We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and nice food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“friendly and nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This little Kafe is very nice! 1st the decoration is great, the staff is very helpful and always smiling and the food is excelente for good price ( Morrocan salads serves easily 2 persons).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    255
    197
    42
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely terrace restaurant with comfy benches and a nice breeze. Staff were nice, food was really good. Was very good value. Worth hunting out in the souk.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Incredible food at decent prices, and you simply can't lose here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Forget the other 367 places to eat in Marrakech and start here. For us it was the benchmark to which all other restaurants were compared, and none beat it.

The food is fantastic, and I say that sincerely. You may be able to get a better meal at one of the top ranked restaurants, but you'll pay top dollar for it too.

Bottom line, and to echo many of the reviews already, if you want great food at decent prices, this is the place to go.

N.B. Don't eat in the square unless you being ripped off for poor quality food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a gem! We were in Marrakesh for a week and this was the only place that served consistently good food. It's a shame we only found it towards the end of our trip but we promptly ate here our last two nights and lunch on the last day.

It can be a little tricky to find, it's not sign posted but its very close to Cafe Arabe which is on all the tourist maps. If you have difficulty try using Pocket Earth, it's marked correctly on this offline map.

Some reviewers were 'arguing' whether or not you can see Mouassine Mosque. You can... just, but the closest mosque you see is Ben Youssef mosque. It's not really about the view though, there isn't really much to see apart from filthy rooftops and they have screens up.

The open air terrace has good shade from the sun and there is often a breeze to keep you cool.

Some people have mentioned that the service could get a little mixed up, but that was certainly not the case when we were there. English is the third language in Marrakech (Arabic and French first and second) and maybe that's why there were issues.

What is really good is the food. The only place we ate where every dish was yum.

They have a nice starter of meat, vegetables or tasty cheese and herbs deep fried in filo pastry. These are like samosas.

I can recommend any of the skewers (brochettes). Good quality marinaded meat (lamb, chicken, beef and mini sausages), served with lovely fries and fresh, decent quality salad. For me the only thing missing would be some saffron rice but that's a small niggle.

The very tender lamb tagine with dried dates is very good. Good Morrocan spices with just the right mix of sweet dates. Although not a huge portion of meat it's not small and is more than enough as part of a meal. Served with couscous on the side.

The kefta tagine with egg is another winner. Yummy little meatballs in a tomato based sauce with a cooked egg in the centre. Also served with couscous.

The ice cream is good. Made from real ingredients! Real pistachio nuts in the pistachio, real strawberry etc. The chocolate is a little heavy on the cocoa though.

There were plenty of other dishes that I saw people eating that I wished I could have tried, it's just that we ran out of time. The salads are generous portion sizes.

Two drinks, one large bottle of water, one starter, two mains and two desserts came to about 340 dirhams.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

While the food here wasn't mind-blowing, it's definitely some of the better food we experienced and a safe bet in the minefield of cafes littered throughout the medina. Pleasant atmosphere and attentive staff cap off an all round great little lunch spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.