We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC Riad & staff in the heart of Marrakech souks! This Riad made our trip to Morocco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Jana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Jana to your Saves list
Riad Al Jana
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #413 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Truro
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC Riad & staff in the heart of Marrakech souks! This Riad made our trip to Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

All I can say is STAY HERE!!! This RIad was perfect in every way! Having only 5 rooms it is intimate and very personal! We were treated like royalty and given probably the best service I think I've ever received and I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends and family! Truly wonderful thank you!

The Riad is located in the Northern Medina and north of the labyrinth of souks, Finding the RIad with the help of a guide who didn't know where he was going was not great so find someone who knows exactly where it is, have the address printed out to show someone is my advice! But once first finding it, the owner who spoke excellent English gave us an easy to use map and we were able to walk to the main square in 10 minutes.

It was such a great experience having stayed just seconds from the main square to be in the middle of the souks it really felt like we were in real Morocco and I would recommend here over any of the 5* big hotels in new city. We had the blue room which was wonderful and cleaned daily, they have a lovely terrace which we used in the afternoons and a nice area to sit and relax downstairs. My highlight was the evening meal - at only 15 euros pp it was outstanding! It was like a personal intimate private dinner service with only us being n the dinning room, a lit fire and a 3 course delicious meal!!! Service was fantastic and the lady who speaks French who served us breakfast and dinner was such a good cook and hostess she really did make our holiday that bit more special! Breakfast was included too and each day we had a feast of fresh bread or creeps with coffee and orange juice!

The only negative I can give is it is located right near a mosque and so you receive the 5am wake up! But as I read before I left, you'll find it near impossible to find somewhere right in the heart without being near a mosque!

Really recommend RIad Al Jana!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    24
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
40
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just spent a fantastic week here 3 - 10 Nov 2012. From the moment we were met at the airport by the transfer taxi which the hotel arranged, through the birthday cake for Sue, to the impromptue cookery lesson by Naima on the last day, we enjoyed every minute. The Riad Al Jana is located right in the Medina, in the old town, about 10 mins stroll from the main square. It is quite traditional in it's decoration but very clean and has all the facilities one would expect. It's biggest assets are the staff !! Abu who is in charge could not do enough for us, he was continually checking everything was as we required, and was a mine of information on anything we needed to know. The ever smiling Saida seems to work every hour possible serving meals and doing every other job in the hotel. We took two evening meals there and both were absolutely delicious. We would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone and at the current price it must be regarded as a bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part are traditional but brighter and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our first impressions of the medina was scary our guide showing us to the riad was arrested ( nothing to do with the riad, he was probably a faux guide) finally we found the riad and it was amazing, so peaceful and lovely in the middle of the medina it was such an escape! The staff were very welcoming and showed us maps and easy ways around the souks, breakfast was lovely with different selections each day. Very clean rooms and just such a lovely place to stay. location wise it is in the middle of the busy souks, as a couple we didnt find it too intimidating walking back in the dark but be careful, learn the route the hosts give you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our first visit to Marrakech, on arriving we were greeted warmly by the riad al jana. The walk to the riad In the evening for the first time is a little daunting as most of the riads are tucked away in the nooks and crannies of the medina.

We could not fault our stay, the staff were brilliant, the rooms were clean and homely!

There is the option to eat at the riad in the evening, (which we did) and it was perfect.

Be wary of the "guides" who hang about the souks and near the riad. They will only walk with you to get your money. Over all this is a very friendly, impeccably run place. Perfect situation from the centre of marrakech though do get taxis at night as the souks can get very confusing at dark.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Riad Al Jana was the best of all the Riads we stayed that we stayed in Morocco. Right from the welcome by the staff we felt at home. The Riad is well appointed and is value for money. The rooms are clean and serviced by discreet staff. The food was some of the best we tasted on our whole trip. I would recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Before arriving at Riad al Jana I was at the sofitel (wrote a review on it as well) that is in a more modern part of marrakech. The Riad is in the medina which is really the old town. Little alleys, the markets, the little restos. Really traditional. It was amazing. Abdou was an amazing host and his staff is super sweet. Our room (the red one I think) was so cute and spacious and clean, I really couldn't have asked for anything better. Our place was walking distance to the souks but far enough that it was quiet at night. I would really go back, I loved it! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Really nice Riad close to all the action in marrakech. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the courtyard and dining room are both comfortable. The riad was very peaceful and the staff and owners helpful and discrete.

I would recommend this Riad - great quality and good value

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Al Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Jana

Address: 6 Derb Si Mustapha - Zaouiate Lahdar Amssafah | Marraekch Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Jana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Jana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Jana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.