!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    226
    169
    37
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“At Last !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Morocco every year for ten years now and at last got to try Souk Kafe. Certainly a good place for carnavores. Very good value given the very generous servings ... especially in the Tanjia. We try tanjia all over the country and have always thought Marrakech as the best place. Now we think Souk Kafe's is in the top three... Will have to come back and try different versions. Although quite busy the attentive staff seemed to have all in control. Keep an eye out for the musicians too ! Only downside for some might be the steep stairs up to the rooftop terrace but if you make it then a fine place to hangout and relax.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was love at first sight. Tucked away behind all the souks, this charming place offers and incredible choice of truly Moroccan dishes at great prices.
The views of the sunset above the minarets is breathtaking. The seating is cozy and all of those elements make you feel very warm and happy at heart.
Don't miss it when you're in Marrakech.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcsetershire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tucked away at the back of the souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had been looking for this Kafe and came upon it as we had got lost in the souks, so we popped in and went up to the terrace, no real views from up here compared to a lot of terrace restaurants, nice terrace though and the food looked really nice, but we just had some Expresso's as we had eaten earlier

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Peaceful place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely shaded terrace and very good food. The staff were friendly and efficient. We found it hard to move from here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.