We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in marrakech - most charming experience (for vegans too)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 535 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My favorite place in marrakech - most charming experience (for vegans too)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Souk kafe is a nice place in the old medina with a cosy room on first floor and a roof terrace
The food is amazing : generous servings ( the mezze/morrocan salads is good for 2 and the 100dh menu is definitely for big appetites) small prices and everything is cooked to perfection and tastes great -especially veggies ( good choices for vegans ) !! Very delicate flavours, fluffiest semolina i ever had...
Besides there were musicians and we enjoyed a nice concert of traditonal music - they really enjoyed llaying together and it didn t felt like the tourist show.
Staff is very helpful welcoming and discrete
My best authentic and tasty souvenir

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    259
    205
    45
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First meal in the Medina! Very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Must admit, we stumbled upon this place by mistake in all fairness - whilst looking for another restaurant which we could never find in true Marrakech Medina style!

We rocked up around 10pm, thinking the kitchen will be closed, but no, the guys welcome us and despite the restaurant being empty at the time, they let us sit down and we were shown menus and offered a drink.

The rooms are very nicely decorated, in true Moroccan style. We ordered two tajines and the food which was freshly prepared was absolutely delicious. Service was really good and nothing was too much of an effort.

Would certainly recommend. Brilliant food and reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Easy for a quick dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not bad little cafe in Marrakesh. Food was quite good, we were just after a light meal so it served the purpose well. The moroccan starter salad was good, and the soup was ok. Not bad for an easy meal if you don't want to go somewhere fancy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best iced mint tea in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went there every day on our recent visit to Marrakech to cool down on the roof terrace with a glass of the best iced mint tea we've ever tasted.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Have Break in Souk Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A cool café/Restaurant just edge of souk area. It should not be too difficult to find (but was not easy for me, either) – It is somewhere north-west of Souk.

There’s a price list outside and all food looked very reasonable. We first checked the rooftop terrace, which looked very nice, but we were so tired from high temperature, so needed rather cooler place - then decided to eat on the first floor.
The restaurant is decorated with Moroccan objects, which looks pretty cool. Atmosphere is easy going and menu card covers different Moroccan dishes.

We tried Tanjia (not Tajine), which is the speciality of Marrakesh. According to Lonely Planet, it was described “one serves two people”, but we ignored and took one each. Portion is not small but I do not think it will feed two, unless you are not really hungry. We ordered one with chicken and the other with beef, which was accompanied with couscous served in beautiful bowl, which could be a Japanese rice bowl. If you are not hungry, there are some Moroccan snacks or finger food, so it is surely good place to have rest, when you are tired from walking and exploring Souk or having lunch break.
By the way, tableware looked all very nice – I can feel they take care of the details in this place. The restaurant is generally very tidy and clean, the bathroom is also not exception. The service was very friendly and comfortable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.