We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm place in the medina with the best food i Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samsli

Save Saved
You added Riad Samsli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Samsli
24 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #376 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Uppsala
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A calm place in the medina with the best food i Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Samsli is situated on a quiet alley very near the bustling basaar-street "Rue riad zitoun el kedim", that goes strait to the big square Jemaa el-Fna. After walking up and down that street for a day or two the vendors know you and they stop trying to sell you stuff. You have a chance to stop and talk to them for a bit. (Wish I had done more of that!)
The rooms are very nice , but when I stayed there in December I missed an A/C. The room was a little cold at times. Bring your own shampoo and showing-gel, because they only provide you with a little tiny bottle.
The bed was firm, but not to hard. Rather hard pillows of different sizes are provided. Very clean room.
Several nice common areas. Two beautiful gardens and several (2 or 3) sitting-rooms with very
confortable soft couches.
Very well made traditional dinners served in the very nice dining-room. The tanjin chicked is outstanding!
The hotel had one man coming with us in the taxis to the airport. What a nice service!
Our favourite staff-member is: Haffid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I booked here as it had such great reviews. It is indeed lovely. However, as we don't speak french, our communications with Fati and Walter were limited. We were rarely spoken to , other than good morning or evening. Others, being french spoken, were given many suggestions of things to do and see. We were to be picked up at the airport, and after waiting 1/2 hr. took a taxi. When they arrived back which was an hour later, Fati, was not pleasant at all,saying in her broken english ,(which was very understandable,so she can speak if she wants) they had been waiting with a sign etc.
But we had spent all our time at the airport looking for the "sign" and not seen it or them.
After another wait, she took us up to choose our room,which we chose the African themed one , mostly because of the lovely rain headed spacious shower. However, it has very little pressure,and so we used the hand held one in the corner.
The room was lovely. One lamp had a burnt out bulb which she took with her, and we never saw it again! Lighting is dim, especially after being out in the bright sun.
Hafid, the house boy (22), was the very best part of our stay. He spoke some english and did his best to make sure we saw and knew where to go in the town. After 6 days there, his english was much better, can't say the same for my arabic!
The breakfast was served wherever we wanted, which was always up on the beautiful terrace.
Heavy on the breads, but the coffee and juices and occasional fruit salad were great.
We loved all the space and various public rooms to sit by the fire or in the main room or the music room complete with a fire as well. There are lots of spaces on the terrace to have privacy. WE did love staying there.
I guess I am to blame, since the web site is in french...I just thought that an attempt would be made.

Room Tip: try the showers.. The tub in another room doesn't fill or even come close.Also get one in the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

A great Riad with a very personal touch. A real oase in busy Marrakech, thanks to Fati and Walter

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

What a place!!!! It's hard to imagine a better service. Greeted with the original Moroccan mint tea, Fatima, Walter et Hafid made us feel at home. They took care of us all the time, from great restaurant recommendations to directions and excursions. Without forgetting the lovely breakfast every morning in the terrace.
Riad Samsli is a charming and beautiful place. In few words a " great little hideaway" just a few minutes away from Djemaa el Fna square.
Experience Moroccan cuisine by going to the market with one of the staff of the riad and learn how to cook your own harira soup. Really worth every penny ;-) They can also go to the market with you to have the best deal (not tourist price).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We are usually going on holidys to Asia , however after recent surgery did not risk to take a flight for over 12 hrs so we decided to go somewhere new.I book this Riad as had such a good reviews from other travellers and was not disapponited .
THE LOCATION - right in the center of the Marrakesh ( medina area) , 3-5 min stroll to the market and square.
THE RIAD -beautiful building , with gorgeous hand crafted details throughout.
THE ROOMS -comfortable (we had a suite which had a separete sitting area ) , walk in shower with soap, bodywash and shampoo , hairdrier .
THE BREAKFAST- every day different , freshly prepared.
THE DINNER AT THE RIAD - is deffinet must !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My friend and I had a most enjoyable time in Riad Samsli : we were welcomed by the owners who treated us throughout a week as if we were queens. The Riad itself is wonderfully furnished and decorated with great sense for detail. Truly a pleasure for all senses but above all we were charmed by the friendliness and hospitality of the hosts. Furthermore Riad Samsli is perfectly located as well : a short walk will bring you to Jemaa al Fna and yet the Riad itself is an oasis of calm. If you book your room in Riad Samsli you will be spoiled by a delicious breakfast and be sure to take also a copious supper one evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A lovely Riad, very quiet and stylish. It is perfectly located with only a short walk to the Place Jemaa el Fna. The rooms are beautiful and recently redecorated (we were given the opportunity to chose our room as the Riad had only just reopened after refurbishment) and the hosts could not have been more welcoming, helpful and chatty.

Breakfast, made to order and different every day, was served on the terrace upstairs by Hafid who was always willing to please.

I would recommend Riad Samsli to anyone wishing to visit Marrakesh and who would like to stay in a traditional but quality Riad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Samsli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsli

Address: 24 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsli : warm and cosy spot for a stay in a Riad Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad Samsli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samsli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.