We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cocoon

Save Saved
You added Riad Cocoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Cocoon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 bis Derb Cherif, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I really believe we found the perfect riad in Marrakech, we have nothing bad to say.

Even before we left home the great service started as they emailed to arrange our airport transfers and offer us dinner on our first night. At the airport we were greeted by the friendly hotel driver who gave us a quick tour of Marrakech on the way back to the riad.
Arriving at the riad, we were offered mint tea and Morrocan pastries. We stayed in the Nirvana suite which comes with its own private terrace. Well worth it. The ipod dock and DVD player are lovely touches as are the ipod mixes to suit your mood/time of day etc.
The riad is spotlessly clean and finished to a high standard with beautiful decor. Food at the restaurant comes in generous portions and is bursting with flavour. We took the opportunity to have a hammam and massage at the riad itself, which was relaxing and invigorating, with reasonable prices and packages on offer.
In terms of location, this riad does not falter here either. A short walk from the main square, "La Place" and an even shorter walk from the Northern part of the souks. The riad staff will even walk with you and make sure you head in the right direction! Taxis are not a problem as they order them for you, walk you to the taxi and make sure you get a good price. The main museum and Ben Youssef mosque are close by as well. We felt safe in this area, even walking around late at night.
The riad staff are a great source of knowledge about things to do in the area and will make an extra effort to make your trip worthwhile. They created an itinerary and organised everything for us to go camel trekking just outside of Marrakech.

Essentially, the perfect place to stay. Everything has been well thought out. Reasonably priced, great location and relaxing, luxurious atmosphere. But most of all, what makes this place special is the staff. They made us feel truly special by going above and beyond, without ever seeming interfering. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Highly recommend paying a little extra for the Nirvana suite. The private terrace is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
97
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was travelling alone to Marrakesh to spend some time with me, myself and I, to relax and to find calm. As I am a Lounge Music lover, the Riad Cocoon attracted me immediately as it is clearly different from other "classicals" Riads in Marrakesh (it was my third visit to the town).

Riad Cocoon is the perfect mix between a French boutique hotel and a Riad with Moroccan style elements - just loved it. The sun terrace and its view is amazing. The Riad is extremely clean, light music is accompanying the visitor the whole day and the food is excellent and authentic moroccan.

The staff is very discrete and I felt always comfortable during my stay "all alone" as a woman.

Corinne is an excellent host and was taking care of me before, during and after my stay - and she was exactly listening to what I was looking for.

I also had a Hammam and massage treatment, which was good and can be recommended without any doubts.

Looking forward to come back soon!

Room Tip: I had the Simply Red Room - perfect for a Single Night, but might be uncomfortable for a couple / fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent three nights in the riad and have enjoyed every minute of it. It felt like an oasis so close to Djemaa el Fna - the hub of Marrakech. We were very happy to have found a riad so close to the square and since it is just round the corner of a museum it is very easy to find your way back, even at night. On the first evening we had booked the hamam and since it was our first time ever - were utterly surprised by this wonderful experience and the hot water clouds which lulled us into a cozy and relaxed mind. Afterwards we could recline and chill on the roof terrace while waiting for the massage. We liked the room and bed very much, especially the bathroom which used the small space perfectly with its pleasant design and organisation of it. Corinne, the French owner, treated us more like friends than guests and we felt more than welcomed. She organised dinner reservations for us and the restaurants she recommended were very well chosen. She had even organised that the two of us together with two other guests from the riad (also two women) were accompanied back to the riad through the darkness!
Although the riad is very small we did not feel bothered by other guests. Corinne's staff was ever so friendly and helpful. We would always come back and stay with Corinne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER, ENGLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived into Marrakech airport and were met and transported in a comfortable people carrier to the Riad. On arrival to the riad we were greeted by the owner Corrine and her staff and shown to around the beautiful serene riad and to our excellent room, the Nirvana suite. Prior to arrival I had been in contact with Corrine by email and had prebooked our evening meal in the riad. After a quick freshen up we ate our dinner in the riad, the food was exceptional and served to us by Tariq in the best possible manner. Khadija the riad in house cook had made a beautiful meal and this started our holiday off to a fantastic start. Corrine was so kind enough to spend time with us suggesting restaurants for lunch and dinner and advising us on things to do in Marrakech, This was our first, and will not be our last visit to Marrakech and I think that our overall experience of the city was made so much more memorable and special due to the choice of our accommodation and the people that work there.
The riad is very clean and the design and style is beautiful. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing and the music playlist within the bedrooms and around the riad is amazing to make you feel so tranquil and peaceful. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and cleaned above and beyond our expectations every day by Kenza. Breakfast was superb, I loved the different variations every day so fresh and tasty. During the day Simo was at the riad to attend to anything you needed.
A must do is to experience the hammam at the riad, followed by a massage, my skin has never felt so clean and soft!!
Every recommendation by Corrine was perfect and she arranged and booked tables at restaurants and taxis or guidance to locations.
Our last night was also spent in the riad where we again had a fanatastic meal with Champagne which finished our holiday off perfectly.
Overall we both had an amazing time in Marrakech, it is an amazing interesting place with fantastic people, great food, great weather and amazing memories.
We have travelled to many places all over Europe and USA, ate in many restaurants and Riad Cocoon in Marrakech is up there with the best.
We spent a week in the riad but wished we could have stayed for a fortnight!!
Looking forward to rebooking there soon.
Thanks to Corrine, Khadija, Kenza, Simo and Tariq.

Room Tip: Nirvana suite has own private terrace for added privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Cocoon for two nights what a lovely place everything was perfect we were in the suite at the top of the riad and it was so quiet and relaxing Corinne and her staff couldn't do enough for you I would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend had a fabulous stay in Riad Cocoon, everything from the decor, to the rooms to the staff was fantastic.
Corinne, the owner, was helpful from the minute we walked in. We were welcomed with a pot of Moroccan tea and some home made treats which was a welcome suprise after a long journey. Corinne asked us what we had planned and gave us some suggestions of where was best to go and what was interesting to see and the next morning she handed us a suggested itinerary with all the details we needed.
Dinner on the first night was a traditional Moroccan tagine, which again, was superb. The service of the staff was friendly, professional and not at all overbearing.
The location of this Riad is also perfect, a 2 minute walk and you are amongst the souks and another 5 minutes you are at the main square, however it is still peaceful and hidden away from the hustle & bustle of life in Marrakech!
We loved our stay so much, we ditched our idea of staying elsewhere for our last 2 nights and re-booked Riad Cocoon! Enjoy...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and it was the perfect place for a couple who had never been to Marrakech!

Located in the heart of the medina this Riad is tucked away and so you get the all the quiet and tranquility that you could want, but then still a 30 second walk to all the bustle and cool atmosphere of Marrakech.

The rooms are incredible, the food is delicious and the staff are so warm and welcoming. Corinne was also amazingly helpful in both helping us to arrange our stay but also in advising us on how best to spend out time in Morocco. She also always found time to sit and chat with us or share a drink up on the terrace.

We stayed in The White Album room but they are all really nice, with authentic touches mixed with absolute luxury.

Overall we couldn't recommend this Riad enough and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: You can't really go wrong but the White Album and Purple Haze are really cool, or choose the Nir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cocoon

Address: 10 bis Derb Cherif, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cocoon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cocoon is hidden away in the heart of the Marrakech Medina in the historical quarter of Diour Saboune. This 5 room luxury Riad is an oasis of calm focusing on peace and relaxation ensuring guests come away feeling pampered and rested. Nothing has been left to chance at Riad Cocoon, the lighting, the ambience, the fabrics and furnishings have all be carefully chosen to take the guest on a journey beyond the norm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cocoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.