We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia Salam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bahia Salam to your Saves list
Riad Bahia Salam
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #429 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good value for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been there in May. Looking from the street, it doesn't look attractive, and I was starting to blame myself for the choice I did online, when I entered and the initial impression changed. The staff is friendly, the riad is very clean with air conditioning, new beds, working and clean bathroom. The rooftop is also nice, and there is a small swimming pool that really makes the difference during hot days. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    74
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
111
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely Riad close to all sights in Marrakech. Excellent rooms with working bathrooms, comfortable new beds with lots of pillows, and built around courtyards with a great roof garden and spa (going in when we were there) and restaurant. Same bland 7 tajines and 3 x couscous offerings (is there a reason for this???). Breakfast over slow if you are in a hurry to be elsewhere. Staff very obliging and helpful. Do not be put off by the outside and the mattress shops- Marrakech's main square and surrounding souks are just a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A discounted mini break with Easyjet flights and transfers encouraged our group of four to try this exotic location. It is located among mattress manufacturers and interior decor shops on a busy street. The entrance is typical, a stout, non-descript black door leads onto a lobby and small hallway of calm and quiet. The central space has a small fountain under the dome three floors up, lounges are available here where the internet is accessible. Our basement level rooms were accessed via a tiled corridor that linked an adjoining building. The room was adequate with a firm double bed, dressing table and chair; with two double wardrobes, one housing a free standing safe, beyond the arch. The shower room (plenty of warm water), basin and toilet are adjacent the arch, closed off by a pair of louvered doors. Ventilation is by opening the casement windows near the bed, which viewed the basement inner courtyard.. There is little natural light and no air conditioning at this level, though I believe the larger, top suite rooms are so provided. A welcoming tea was offered on the roof terrace, three floors up, consisting of mint tea and some small biscuits. There is a new plunge pool here too and an area for loungers.The staff, mostly male, were all polite and courteous, some speaking more english than others, but all helpful. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace; inside if the weather is poor, or outside if good. An option of a glass of fresh orange, mint tea or coffee; three types of pancake; sliced french stick; croissants and cake, or some of each is offered. The orange is cold; the tea warm and the coffee in between. We did not try other meals here. We did try coffee in the afternoon, but it too was never more than warm. The views from the terrace were of the surrounding housing and low level businesses, most interesting was to watch the traffic on the street.
The ladies in the group ventured to try the ham-mam and spa treatment, located in the basement near reception. The 500 dinar, 70 minute treatment stretched into almost two and a half hours, but was 'most relaxing and enjoyable, a very feminine time'.
The hotel is a quiet place; the main building a little gloomy, the tiled balconies of the adjoining building airy and light. All the rooms look out onto the central space, which is a problem if there is a group of visitors who enjoy talking across this open space as everyone in the building will hear them too. Most noticeable after going to bed to sleep.
The basic rooms and comfortable lounges were always well cleaned and all functioned as designed. I suggest this a great base for a long weekend visit, but I would choose one of the deluxe hotels beyond the medina for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Opt for an air conditioned suite during the hotter season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the riad for 5 nights on April 10, the location was just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna. It is a lovely and clean hotel, the staff especially Ilham and Syed were very helpful. They got us a taxi to the airport at a cheaper rate than this guy Youssef Kharoubi whom we booked earlier through Tripsavisor review, did not turn up (for our two tours and airport transfer). They even gave us a complimentary hammam on our last day. When I wanted to buy one of their towels, they gave it to us as a gift! The food on the terrace was nice, though hotel price.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A pretty and intimate riad full of authentic character and charm. Very clean, quiet. Thoughtful and attentive staff. Roof terrace a great spot for breakfast, afternoon tea and view of street scene. good value. thanks to Sud Expeditions for finding this gem for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this Riad booked pretty much unseen and were not disappointed. When you arrive late as we did it can look nothing from the outside (as most do) but inside you cant help but be amazed by the space and size behind the doors!

It is very centrally located to all the main areas in the old town which are in fairly easy walking distance including the must see (day and night) Djemaa el Fna Square which leads to the Souks

The rooms which all face inwards are basic but clean and tidy with nice showers (no baths we could see) - A small criticsm is the poor lighting and slightly noisy air-con (oh and we needed to ask for extra hand towel and pillows but thats being picky.

All the staff in every part of the Riad are so friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. They could not do enough for us and always with a smile. They even got one of the staff to show us the way to a restaurant that you could not get to by either car or by horse. It was a good 10-15 min walk! They also arranged a great deal with a minivan and driver to our lunch at Kasbah Tamadout.

Breakfast was a bit basic and haphazard but if you ask nicely you can get some eggs/omlettes
We would certainly use the Riad Bahia Salam again so we would highly recommend to anyone coming to Marrakech. Looks like they are adding a swimming pool of the roof terrace which will make it even better.

(Make sure you book a guide for the Souks! - See review of Marrakech Private Tours - Excellent)

Room Tip: Ground or 1st floors best as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

we booked a four night stay at the riad and were not disappointed.
the riad is centraly located to all the main attractions and most are within easy walking distance.
the romms are ok with nice showers- only small criticsm is that the rooms could do with better lighting.
However staff in every part of the riad are so friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them.They even got one of the staff to take us to a restaurant that you could get to by either car or by horse.
highly recommend to anyone coming to marrakech.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to bre the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahia Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia Salam

Address: 61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahia Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Bahia Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.