We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and good situated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magie D'Orient

Save Saved
You added Riad Magie D'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Magie D'Orient
16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #414 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place and good situated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

We had excellent 3 days. Clean room, good breakfast and friendly staff. The price was good in comparison to other riads in that area. We really can recommend that place. Transfer was also well organised. You get your own key there, so it's on your choice when you go and come back. Easy to find the way back also at night times

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Don't book yourself in to a hotel on the outskirts of the city. Riads are the way forward.

Down a twisting passageway (that's well lit at night, and easy to reach from the JeF) the Riad sits amongst many others of its type. Unlock the thick, sturdy wooden door and you enter an incredibly peaceful, quiet, relaxed and homely, stylish Riad that somehow manages to combine great location with reasonable price, good furnishings with a warm feeling, a welcoming atmosphere that makes getting in to the holiday mood all too easy with many of the comforts you'd expect of a good hotel. But at less cost, with warmer more knowledgeable staff, better food and all within a stones throw of the places you'll want to spend time at while in Marrakech.

This'll be the easiest choice you've made about accommodation in years.

Room Tip: Note that the Mesc el Lil is on the ground floor by the entrance to the riad so expect some morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Lovely traditional riad, really felt so calm after the bustle of outside.
You would be completely unable to find it from the taxi rank so trust the 'charioteers' who'll guide you there for a tip.

Our room was clean and the plunge pool and roof terrace were lovely. Our room was a little strange with the toilet and the shower being 'open' so there was very little privacy, probably better for a couple.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of May. It was our first trip to morocco so we were a little apprehensive. The cabbie met us at the airport & took us straight there. A guy with a cart met us at the cab to haul our luggage. It was really helpful. As others have said, the alleys are dark & can be a little nerve racking. Najib met us at the riad & made us totally comfortable our whole stay. We stayed in Neroli, it was one of two cheapest options & by far the best. (I can say this because we had the place to ourselves the first night & I peeked in the other rooms :) ) My only complaint is that breakfast was thawed & microwaved "crepes" which were really tough & greasy. We asked Najib about the Moroccan pancakes we read about in Frommers & he said we were having them the next day. We had a different person the next morning & same nasty crepes. The refrigerator was stocked with water, wine & beer, we just settled up at the end. The raid was a perfect oasis though, the terrace was awesome & the pool really nice. There was a birdbath that even had fresh rose petals in it! It was also close to the square but not too close, it was still very peaceful at night. It was one of the trips highlights and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were on a tour of Morroco, but finished off with a few nights in Marrakech and wanted to have a Riad experience. The Magi D'Orient was lovely - small, comfortable, good breakfast and refreshing plunge pool (unfortunalety the weather wasn't hot enough for me to be tempted to put more that a foot in though).

We stayed in the Amara room (blue) and our friends stayed in Shalimar (black). Despite Shalimar being 10euros more per night - we felt Amara was the best room as it was more light and airy. The rooms are colour coded - with a beautiful tapistry on the wall and bedding to match. there's some board games to borrow when the weather is rainy - we spent a morning playing monopoly. You can also arrange to do a cooking lesson at their sister hotel (30euros each)

It was hard to find - we'd come from another hotel. My advice would be to book an airport transfer or arrange a time for them to meet you in the square. When we eventually did find it (there's no name on the door) - there was no one there and we had to phone - someone came very quickly, but it meant using our mobiles - expensive abroad.

A few small criticisms - there was not enough hot water in our system for both of us to have a shower in sucession - and on the second day - the hot water ran out while I was washing my hair (and my partner had not even had his shower yet). there was also a big hole in one of our bedding sheets - I perhaps sholud have pointed this out and I'm sure they would have changed it - but they need to monitor for this sort of thing!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We are two senior ladies, budget travelers, we hardly ever pay more than $50/nt for a hotel. Finding a riad in Marrakech was a challenge. We felt very lucky to find Magie. We paid $61/nt for the Mesc el Lil room, a tiny twin room.

The riad looks exactly like the website and is beautiful. Our room was pretty, just small. We had just enough room to walk between the twin beds. We had a heater and ceiling fan, closet, and bath with shower (no curtain but half wall) and sink w/hot water. Our room opened on to the patio/breakfast area and might have been noisy if other guests were eating or visiting on the patio. We had free wi-fi available in our room and patio/lounges. Since it was cold and raining, we really wished our room had tv.

There is a rooftop patio but it was not usable as it was very cold and rainy the 3 days we were there. Breakfast was fresh OJ, coffee, tea, cake, crepes, jellies. Beer and wine were available on the honor system.

The riad is about a 15-20 min. walk from the Fna.

A funny thing . . . on our first night, the manager asked if we needed anything (we didn't), he said help ourselves to the kitchen (we did, beer), and left. We were the only guests there and we had the whole place to ourselves. It did not bother us, but it might have made some uncomfortable.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We were made to feel at home by Nazim and especially by Nahwar. Had a meal the night of arrival and it was amazing and Nazim let us take drinks from the fridge by way of an honesty bar throughout the reminder of our stay. We had an outside door key so could come and go as we pleased. Only downside was that one room (Nahema) had the toilet in the room, you can't actually see it in the photos but it is to the left of the wash hand basis which are also in the room . There was a small screen which would be fine for just one person but for two not ideal. But all in all great value for money and don't be put off by the initial walk to the riad - that's usual when staying in the medina

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Magie D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magie D'Orient

Address: 16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad Magie D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magie d`Orient Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magie D'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.