We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Anjar

Save Saved
You added Riad Anjar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Anjar
4 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We felt very welcome at Riad Anjar and the staff looked after us attentively and charmingly. Zahra, the owner, was so helpful arranging a tour for us and telling us which hammam to go to, even taking us there. The breakfasts and nibbles in the evening on the roof terrace were generous and delightful. It all felt very personal and was a lovely place to stay. It is also in a brilliant position for the souks and all the main spots and the area felt safe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Zahra runs a seamless operation of managing this tasteful riad. It is situated in the heart of the medina, walking distance from Djema el fna and you can literally walk to pray at the Mouassine mosque. The riad is brand new in its fixtures and decor and yet somehow exudes the traditional Moroccan ambience. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms and amenities are more than adequate and most importantly you feel like you are living in a home around family. Very child friendly, breakfast is like a lavish feast with variety and huge quantity!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

As a first-timer to Marrakesh, we didn't know what to expect and were hopeful that we could rely on the staff at Riad Anjar to orient and acclimate us (and suggest a couple of good restaurants and hammams). We were not disappointed and impeccable service came in the form of the always charming Nour-Eddine.

From the moment we entered the Riad to the moment we (reluctantly) left, Nour-Eddine provided us with everything we needed to enjoy Marrakesh to the fullest. In addition to serving a delicious, massive breakfast each morning, Nour-Eddie was happy to recommend and book for us restaurants, hammam services, car rentals, taxis - anything we asked for.

In addition to service, Riad Anjar is a very beautiful riad as well. Well-designed decor in the main courtyard as well as in the rooms. The rooftop deck is a relaxing, enjoyable place to eat breakfast in the mornings as well, weather permitting.

Location is ideal as the souks and main market are a close walk away and the Riad is tucked away down a quieter alley off a louder, busier road.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife, two daughters and I had a truly wonderful stay at Riad Anjar. Nour-eddine, the manager, provided outstanding attention and service throughout our stay. He and the owner Zahra were very helpful in making arrangements for us, from a car to pick us up in Casablanca when our flight arrived before dawn, to our guide in Marrakech and for a day trip to the High Atlas.

When we arrived from that very early morning landing in Casablanca, Nour-eddine offered us a breakfast that immediately restored us. He then showed us the basics of the city and we never had any trouble getting around the city and back to the hotel. The breakfasts during our four night stay were consistently delicious (and lovely when served on the rooftop terrace) as were the dinners at the Riad, which were superb and very generous in portion. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well-appointed, with wi-fi that functioned perfectly.

Nour-eddine and Zahra were both incredibly warm and gracious hosts and made our stay truly memorable.

I would add that Riad Anjar has a terrific location quite near the Djemma el Fna, but at the same time offering a true relaxing respite from the incredible energy of the city. I would recommend this Riad to anyone traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Couldn't Recommend this place highly enough. really welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, immaculate throughout and the location is only 5 mins from the main square. Would definitely recommend to any one (I have have already recommended to work colleagues). Norre-edenne was charming and couldn't do enough to help.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and had a brilliant time. From being met at the airport to being taken back to the waiting cab on departure.
The whole property is very high quality, and the service absoloutely 5 star, perfect position in the old town.
Would definately go back or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

The riad was very clean and the managwr made ua feel like home! Very good!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Anjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anjar

Address: 4 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Anjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Anjar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.