We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, specially the service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Anjar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Anjar
4 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic, specially the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

The riad was very clean and the managwr made ua feel like home! Very good!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amiens, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a family vacation in Marrakech: my wife, our 3-year-old daughter, and me. Marrakech was an amazing city, but just the wonderful experience at the Riad ANJAR was worth the trip!

First, the service was top notch. We were met at the airport and were treated with special care from the moment we left customs to the time our vacation ended. We felt like the riad was our home, while at the same time were treated to never ending wonderful service. I can't say enough nice things about the manager, Nour-Eddine, who made our stay special (taking us on a tour of the medina, helping with suggestions for traveling Marrakech with a toddler, always greeting us with a smile). The owner, Zahra, was warm, friendly, and ensured all our needs were met. It was really a perfect vacation with our daughter, though it would have been an equally wonderful trip for just my wife and I.

I recommend bringing a big appetite. We ended up eating dinner at the Riad twice because the food was so good. The breakfast each morning was a great start of each day.

Other points:
-Very convenient location - a few minutes from the souk, very safe and quiet neighborhood. The Marrakech streets are confusing and I am not great with directions, but Nour-Eddine gave us a few landmarks and we never had any issues with getting lost! No problems.
-Our room, Ajat, was the perfect size, immaculately clean, with a spa-like bathroom.
-Zahra arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains. I would highly recommend it if your schedule allows. Nice break from the city. We had a perfect, kid-friendly, hike/mule ride.
-No problems communicating if you don't speak French

Room Tip: All the rooms faced the courtyard, which was very peaceful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Being from Canada and having never been to Marrakech we were a bit apprehensive about getting by in the city. Once we made it to Riad Anjar this was no longer a concern. First the Riad is truly beautiful. Our room was large and five star hotel clean. The accents and attention to detail paid to the decoration in every room, dining area and terrace parallels to the fine attention to detail that Zahra and Nour Eddine paid to us to ensure we had a great trip. The first night we were welcomed with a home cooked meal (made by a lovely Marrakechi woman). After eating at many places in Marrakech and Casablanca we realized that none of those meals were as good as the one prepared by the Riad (not sure why one of the reviewers said they had canned soup, I saw the woman preparing the food when I arrived). After our meal Zahra (the owner) and Nour Eddine sat down and helped us plan an itinerary. They made sure we saw the most important parts of the city and planned our excursions including our entire desert tour. We only had to pack our bags and show up (Nour Eddine even walked us to the meeting point).

Nour Eddine is the on site manager and was absolutely fantastic. Having little experience in this part of the world his attentiveness and willingness to always help makes an already amazing Riad a truly unique one. He helped us navigate through the city, made sure our excursions ran smoothly and was always there for us to ask questions (which we had many). He truly cares that you have a wonderful experience in not just the Riad but Marrakech itself.

The location of the Riad is excellent as it is very close to the main square and the exciting souks.

My only recommendation is to make sure the credit card machine is working alright (I'm sure Zahra is fixing it as I'm writing this). We ended up paying cash in the end but paypal is also convenient and works fine.

Overall this was an amazing experience. It is important to note that Zahra worked at Aguerzame which is a very highly rated Riad in Marrakech (her husband is the owner). She brings that same high level of service and commitment to your experience. Riad Anjar is truly flying under the radar right now and is a hidden gem in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our stay at the Riad Anjar was perfection. We were promptly met at the airport and dropped close to the Riad, where Riad Anjar manager, Nour Eddine met us to bring us into the medina that was not accessible by car. This was the beginning of the personal attention that we experienced throughout our entire stay at Riad Anjar.

While we were finishing a delicious homemade (and complimentary tagine dinner), Laurent the owner stopped by to show us the layout of Marrakech and made insightful suggestions about tourist attractions- most of which we heeded. His effort was greatly appreciated for not only for its factual information, but also for the time and energy he spent to ensure we had a nice vacation in Marrakech. Later in our trip Zahra, Laurent's wife also spent a lot of time and energy to ensure we wanted for nothing and that we has a wonderful vacation.

The ambiance is Moroccan and well manicured. We wanted for nothing our entire stay. The rooms are very clean and well-kept. The Riad is very close to Djemaa el Fna, and other tourist attractions, like the Ben Yousseff Madressa and Marrakech Museums and steps from the souks.

Nour Eddine was the most attentive manager I have ever experienced. His kindness, energy and willingness to help in any way in unparalleled in all my travels.

I would recommend this Riad to anyone traveling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Riad Anjar is a lovely, peaceful, friendly place -- well decorated, comfortable, and above all with staff who do everything to make your stay a relaxing and pleasant one.

It's very centrally located, just a couple of minutes' walk from the chaos of the souks and the main square, but the atmosphere is serene once you are inside the riad.

The owner, Zahra, is friendly and adaptable, giving us an extra room for free as she had one available, and full of useful info about Marrakesh; the cook is excellent, and made us some delicious Moroccan specialities including a lamb tagine with quince and apricot.

What makes this riad particularly stand out, however, is the manager, Noureddine. He was very helpful and attentive. We felt that he really wanted to ensure that we had the best possible time in the city, and he did just that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

As an English girl travelling alone in Morocco with little French, this riad was perfect for me. The place looked and smelt great, provided huge tasty meals and the staff are amazing. All my needs and expectations were exceeded. Although the area is safer than most in Morocco, the offer to walk me somewhere was always there to make sure I would be safe. I will definitely return because this was my favourite place I stayed in the whole of Morocco.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice, noise does travel in riads though so anyone down in the center courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Riad Anjar is conveniently located 400m from the place Jemaa El-Fna, and is really a haven in the middle of the city. All the staff at the riad were extremely friendly, helpful and accomodating, and made our stay really special.
We had dinner there twice, and the food was delicious both times.
The service was impeccable, the rooms were cozy and clean, and we will definitely go back to Riad Anjar for our next stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Anjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anjar

Address: 4 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Anjar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Anjar to your Saves list