We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic sweet spot in the heart of the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   217 Derb El Halfaoui | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Romantic sweet spot in the heart of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This little pearl is situated inside the Medina, but just in the sweet spot between the extremely busy Souk area and the Medina wall, meaning that you feel more local as the "shopping street" here has butcher, fishermen and grocery stores but with a local vibe. The Riad is deadly quiet at night, only broken by the loudspeaker randomly at night for religious reasons, so hence bring along ear plugs as this is the only thing apart from the self-cleaning jacuzzi upstairs that takes off 6am despite ever questioning guests. Brought our 4 year old daugther, but he accustics of riads are not made for kids :-) Staff super friendly, however 50% of the time the staff is french speaking ONLY..english nada..nix, that is a bit problematic. For a good "pool" day, go to Riad Donab 200m eastover towards the souks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Originally reserved two nights here. At first there seemed to be a problem with our reservation, but we were given a more highly rated room for the same price. Then we were given lots of advice for our stay in Marrakech, including a recommendation for our first meal in the city - Terraces Des Epices, a very nice restaurant. Through out our stay the staff were very kind. There was trouble with the plumbing, no water for a few hours, but it was back on when we really needed it. We had breakfast, which was OK, but the sound of the microwave going warned us that the meal wouldn't be freshly made. We organised a desert tour through the staff. On our last night, we were offered a free hammam experience, which my wife accepted and enjoyed very much. We were told that it was customary to leave 10 dirhams on the bed as a tip for the staff who made up the rooms, but every day the tip was carefully removed from the bed and placed on the side table. Perhaps the staff didn't think they should take a tip for just doing their jobs. The only warning I would give is that the rooms use padlocks, which could very easily be broken into. You might want to bring your own, with one key for the staff, who are completely trustworthy.
I would definitely stay here again if I ever returned to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os Municipality, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We found our travel at Groupon deal and it incl. a trip to desert incl 1 night in tent. Exotic was our first thought.
As we arrived we where prepared from other tips at Trip advisor and met friendley Mohammed from the hotel in the door as the driver from the hotel knocked on it. Nice to be picked up at the airport. Appr. fee for a taxi trip is around 20- 30 dirham. U pay around 4 dirham for a beer at town.
Vendome is run by Eric wich is very friendly english talking French man. Mohammed is taking care of everything at the hotel, wich contains around 8 rooms. Not big but very nice clean atmosphere.
We stayed in mid novemder and bring cloths for night/ eavening. Its cold. If you are planning to see things around, bring good shoes and practical clothes. This is not the place to show off.
We took a trip at Cascadas Falls wich is the 2 nd biggset water fall in Africa. Really nice trip. Long minibus ride. Bring small pocket money on all kind of trips. Less ATM in the local areas.

People are very friendly, and first impression is caos in the stret. Lots of motorbikes like in Thailand. Small narrow shopping streets with high pulse. Be prepared of putting down prices at lest 80 %. Check out Wipkeidia for more info. Its lots of good tips there.

Recomend to visit tourist information in the city at once. There is a high nice man working there. Tourist manager ! He was really nice and showed us around almost half city whats worth looking at, by foot. We met alot of people handshaking him, obeviauselly well knowed men. We saw places, met people, eat food at local small places we never could find without him. We paid 20 dirham for a good meal for 3 persons. At a really top restaurant for 2 incl belly dansers and orchester u pay around 1000 dirham. Faboulus food everywhere.

All in all. Vendome is a place for people seeking a small nice hotel with personality. Trustfull people at the hotel. Extra point for Mohammed ,Eric and his staff. :)

Room Tip: All rooms are towards its on open backyard. Impressive quiete room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Together with two friends I had a calm and nice week in the hotell . Nice and clean rooms, a wonderful terrasse, a professional staff and a helpsome owner. And if you take Dar El Bacha to the right instead of to the left you will soon know the people and the shops instead of being attacked by sellers all the time.
If I go back to Marrakesh (have been there 5 times already) Vendome will be my place.

Aina Helgesen

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this Riad. Well worth taking the offer of airport transfer otherwise we would have never found the Riad! its situated down a winding ally but once there it truely is a little oasis. 5 star accomodation at a reasonable price. we used an itison deal which made the whole experience very affordable. the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and the room was spotless. i would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs, uk
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Like most of the comments about Riad Vendome, the location does get some use to, my advice take a card and pick a land point for reference. This Riad is an oasis, it offers a great location, service of a 5 star hotel, security like no other hotel. Staff that are helpful friendly and that serve wonderful food from breakfast to an evening meal. The pool, is great for cooling off from the heat and the terrace a lovely relaxing place. Have the airport transfer, worth every penny. If you need help with anything from a good restaurant to watching the football, Eric and his team are always ready to help, especially Mohammed. Some advice for English travelers, learn some French it does help

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Loved the hotel - a litlle oasis down some winding alley ways in the heart of Marrakesh. Could not fault the friendly staff. The room accomodation was better than a 4 star in Egypt for example but without the outdoor facilities. TV, air con and nice bathroom. Breakfast was bread, pastries, freshly squeezed fruit juice and as much tea and coffee as you want. roof terrace and small pool in the open courtyard at ground floor level. The website is totally misleading re the spa facilities (there really are none)- one v small room with a treatment table and one small turkish bath/ steam room type of arrangement. Separated from the lobby/ pool/breakfast room by only a curtain. I had a massage and facial. Massage ok at best and facial woeful - basically left alone with a steam machine over you. Not equiped with any nice oils etc and someone is hired in to treat you. At 80 Euros I regretted being the guinea pig for my friends! If you are looking for very reasonably priced, clean, friendly and central accommodation though this is a good option.

Room Tip: Good clean, central hotel. DREADFUL spa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech

Address: 217 Derb El Halfaoui | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Vendome & Spa - is a riad boutique hotel in Marrakech, located in Dar El Bacha (one of the best areas in Marrakech medina). Raid Vendome has modern equipment for your pleasure and comfort, with a swimming pool in the patio, an oriental hammam with massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Vendome And Spa Marrakech
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.