We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, service mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia Salam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bahia Salam to your Saves list
Riad Bahia Salam
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #469 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Utrecht
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, service mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

To start with the positive: the hotel looks nice and is at a 5-10 minutes walk from the Djemaa El-fna. The rooms are ok, although the shower is not great. We stayed here for two nights; one night before and one night after our trek in the mountains. The staf is friendly although checking in was quite annoying. They didn't seem to know who we were, even after mentioning our tour operator. It therefore took a while before we got to our room. Also, they didn't seem to know what was included and what not. So we had to discuss this first with reception and afterwards again with the people running the restaurant. Off course it's ok to make that mistake once, but when we came back after a week we had the same dicsussion al over again. All in all, although the hotel was fine, I wouldn't recommend it because of the service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    83
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
128
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I thought this Riad was great. I stayed here on my first night in Morocco and was very happy. It was in a great position - about a 5 minute walk to the main square. The staff were friendly, my room was clean and best of all it had a roof top terrace (with pool). After a day out in the heat, it was great to be able to come back and sit up on the terrace and have a cold drink and watch the world go by. I would definitely stay there again. My room also had a TV with English channels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This riad was in a great location in the Old Town. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated, and the air conditioning functioned well to ensure a good night's sleep. The peace and quiet of the riad makes it feel a world away from the hagglers and chaos of the city- yet it is right in the middle of it.

Upstairs there is a lovely terrace with views of the Old Town where breakfast is served. Breakfast itself is available until 11am (great for the jetlagged!) and is Moroccan style, so mainly pancake/bread items (ie no eggs). There is also a small plunge pool up on the terrace with a number of pool/lounge chairs to relax on.

Note for those interested:
(1) The riad does not serve any alcohol, but does have a restaurant that serves meals and non-alcoholic drinks.
(2) Transportation: We needed a one-way transfer from Marrakech up to Mazagon Resort (near El Jajida, on the coast approx 100 kms from Casablanca) and used the following company:

http://www.taximarrakchi.com
contact@taximarrakchi.com

We negotiated a rate of 850 dirhams - this was for an air conditioned van and a safe/prudent driver, private transfer (I think the same price would apply even if the van were full, and it seated about 6 passengers comfortably).

I understand the same company may do airport transfers for 10 euros (cheaper than the 15 euros charged by the riad).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Riad is one of the best in the Medina. It is very peacefully, even being in a rushy location. Once you are inside, it is very quite and confortable. Rooms are clean, the atendees are very helpfull, restaurant is very good and common places are fantastic. The Hommane Avenue is not very convidative and a little cahotic, like most streets of the Medina. however, consider that most Riads of the Medina are in the small streets and very difficult to find. This does not happen here.

Room Tip: If you are able to pay in Euros, it should be better for you. Their tax conversion is not very favor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went as two couples and had the most amazing time. The hospitality from the staff is out of this world, one even took my dress home to clean himself because all the cleaning staff had gone home and I needed to wear it that evening. Would strongly recommend a massage downstairs in the spa, out of this world! Great night life and resturants near by too. If your after a nice day our Nikki beach isn't too far and a really nice day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been there in May. Looking from the street, it doesn't look attractive, and I was starting to blame myself for the choice I did online, when I entered and the initial impression changed. The staff is friendly, the riad is very clean with air conditioning, new beds, working and clean bathroom. The rooftop is also nice, and there is a small swimming pool that really makes the difference during hot days. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely Riad close to all sights in Marrakech. Excellent rooms with working bathrooms, comfortable new beds with lots of pillows, and built around courtyards with a great roof garden and spa (going in when we were there) and restaurant. Same bland 7 tajines and 3 x couscous offerings (is there a reason for this???). Breakfast over slow if you are in a hurry to be elsewhere. Staff very obliging and helpful. Do not be put off by the outside and the mattress shops- Marrakech's main square and surrounding souks are just a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#258 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Carllian
Riad Carllian
#170 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#211 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Catalina
Riad Catalina
#443 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#199 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Amira
Riad Amira
#427 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bahia Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia Salam

Address: 61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #469 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahia Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Riad Bahia Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.