We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad in old Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Jana to your Saves list
Riad Al Jana
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad in old Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This Riad is a real gem hidden in a labyrinth of narrow streets in the heart of the Medina!
It is clean, comfortable and full of local atmosphere. The hospitality of the family is exceptional and the food good and hearty. If you arrive by car you need to park out of gear with handbrake off in a small square by the local college where an attendant pushes the cars back & forth to allow vehicles in and out. I would whole heartedly recommend this Riad to all potential guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    24
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
40
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved this riad. It's located right in the heart of the souks, near the Ben Yousef madrassa. That means you hear the call to prayer loud and clear at 5 am, but it didn't bother us too much. The riad is a beautiful spot of tranquility amidst the madness of marrakech, and we loved being able to sit on the rooftop terrace or in the courtyard after a long day and just relax. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the dinners they offered were amazing. Probably the best food we ate in Marrakech! Breakfast was simple but tasty and they usually offered a different choice every morning which was a nice change.

We stayed in the blue room, which was very clean and nicely furnished. As a previous poster commented, the shower does take some time to drain, but it didn't bother us too much. Our room had a fan and AC but we were lucky we didn't need to use it.

There's free wifi available which was great for us. It was a little slow in the rooms but lightening fast in the courtyard. All in all, we loved staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We would definitely recommend this Riad, the location was excellent for exploring Marrakech. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room clean, we had a family triple room and there was ample space. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Even though the stay was short we found the room clean and well decorated, average size. We stayed in the blue room. Staff very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful.

Only real complaint was the shower that did not drain, so you stand in a pool if water which can't be very hygienic.

About a 10min walk to the square so well located. You won't make a mistake booking here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lovely hotel nice and clean with lovely rooms with en suite . The manager Abdul and his staff made you feel very welcome
and we're happy to help the best they could . Excellent location amongst the hustle
of the souks. Lovely meals in hotel in fact meals were that nice we ate in the hotel
Most nights . Would definitely stay again, thank you : )

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, in the blue room. The riad was really cosy and very clean, decorated in the beautiful traditional Moroccan style. Our room was really clean and nice as well, good size room and bed, with a very nice warm-water bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was simple but nice. The riad is situated in the central souks in the old part of the city, only 10min. walking to the Jemaa El-Fna, and very close to the Ali Ben Youssef Medersa and Musee de Marrakech. Even though it is centrally situated, the area is very calm and quiet besides the sound of prayer from the Mosque next door, but we weren't bothered by this at all. We would give this riad 5 "stars" if it wasn't because we didn't get the pick-up service from the airport that we ordered. If you haven't been in the city before it is a good idea to get the pick-up service from the airport, as it can be difficult to find. The riad is very good value for money and we can definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Al Jana riad from 12th - 16th January and it surpassed all our expectations. It was a beautiful example of a riad, immaculately clean with good quality soft furnishings. Our en suite bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower. Breakfast was fine, with orange juice, French bread and jams, cheese triangles and always included either freshly made creeps or muffins. the staff were friendly and helpful. the location was excellent, close to the Ben Yussef Mosque Museum and Medersa and a short walk from Jemma Al Fna square. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#160 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.7 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Alhambra
Dar Alhambra
#445 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Marrakech House
Riad Marrakech House
#677 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Hadika Maria
Riad Hadika Maria
#495 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#152 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jana

Address: 6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Jana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Al Jana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.