We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best iced mint tea in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
06 62 61 02 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 554 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best iced mint tea in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went there every day on our recent visit to Marrakech to cool down on the roof terrace with a glass of the best iced mint tea we've ever tasted.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    217
    50
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to Have Break in Souk Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A cool café/Restaurant just edge of souk area. It should not be too difficult to find (but was not easy for me, either) – It is somewhere north-west of Souk.

There’s a price list outside and all food looked very reasonable. We first checked the rooftop terrace, which looked very nice, but we were so tired from high temperature, so needed rather cooler place - then decided to eat on the first floor.
The restaurant is decorated with Moroccan objects, which looks pretty cool. Atmosphere is easy going and menu card covers different Moroccan dishes.

We tried Tanjia (not Tajine), which is the speciality of Marrakesh. According to Lonely Planet, it was described “one serves two people”, but we ignored and took one each. Portion is not small but I do not think it will feed two, unless you are not really hungry. We ordered one with chicken and the other with beef, which was accompanied with couscous served in beautiful bowl, which could be a Japanese rice bowl. If you are not hungry, there are some Moroccan snacks or finger food, so it is surely good place to have rest, when you are tired from walking and exploring Souk or having lunch break.
By the way, tableware looked all very nice – I can feel they take care of the details in this place. The restaurant is generally very tidy and clean, the bathroom is also not exception. The service was very friendly and comfortable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibenik, Croatia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was glad to find such a nice place in the center of Marrakech... I was surprised with the view from terrace.
But unfortunately it was only bright thing about this restaurant...
We were on holidays but waiter was really slow, too much!
Coffee and the meals were also below expectations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best authentic Moroccan eaterie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are still currently on an extended stay in Marrakech living in the medina.
Souk cafe has become like a home from home, us having visited over 6 times to date.
The food is traditional with tajine, the more local tanjia, cous cous and brochettes.
We have tried all of the aforementioned and have yet to find something we didnt like.
The food is incredibly good value with a four course set menu on offer each day at 100drhs per person. This includes soup or salad, a choice of main and a choice of dessert followed by coffee or mint tea.
The service is exceptional and despite our lack of good French the waiter always makes a special effort with us. He is a credit to this place and works very hard, always with a smile.
You can see into the kitchen as you walk up to the beautiful terrace and the staff always say hello while they are working away in the heat.
A must visit for visitors or locals in Marrakech.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely lunchtime visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We'd heard about this place and liked the look of it and its reviews - and stumbled on it accidentally walking through the souk and seeing its sign. Brilliant choice, can highly recommend the chicken brochettes and kefta with egg tagine, both coming with fries and salad. We went back on our last day prior to flying home and enjoyed its quiet calm and attentive service. Imagine it would be a great place to eat in the evening, with rooftop views. On our list for next time!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souk Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.