We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad in the heart of the medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Anjar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Anjar to your Saves list
Riad Anjar
4 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely riad in the heart of the medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

On our arrival in Marrakesh this was the first riad we stayed in. Although we booked Riad dar Zahia, we were greeted and taken to riad Anjar (part of the same riad). This looked lovely, so we didn't mind. The riad itself is beautifully decorated, and very calm and serene. We were greeting warmly, were given delicious mint tea and Moroccan pasties and allowed to check in early. The room was really beautiful, albeit a little small. There was some problem with the shower head and fluctuating hot water. We flagged this with the lady but had left the riad so not sure whether this was just a one off occurrence.
The riad has a very friendly and intimate feel, and the hospitality was brilliant. We really enjoyed our stay. I feel that perhaps the experience may have been added to if the riad served soft drinks (perhaps to sit on the small terrace with) - maybe they did but we were not made aware of this. The evening meal seemed pricey so we opted not to eat here. The airport pickup was also rather expensive, but we opted for it in any case to save time. Overall, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    9
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I booked the Riad Jardin Anjar for a short honeymoon after reading so many positive reviews on TripAdvisor. While our expectations were set very high, we were not disappointed! The owners were so lovely and managed to outdo themselves every step of the way.

Since our flight arrived at midnight, we thought it would be wise to book the hotel’s car service (25 EUR) – something I would definitely recommend if you are arriving late in the evening as the riad can be difficult to find initially. We were greeted at 1:00 am by the owner who made sure we had everything we needed. A beautiful bouquet of white roses was waiting for us in our room.

Jardin Anjar has recently been refurbished and strikes a perfect balance between modern European and traditional Moroccan décor. The rooms are contemporary with a quaint Moroccan charm.

Breakfast (included) was delicious and included freshly squeezed orange juice, flatbread pancakes with fresh jam and more.

We booked the Atlas Mountains/Telouet excursion through the hotel, which we would definitely recommend. We had a private car and the driver was ready to stop for photo ops whenever we wanted.

The riad and the staff were a huge part of what made Marrakech so special. We cannot recommend it more!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Morocco, including 3 nights at Riad Anjar in Marrakech. When we arrived Emmanuela was so welcoming and really helpful even though it was 10pm. All the staff at the Riad were really friendly and accommodating and we felt very much at home from the moment we walked in the door. We were planning on spending a few days on the coast, Emmanuela helped us book our Hire Car, getting us a really good deal and saving us the 5am, 4 hour bus ride there! and also somewhere to stay when we returned back to Marrakech. We would have stayed at Riad Anjar again but all the rooms were full! Emmanuela was very helpul when we wanted to book a trip into the mountains and showed us lots of different options as well as speaking to the agents as we are not fluent in French.

The Riad itself was extremely clean, peaceful, with a very comfy bed and a lovely bathroom and the breakfast was delicious! The roof terrace was lovely to sit on in the evening sun as well as for an evening drink. The decoration was beautiful and it seemed nothing had been overlooked.

The location could not have been more perfect, it was only a very short walk to the souqs and also the market where we ate dinner. Even though the Riad is very close to all the buzz of the square, it was extremely quiet and peaceful once inside. I was rather sad to leave the Riad.

If I ever return to Marrakech I will definitely be staying at Riad Anjar again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Riad is centrally located in a great spot- close to the Square and many other touristy stuff.

About the Riad: As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by all staff, our luggage was taken to our room and the hotel Manager who is Italian sat down with us and spoke to us about Marrakech. This is great as we were not sure what to do and by her doing this allowed us to think of things to explore and do whilst in Marrakech. We were welcomed with some fresh mint tea which was lovely. Rooms: We booked the standard room, it was beautifully decorated in a nice moroccan style. The staff had also scattered rose petals around the room. Rooms are more or less the same I understand that there are some larger rooms that this but the standard room was just as perfect and had everything we needed. Toiletries are provided, Bathrobes, towels, hair-dryer, water bottle. All rooms are cleaned daily. The bed was also very comfortable.

Breakfast: Each morning a fresh breakfast was provided

Staff: What made the stay most was the best staff I have ever come across being abroad. All staff were friendly, warm hearted and always willing to go that extra mile for everyone at the Riad. Nothing was never to much for them and they always welcomed you with smiles and joy. This was great and my partner and I said that this was one of the most things we enjoyed when staying at the Riad.

Thank you to all the staff at Riad Dar Zahia If I ever return to Marrakech I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our first trip to Marrakech and booked the Riad Ahjar based on trip advisors reviews, my husband and I have not travelled extensively so this was a real assault on the senses! - on arrival we were greeted by wonderful welcoming staff and the owner that took time to talk us through the area and location ( which is perfect!) she recommended places to visit etc, and could not be more helpful.Our trip was only three nights and if we had stayed an extra day would of explored more however the owner suggested coming back with our young children and she would organise excursions in advance for us ( which we are now planning to book!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My mother and I enjoyed a lovely stay at the Riad Anjar during the holidays. The staff were so attentive and welcoming, the Riad is impeccably decorated and is in a superb location. Every detail is taken care of, from fresh flowers all over to warm mint tea after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast was fresh and varied, and one night we enjoyed amazing dinner by the fireplace.
What really made the difference during our stay was the kindness and helpfulness of all the staff. Emanuela went to great lengths to help us plan our adventures in the south and we were welcomed like family when we came back!
It was my first stay in a riad, so I wish I had known that because of the open roof, the areas outside the room can be quite cold in winter. Some blankets around the breakfast/lounge area would help! Also, I think the riad is perfect for couples, so peaceful, romantic and luxurious. But not ideal for sharing with friends as all rooms have double beds and the bathroom curtain doesn't offer much privacy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, opt for a room upstairs. Because of the open roof, the areas outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you are looking at Riad Anjar, just book! Everything that was said before is true. Wonderful building and staff for a holiday like a fairy tale from 1001 nights. Emanuela and Paolo and their staff have the philosophy this wonderful Riad should feel like your home and do everything to make you enjoy your holiday. Nice breakfast with variety, and every day fresh fruit and yoghurt. We ate in one evening and got a wonderful Tangia (not a tajine), something you will usually not get in the restaurants as it takes very long to prepare. Perfect location, a little north from the central square so within walking distance from all (maps on tripadvisor, booking.com and google are incorrect for the Medina) nice things to do. Walking to the Jardin Majorelle is 10-15 minutes (this is the furthest north you will go) and to the Royal gardens (furthest south) is also 10-15 minutes. Everything else within the Medina is 5 minutes away, top restaurant Maison MK even less than 1 minute. Disadvantages as mentioned before are minor: Hard to regulate shower temperature and no insulation from noise as the doors to your room are part of a frame that is placed 5cm (2 inches) in front of the wall, leaving a wide gap. Very nice price compared to what is offered. So no need to look at the other 400 Riads!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Anjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anjar

Address: 4 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Anjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Anjar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.