We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jana

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Jana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Al Jana
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved this riad. It's located right in the heart of the souks, near the Ben Yousef madrassa. That means you hear the call to prayer loud and clear at 5 am, but it didn't bother us too much. The riad is a beautiful spot of tranquility amidst the madness of marrakech, and we loved being able to sit on the rooftop terrace or in the courtyard after a long day and just relax. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the dinners they offered were amazing. Probably the best food we ate in Marrakech! Breakfast was simple but tasty and they usually offered a different choice every morning which was a nice change.

We stayed in the blue room, which was very clean and nicely furnished. As a previous poster commented, the shower does take some time to drain, but it didn't bother us too much. Our room had a fan and AC but we were lucky we didn't need to use it.

There's free wifi available which was great for us. It was a little slow in the rooms but lightening fast in the courtyard. All in all, we loved staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We would definitely recommend this Riad, the location was excellent for exploring Marrakech. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room clean, we had a family triple room and there was ample space. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Even though the stay was short we found the room clean and well decorated, average size. We stayed in the blue room. Staff very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful.

Only real complaint was the shower that did not drain, so you stand in a pool if water which can't be very hygienic.

About a 10min walk to the square so well located. You won't make a mistake booking here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel nice and clean with lovely rooms with en suite . The manager Abdul and his staff made you feel very welcome
and we're happy to help the best they could . Excellent location amongst the hustle
of the souks. Lovely meals in hotel in fact meals were that nice we ate in the hotel
Most nights . Would definitely stay again, thank you : )

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, in the blue room. The riad was really cosy and very clean, decorated in the beautiful traditional Moroccan style. Our room was really clean and nice as well, good size room and bed, with a very nice warm-water bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was simple but nice. The riad is situated in the central souks in the old part of the city, only 10min. walking to the Jemaa El-Fna, and very close to the Ali Ben Youssef Medersa and Musee de Marrakech. Even though it is centrally situated, the area is very calm and quiet besides the sound of prayer from the Mosque next door, but we weren't bothered by this at all. We would give this riad 5 "stars" if it wasn't because we didn't get the pick-up service from the airport that we ordered. If you haven't been in the city before it is a good idea to get the pick-up service from the airport, as it can be difficult to find. The riad is very good value for money and we can definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Al Jana riad from 12th - 16th January and it surpassed all our expectations. It was a beautiful example of a riad, immaculately clean with good quality soft furnishings. Our en suite bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower. Breakfast was fine, with orange juice, French bread and jams, cheese triangles and always included either freshly made creeps or muffins. the staff were friendly and helpful. the location was excellent, close to the Ben Yussef Mosque Museum and Medersa and a short walk from Jemma Al Fna square. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

All I can say is STAY HERE!!! This RIad was perfect in every way! Having only 5 rooms it is intimate and very personal! We were treated like royalty and given probably the best service I think I've ever received and I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends and family! Truly wonderful thank you!

The Riad is located in the Northern Medina and north of the labyrinth of souks, Finding the RIad with the help of a guide who didn't know where he was going was not great so find someone who knows exactly where it is, have the address printed out to show someone is my advice! But once first finding it, the owner who spoke excellent English gave us an easy to use map and we were able to walk to the main square in 10 minutes.

It was such a great experience having stayed just seconds from the main square to be in the middle of the souks it really felt like we were in real Morocco and I would recommend here over any of the 5* big hotels in new city. We had the blue room which was wonderful and cleaned daily, they have a lovely terrace which we used in the afternoons and a nice area to sit and relax downstairs. My highlight was the evening meal - at only 15 euros pp it was outstanding! It was like a personal intimate private dinner service with only us being n the dinning room, a lit fire and a 3 course delicious meal!!! Service was fantastic and the lady who speaks French who served us breakfast and dinner was such a good cook and hostess she really did make our holiday that bit more special! Breakfast was included too and each day we had a feast of fresh bread or creeps with coffee and orange juice!

The only negative I can give is it is located right near a mosque and so you receive the 5am wake up! But as I read before I left, you'll find it near impossible to find somewhere right in the heart without being near a mosque!

Really recommend RIad Al Jana!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jana

Address: 6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Jana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Jana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.