We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le bon choix !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Kenz

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad el Kenz
Save
You added Riad el Kenz to your Saves list
derb tolba 268 | quartier Riad Laarouss Sidi Bouamar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Le bon choix !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Although I had already used riad El Kenz in a private capacity (had been there a couple of times with friends and family), this last April stay was different as I used riad El Kenz for the first time in a professional capacity.

A family run tour operator in Brussels, I had sold 4 six-day-stays of 10 people each and had therefore rented the whole place (5 rooms) for a little more than 3 weeks. (As all five rooms were occupied, I did stay at another riad a few meters away).

I was in Marrakech 48 hours before the first group arrived and left 48 hours after the fourth and last group left the place. With all four groups nearly all day long, I had plenty of time to see both sides of things : staying somewhere and running the place ! Of course, I knew what the riad was worth but was yet to know what « my » people would have to say about it. After all, I was the one who’d chosen the place.

Some have taken the time to write comments. They speak for themselves. One thing’s clear : they just loved the place to bits. I used every opportunity to show my clients little « things » they would have missed had they been on their own : other riads for example.

« I am glad you showed us other riads » one said « it makes me appreciate « ours » even more ».

Both Dame Claude, the « Lady of The House » and Rachid, the on site janitor / caretaker are for a good measure responsible for this « nice-to-be-home-at-the-end-of-the-day » feeling. Always there to please every one, both DC and Rachid were friendly, effective and great fun ! Highest standards were maintained all through our stay and I can now tell the difference between a riad where everything is checked by the owner and one where it is not.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I highly recommend this most wonderful guesthouse situated in the heart of Marrakech. A marvellous welcome was given to us by our friendly French hostess, “Dame Claude”. Each en-suite room is decorated in a specific style interpreted by its name. Our room was extremely clean and relaxing and the comfortable bed had crisp fresh linen. The bright coloured bath towels illuminated the sober Moroccan style bathroom. The only minor point concerns the shower which is situated in between the dressing room and the main part of the bathroom. When you have a husband who transforms the shower into a swimming pool, the passage can be difficult!!! As for the food: home-made products were served each morning at breakfast (fresh fruit salads, yoghurts, etc.) not forgetting the gorgeous fresh fruit juice. The typical dinners taken at the guesthouse were most delicious, enabling us to taste local specialities served by Rachid (in national costume) followed by a cup of coffee in front of a glowing log fire in the tastefully decorated lounge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed for a couple of days at Riad El Kenz and I can resume it in one word: SUPER !!!

Upon arrival at Marrakech airport the owner arranged a private transfer: i recommend this to everybody if you dont want to be harrassed by the local and unfriendly taxi-drivers. Dont forget that Riad El Kenz (which means "the Tresor" btw) is located in the old medina and local taxidrivers dont always know this precious hidden diamond.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and all have a nice decoration (I prefer the African suite on the first floor) and the beds are really heavenly.

Every morning you are surprised by a generous breakfast: fresh orange juice and a choice between continental or morrocan breakfast (just tell the cooking lady what you like the evening before and she will do all it takes to impress you). Breakfast can be taken in the dining room or at the enormous terrace.

As the riad in general offers bed and breakfast, you have the choice to dine out in the evening or you ask the cooking lady to prepare you a typical local dish. And honestly, the best diners i ate at the riad: with her Berber background the kitchen has no secrets for her and she prepares the best couscous and tagines you can imagine.
However if you prefer to dine out and want to discover another restaurant, ask the owner upon arrival for the places to be: she lives already for many years in Marrakech and can recommend you the best places to go (sorry, but i forgot the names of the restaurants where i went to except one: Al fassia, which is really a must, but difficult to make a reservation as it is almost full house every evening).

The location of the riad cant be better; ok, in the beginning it gives the feeling that the medina is a real labyrinth, but you get used to it. After a 10 min. walk trough the souks, you will reach the "Place Djemna El Fna", the heart of the city. Go on one of the sunny terraces and take a mint tea or a fresh orange juice and just watch the people as it is one big circus :-).

Marrakech is also the city where you can shop till you drop... i hope you are good in negotiating prices :-). You really find everything you can imagine, except one thing: the cute pork statues you find in the riad...but also in this case the owner revealed the secret where i could get it.

If you stay a little bit longer than a couple of days, make a day trip to the coastal village of Essaouira. Although it is a 3 hours drive, the relaxing atmosphere and the many art galleries make it worthwile.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The house is nicely renovated with a great sence of taste. The breakfast was great with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit. Had a good contact with the hosts who even arranged my transfer from airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad el Kenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Kenz

Address: derb tolba 268 | quartier Riad Laarouss Sidi Bouamar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Articulated in a traditional way around its bright patio and around its pool, our riad counts 5 suites decorated with taste and simplicity and each equipped with bathroom and ac. the terrace and moroccan salon sound of the haven of peace and tranquillity. guaranteed charm. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad el Kenz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.