We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

During our week's stay in Marrakech we've spent hours researching where to eat and the results on the ground have been mediocre so it's a pleasure to finally be able write a really positive review.

In the evening the roof terrace setting is nice (possibly hot during the day), the service is charming, the portions generous and the food tasty and well presented and the cost reasonable.

I wish we had found Souk Kafe at the beginning of our visit rather than the end!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ubudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“At Last !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Morocco every year for ten years now and at last got to try Souk Kafe. Certainly a good place for carnavores. Very good value given the very generous servings ... especially in the Tanjia. We try tanjia all over the country and have always thought Marrakech as the best place. Now we think Souk Kafe's is in the top three... Will have to come back and try different versions. Although quite busy the attentive staff seemed to have all in control. Keep an eye out for the musicians too ! Only downside for some might be the steep stairs up to the rooftop terrace but if you make it then a fine place to hangout and relax.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was love at first sight. Tucked away behind all the souks, this charming place offers and incredible choice of truly Moroccan dishes at great prices.
The views of the sunset above the minarets is breathtaking. The seating is cozy and all of those elements make you feel very warm and happy at heart.
Don't miss it when you're in Marrakech.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tucked away at the back of the souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had been looking for this Kafe and came upon it as we had got lost in the souks, so we popped in and went up to the terrace, no real views from up here compared to a lot of terrace restaurants, nice terrace though and the food looked really nice, but we just had some Expresso's as we had eaten earlier

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely shaded terrace and very good food. The staff were friendly and efficient. We found it hard to move from here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trish_m74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing