We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & cosy, but with 5* service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cocoon

Save Saved
You added Riad Cocoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Cocoon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 bis Derb Cherif, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small & cosy, but with 5* service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is so lovely and well hidden away. The owner Corinne and her team are just amazing and so friendly, always at hand to help or recommend. The riad is very small and cosy, with just a few rooms. The deco is modern but still very Marrakech. There is a gorgeous terrace upstairs where breakfast is served everyday. We only had dinner there once, but it was very nice. The rooms are very clean, a bit basic but has a/c and a great shower. Its located in the Medina about 10-15min walk to the main square. The immediate area is a bit crazy and takes some getting use to - but taxis are available and can be booked - not expensive at all. Corinne organised 2 day trips for us which we highly recommend doing if you are there for a week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
97
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Riad Cocoon is the flgship of hospitality and cahrm in this great and bustlinbg city. The helpful and friendly staff of Tarik and Simone and the BEST. The kitchen turens out the best in breakfast for a hot day of discovering the city. They as fantastic is getting a dinner of your choice of Moroccon speciality .... their Couscous is a must. Corinne and her husband along with the staff are all the help one needs in Marrakesh. The Nirvana Suite is the best value for teh money.

Room Tip: Suite Nirvana is the best value with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I don't know how anyone could possibly say negative kings about his riad.

Beautiful riad with a modern take on a classic traditional theme. The service was exemplary, friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times.

We were taken out of the riad by the staff on two occasions to help us find out way around, which was priceless and something I hadn't expected in advance.

Organised airport transfers helped make our stay less stressful, taking us right to the door and back.

We didn't try any of the day trips due to time, but certainly would have given a few more days. Instead we explored the medina, ate in the Riad, the Medina and in Hivernage. Relaxing on the sun terrace at the riad was bliss and the staff were always on hand if one needed anything.

The only slight detraction (and it is a minor one) is that the pool is really for decoration - if you're planning to swim, this probably isn't for you!

Thanks to everyone involved in the riad for a great stay. Much love from Rob and Laura x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The riad is in the souk, not in one of its best areas, and very noisy. The manager was pretentious and had a fake attitude, reminding us of the arrogant Parisian way of treating tourists. The riad is very small, and so are rooms, but these were clean. The tours proposed were frankly bad (especially the Atlas day tour) and the bill had extras we thought to have been offered by the manager. Will certainly not return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocooninmarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Cocoon, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

I have read the anonymous review you just wrote about us on Tripadvisor.

I don't know what is the reason for such a hateful review written 3 months after your stay
and I don't even know who you are ?
You are complaining about a day trip but in July, yet we did not organize any day trip to the Atlas Mountains during that period ??
We don't charge extras for no reason. if you though there was a mistake in your invoice, you should have told us on the spot.

Riad Cocoon is located in the heart of the medina as it is mentioned in our website and on the website of the agency you chose to book with.
Maybe you were not completely aware of what "medina" stands for and therefore if you had thought that you would be staying in the modern part of Marrakech ,
I can understand that it might have not been what you were looking for.

Regarding your judgement on me, I must say I am chocked and very upset maybe because it's the first time that this happens to me.

I look forward to hearing from you so I can understand what really happened.

Regards,
Corinne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

just returned from my second trip this year to the riad cocoon. This riad is just perfect , the staff, the ambiance, the location , everything about it. i think you will have got the picture from the previous excellent reviews , all I can say is if you want the perfect riad break in marrakech , you just have to book the cocoon , if you dont you will miss the best experience ever .

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful , but the nirvana has the private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have wanted to go to Morocco for a while, and now I am really glad we did. It is a country and culture very far from what we are used to, but for me it was like a fairytale with the maze of souks, the markeds, spices and mountains.

Riad Cocoon is a special place, that made us relax in the middle of the busy city. It has a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and a friendly and helpful staff.
From the moment we ordered to after we got home, Corinne and her staff did everything to make sure we had an unforgettable vacation!

We stayed in the Green Eyes Room which was very nice, with rosé petals on the bed when we arrived. The bed was good and the bathroom was clean and nice!

The first night we had preordered dinner at the Riad. It was served on the beautiful roof terrace. Corinne met us here to welcome us and give us some advice on places to visit while in Marrakech. And the food was amazing! We had dinner here several night after, perfect those days we had been on excursions.

Every morning we were served fresh breakfast on the roof terrace. It contained of warm and fresh bread variants, fresh orange juice, coffee, jam, honey and some cake. Perfect!

The Riad is located in the middle of the narrow souks of the Medina. The first day, the staff guided us through some of the many roads. But we had no problem finding our way back, because a nearby museum had signes all over.

I would have to recommend the TTHP Maroc-Excurion tour company. We went for two 1-day excursions to The High Atlas mountains. It was amazing! I was stunned and shocked round every turn on the road about how fast the landscape can change and a new wonderful view appeared. It was really something else than my idea of Morocco before we went there.
And the possibility to visit and have lunch at a berber families home is something we will never forget! It is not possible to compare their way of life to ours, still they seemed happy in their life in the mountains. And of course the lunch was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was all wonderful, the food, service, comfort, and an absolutely beautiful place. Corinne and her staff are helpful. The whole experience to the Medina is like stepping onto a movie set or taking a time capsule back 1000 years. Add The Riad Cocoon, which is so lovely in every way, you can't imagine a more exotic trip. My favorite thing---the music. It adds so much to the experience.

Room Tip: get the hammam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cocoon

Address: 10 bis Derb Cherif, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cocoon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cocoon is hidden away in the heart of the Marrakech Medina in the historical quarter of Diour Saboune. This 5 room luxury Riad is an oasis of calm focusing on peace and relaxation ensuring guests come away feeling pampered and rested. Nothing has been left to chance at Riad Cocoon, the lighting, the ambience, the fabrics and furnishings have all be carefully chosen to take the guest on a journey beyond the norm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cocoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.