We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little peaceful haven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magie D'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Magie D'Orient to your Saves list
Riad Magie D'Orient
16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
salisbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Little peaceful haven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This Riad was so lovely. The location was perfect, very close to the main square, maybe 5mins walk away, but you wouldn't guess so. Inside the road is so tranquil, with the splash pool and lovely light decor. The Taxi arranged by the Riad to get you there from the airport is a must has it may be hard to find for the first time on your own, but as others have said after you have been shown, it is simple. The Staff were just lovely and attentive, not like the hassle two female travellers were getting out in the square etc. The room (twin on the ground floor) was cool and spacious for our needs (6 nights stay). The room was nice and dark at night and the bathroom was roomy and shower very powerful and warm. The only minor issue was the unavoidable noise from being on the ground floor, in the evening and if you wanted a lay in in the morning due to the breakfast activities. The excursions from the road were, in our opinion a little overpriced and so sadly, they are missing out on this business opportunity. Overall would definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Beautiful Riad about 5 minutes walk from the main square (JeF). We were met at the airport by the transfer organised by the Riad, who then took us to our lugage porter outside the Bab Louksour of the Medina - all very efficient. With the hustle and bustle and heat of the Medina, the Riad Magie D'Orient is an oasis of peace and calm to chill out and enjoy the lovely weather and relaxed surroundings. The Riad only has 5 rooms so it is never too crowded. The rooms are spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated, and our keys allow access to the Riad at any time. Breakfast is served wherever you wish whether beside the plunge pool or on the sun terrace between 7 and 11am. Would really recommend the food, we ate in the Riad 4 nights out of the 8 we were there, including a special birthday dinner they organised for my partner, traditional Morrocan food at it's best. Wine, beer and champagne are also available if wanted. The one thing though that really makes this Riad stand out though are the staff. The owners David and Bernie are so friendly and will go out of their way to help you anyway they can. Nahwar is also amazing along with her colleagues Najib and Abdul. Would definitely go back - we have found our Morrocan retreat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

We had excellent 3 days. Clean room, good breakfast and friendly staff. The price was good in comparison to other riads in that area. We really can recommend that place. Transfer was also well organised. You get your own key there, so it's on your choice when you go and come back. Easy to find the way back also at night times

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Don't book yourself in to a hotel on the outskirts of the city. Riads are the way forward.

Down a twisting passageway (that's well lit at night, and easy to reach from the JeF) the Riad sits amongst many others of its type. Unlock the thick, sturdy wooden door and you enter an incredibly peaceful, quiet, relaxed and homely, stylish Riad that somehow manages to combine great location with reasonable price, good furnishings with a warm feeling, a welcoming atmosphere that makes getting in to the holiday mood all too easy with many of the comforts you'd expect of a good hotel. But at less cost, with warmer more knowledgeable staff, better food and all within a stones throw of the places you'll want to spend time at while in Marrakech.

This'll be the easiest choice you've made about accommodation in years.

Room Tip: Note that the Mesc el Lil is on the ground floor by the entrance to the riad so expect some morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Lovely traditional riad, really felt so calm after the bustle of outside.
You would be completely unable to find it from the taxi rank so trust the 'charioteers' who'll guide you there for a tip.

Our room was clean and the plunge pool and roof terrace were lovely. Our room was a little strange with the toilet and the shower being 'open' so there was very little privacy, probably better for a couple.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of May. It was our first trip to morocco so we were a little apprehensive. The cabbie met us at the airport & took us straight there. A guy with a cart met us at the cab to haul our luggage. It was really helpful. As others have said, the alleys are dark & can be a little nerve racking. Najib met us at the riad & made us totally comfortable our whole stay. We stayed in Neroli, it was one of two cheapest options & by far the best. (I can say this because we had the place to ourselves the first night & I peeked in the other rooms :) ) My only complaint is that breakfast was thawed & microwaved "crepes" which were really tough & greasy. We asked Najib about the Moroccan pancakes we read about in Frommers & he said we were having them the next day. We had a different person the next morning & same nasty crepes. The refrigerator was stocked with water, wine & beer, we just settled up at the end. The raid was a perfect oasis though, the terrace was awesome & the pool really nice. There was a birdbath that even had fresh rose petals in it! It was also close to the square but not too close, it was still very peaceful at night. It was one of the trips highlights and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were on a tour of Morroco, but finished off with a few nights in Marrakech and wanted to have a Riad experience. The Magi D'Orient was lovely - small, comfortable, good breakfast and refreshing plunge pool (unfortunalety the weather wasn't hot enough for me to be tempted to put more that a foot in though).

We stayed in the Amara room (blue) and our friends stayed in Shalimar (black). Despite Shalimar being 10euros more per night - we felt Amara was the best room as it was more light and airy. The rooms are colour coded - with a beautiful tapistry on the wall and bedding to match. there's some board games to borrow when the weather is rainy - we spent a morning playing monopoly. You can also arrange to do a cooking lesson at their sister hotel (30euros each)

It was hard to find - we'd come from another hotel. My advice would be to book an airport transfer or arrange a time for them to meet you in the square. When we eventually did find it (there's no name on the door) - there was no one there and we had to phone - someone came very quickly, but it meant using our mobiles - expensive abroad.

A few small criticisms - there was not enough hot water in our system for both of us to have a shower in sucession - and on the second day - the hot water ran out while I was washing my hair (and my partner had not even had his shower yet). there was also a big hole in one of our bedding sheets - I perhaps sholud have pointed this out and I'm sure they would have changed it - but they need to monitor for this sort of thing!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magie D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magie D'Orient

Address: 16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Riad Magie D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magie d`Orient Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magie D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.