We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good food but a little slow.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Update restaurant details
Ranked #35 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location good food but a little slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Really good authentic Morrocan food set in the heart of the Souks. A real hidden gem, well decorated very clean and tidy. Only complaint was the service was a little slow. Good value.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    227
    170
    37
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Really enjoyed this friendly Moroccan style restaurant, good traditional food and warm friendly staff with a small but pleasant roof terrace.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“allright, but nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went for dinner and decided to take the set menu for 100 dirham. While cheap for the price, we had to wait for a long time in order to get the food and the soup was cold. We didn't return it as we thought it should be cold, but afterwards we saw the neighbour table send it back into the kitchen. The chicken tajine was yummy, but everthing else (including starters and dessert) was just average. Nice rooftop terrasse. The waiters were confused, but tried to do their best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value, good food, good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The 100DHM set menu was excellent quality - had a luxurious and enjoyable meal looking at the Koutoubia Mosque from the terrace. Was the better of the higher end restaurants that we visited

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

It's all a matter of perspective and expectations really.
Not good for the infirm, as it has 2 flights of narrow stairs to reach the terrace.
I've just had their £8 set menu which, lets face it, is cheap by most standards - menu in English.
Olives (which I love these days) and some bread to nibble on while the soup starter was done. Soup came with additional bowl of dates and lemon wedges. The soup had plenty of taste - a bit flowery for my liking - and a good portion of big bits within.
Very soon replaced by the citrus chicken Tajine accompanied by a bowl of home made chips. The chicken, although quite a small portion of leg which I've paid £2 for at a different place, was sizzling, and very hot and the first juicy chicken I've had in 3 Weeks

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.