We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

the food was good, the service was not, our waiter left us three times whilst taking our order and food service was slow. They had two musicians there at the time which added a lovely atmosphere to the restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    254
    196
    42
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and best value in city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Best moroccon food we tasted and at a fraction of the price of some pf the top 5 restaurants on ta.

Hard to find without attempted husslers on route, 'tanneries auction circular/closed today...' but is a must to visit - so do persevere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem above it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My favourite meal by far during my stay in Marrakech was at Souk Kafe. Whether it was the friendly service, deeeelicious food, the rooftop escape from the souk mayhem below or a combination of all three, I don't know -- and it doesn't really matter. We loved it. Thank you, Souk Kafe. This is a must-do eatery for anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Souk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We only found this Restaurant by word of mouth of folk staying in our Riad (the best way to find hidden gems). The small multi-floored restaurant cooks superb local food with just a twist of originality. The price is reasonable and they (on the two occasions we were there) had a local folk music duo, who were excellent. I really recommend you give it a try, if they are full - which they were on a wet evening in March 13, the excellent Le Jardin is just across the way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definatly worth finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This restaurant is great value for money! we found the food was excellent and good value. The starter platter was especially enjoyable- offering 6 starters which were tasty but not filing. I would strongly recommend going for an ice cream for dessert- full of flavour and best desert I had in Morrocco!
The band played very pleasent joyfull music which added a lovely touch to the evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.