We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the centre of the Medina!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magie D'Orient

Save Saved
You added Riad Magie D'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Magie D'Orient
16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #472 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Saffron Walden, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A jewel in the centre of the Medina!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This small riad is in an excellent location, very central but peacefully quiet. Yes, it is down a few alleyways but perfectly safe once you get use to the layout of the place. Brilliant service from the owner and his staff, couldn't do enough for us and settled us in with mint tea and an informative map. Would definitely stay here again, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This riad is right in the heart of Marrakech, perhaps too much so! It is down several alley ways and travelling as two women we were a bit scared at first. However, before you delve into the alleyways there is a "security guard" who sits on a chair - he can guide you down (you will get lost otherwise!).

The riad is small but perfectly functional, however I think we had the worst room - it was a tiny twin room on the ground floor, right on the central area where breakfast is taken. We saw a room upstairs that looked brilliant, but unfortunately they were full and we could not move.

The riad itself is very authentic, with a small plunge pool and narrow stairs up to a roof terrace that we would have enjoyed spending time on if we had been luckier with the weather.

There is a little kitchen area where wine and beer are available. The breakfast was light, but serviceable - a cold continental style self-service set-up laid out on a table. Staff presence was not very noticeable, but they were happy to give advice on where to go and to pick you up from your airport taxi and carry your bags.

Our room was a cramped twin room, with no windows other than those looking into the courtyard - not private at all, so we had to have the shutters drawn, which made the room very dark. There was a door to the bathroom, which I think some rooms don't have!! The bathroom was fine, a lovely decorative mirror. The beds were comfy - but it does get cold (we visited in November) and no extra blankets were provided and we couldn't be bothered to find someone to ask, so we used towels as extra blankets!

For the price, this riad is a good base, especially if you want to be central.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a first floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week early June 2012 at the Shalimar room. Najib and Abdul who looked after the riad were extremely helpful and friendly, making our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Najib was always prompt and accomodating in his replies when we emailed prior to arriving in order to arrange transfers and excursions. Although Abdul only speaks French and Arabic he somehow always managed to get the message across. Najib was fluent in English. The room was very spacious and with all the amenities you need. The riad itself has beautiful authentic decor and a splash pool perfect to dip your feet to cool down after a long day in the heat. The pet birds, Yuki and Lulu were an instant hit with my wife who loves animals. It was always quiet so it felt like we had the place to ourselves and being only 5mins from the main square it was ideal for us. Overall fantastic value for money, great service, lovely rooms and good location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Of course, as everyone is saying, a trip to Morocco wouldn't be complete without an experience in a riad. I found this one to be extremely pleasant in way ranging from the service to the food to the interior. Although this riad in particular was ridiculously difficult for me to locate since I had no concept of how roads and alleyways were laid out on map (Which, just for future reference, the riad is off the main road where you have to walk into an entryway gate, only to walk further down into a bunch of alleyways--so don't expect it to be off some obvious road like I thought), I was greeted by two friendly, young people and immediately given mint tea and sweets. The owner (I assume) was incredibly kind, willing to sit down with me and a map to circle all the main attractions in the area.
Aside from the service, the room was clean and comfortable. Definitely had a Moroccan feel to it with the elaborate tiling and openess. I would warn people who are sharing a room as friends that the bathrooms aren't separate from the room though, so I'm sure that could be uncomfortable for some. I also ended up having dinner in the riad and it was abundant and delicious, including 4 or 5 courses.
As a single traveler, I was really hoping to meet with others sharing the riad, but it seemed very quiet that day. Nonetheless, the riad gives you a peace-and-quiet feel from the business of the Medina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This Riad was so lovely. The location was perfect, very close to the main square, maybe 5mins walk away, but you wouldn't guess so. Inside the road is so tranquil, with the splash pool and lovely light decor. The Taxi arranged by the Riad to get you there from the airport is a must has it may be hard to find for the first time on your own, but as others have said after you have been shown, it is simple. The Staff were just lovely and attentive, not like the hassle two female travellers were getting out in the square etc. The room (twin on the ground floor) was cool and spacious for our needs (6 nights stay). The room was nice and dark at night and the bathroom was roomy and shower very powerful and warm. The only minor issue was the unavoidable noise from being on the ground floor, in the evening and if you wanted a lay in in the morning due to the breakfast activities. The excursions from the road were, in our opinion a little overpriced and so sadly, they are missing out on this business opportunity. Overall would definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Beautiful Riad about 5 minutes walk from the main square (JeF). We were met at the airport by the transfer organised by the Riad, who then took us to our lugage porter outside the Bab Louksour of the Medina - all very efficient. With the hustle and bustle and heat of the Medina, the Riad Magie D'Orient is an oasis of peace and calm to chill out and enjoy the lovely weather and relaxed surroundings. The Riad only has 5 rooms so it is never too crowded. The rooms are spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated, and our keys allow access to the Riad at any time. Breakfast is served wherever you wish whether beside the plunge pool or on the sun terrace between 7 and 11am. Would really recommend the food, we ate in the Riad 4 nights out of the 8 we were there, including a special birthday dinner they organised for my partner, traditional Morrocan food at it's best. Wine, beer and champagne are also available if wanted. The one thing though that really makes this Riad stand out though are the staff. The owners David and Bernie are so friendly and will go out of their way to help you anyway they can. Nahwar is also amazing along with her colleagues Najib and Abdul. Would definitely go back - we have found our Morrocan retreat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

We had excellent 3 days. Clean room, good breakfast and friendly staff. The price was good in comparison to other riads in that area. We really can recommend that place. Transfer was also well organised. You get your own key there, so it's on your choice when you go and come back. Easy to find the way back also at night times

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Magie D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magie D'Orient

Also Known As:
Riad Magie d`Orient Hotel Marrakech
Riad Magie d`Orient Hotel
Address: 16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #472 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Magie D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magie D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.