We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Jana to your Saves list
Riad Al Jana
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #412 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad, Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding in May, was delighted with my stay. Stay here if you go to Marrakech!

The place is very clean, and considering the sweltering heat felt in the streets it remained quite cool within the Riad itself, a bonus considering it was 40 degrees outside. Rooms that suffer with daytime sun have air con (mine did). Ask for an air con'd room when you book if you're fussy, but amazingly the buildings really do seem to remain quite cool even during the hot daytime. There's a plunge pool if you seriously need to cool down, but beware it is COLD compared to outside. Nearly gave me a heart attack. Decoratio is authetic, traditional Moroccan with handpainted doors, antiques etc. Has a large roof terrace too ideal for relaxing in the evening or, if you're mental, sunbathing in desert strength sunshine (some of the girls staying with us did this and got sunstroke!).

Staff are very helpful, literally helped with everything possible- even walked me and others to a local restaurant after a late arrival on our first evening in Marrakech, ordered and escorted us to our taxi before our return to London, the younger girl there even offered to carry my suitcase for me! Obviously I carried it myself. The manager speaks perfect English, the children can get by with English but speak French perfectly. Even the cleaners were more than keen to communicate.

The food was amazing, had the best slow cooked lamb tagine imaginable. Plus beer and wine as you want it- something you won't find at most restaurants within the Medina, nor I doubt at many other Riads in the area. Make sure if you stay here you eat in the restaurant, you can advise them what time you want your food so the slow cooking won't be an issue (as it is in many restaurants where after a prompt starter you're waiting 70 minutes for your main!).

Location is great, right in the Medina but not so close as for it to be crazy as soon as you step outside. 5 minutes walk from the main souks, 10 from the main square. Shops to buy water/snacks right outside. Quiet at night, slept as well as you can with an air conditioner on. People shouldn't be moaning about the call to prayer, moan moan moan. You're in Morocco, it happens. The only one that may affect sleep is the 5am one anyway. If you can't get back to sleep to the roof and watch the sunrise, in that heat you'll be having a nap later anyway!

Definitely worth staying here. Great value for money too.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were lovely! Maybe make sure it's an air con'd room if you're doing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    20
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great Riad even better people....loved every minute of our stay. The location is right in the centre and you can walk with ease to all the locations you need. We arranged a collection from the airport and had no problems with any part of our holiday....go on try something a little different.

Room Tip: Try the Blue room and book a dinner one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was splendid from the beginning, Abdu speaks fluently English, and he has taken good care of us.
He provided us by maps, information recommendation, everything.
The Hotel was very clean stuff doesn’t speak English but they are very friendly.
I recommended this hotel to everybody, and I will return surely soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in the bleue room, the bath is so clean,comfortable and the shower is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This Riad is a real gem hidden in a labyrinth of narrow streets in the heart of the Medina!
It is clean, comfortable and full of local atmosphere. The hospitality of the family is exceptional and the food good and hearty. If you arrive by car you need to park out of gear with handbrake off in a small square by the local college where an attendant pushes the cars back & forth to allow vehicles in and out. I would whole heartedly recommend this Riad to all potential guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved this riad. It's located right in the heart of the souks, near the Ben Yousef madrassa. That means you hear the call to prayer loud and clear at 5 am, but it didn't bother us too much. The riad is a beautiful spot of tranquility amidst the madness of marrakech, and we loved being able to sit on the rooftop terrace or in the courtyard after a long day and just relax. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the dinners they offered were amazing. Probably the best food we ate in Marrakech! Breakfast was simple but tasty and they usually offered a different choice every morning which was a nice change.

We stayed in the blue room, which was very clean and nicely furnished. As a previous poster commented, the shower does take some time to drain, but it didn't bother us too much. Our room had a fan and AC but we were lucky we didn't need to use it.

There's free wifi available which was great for us. It was a little slow in the rooms but lightening fast in the courtyard. All in all, we loved staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We would definitely recommend this Riad, the location was excellent for exploring Marrakech. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room clean, we had a family triple room and there was ample space. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Even though the stay was short we found the room clean and well decorated, average size. We stayed in the blue room. Staff very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful.

Only real complaint was the shower that did not drain, so you stand in a pool if water which can't be very hygienic.

About a 10min walk to the square so well located. You won't make a mistake booking here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jana

Address: 6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #412 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Jana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Al Jana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.