We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind Blowing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia Salam

Save Saved
You added Riad Bahia Salam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Bahia Salam
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a hidden jewel! It looks like nothing from the outside, but the second you step inside, you are blown away by its beauty! I had a lovely, romantic time there. The rooms are so beautifully and traditionally furnished that I sometimes preferred to stay in bed with my girlfriend than go outside! This is a really beautiful place and the service is great. If I ever go back to Morocco, I know where I'll stay! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    64
    16
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
91
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This a treasure in the heart of Marrakesh! My girlfriend and I had picked this hotel according to its reviews and we knew it would be quite the good time. Yet, our experience has been way more than that! The staff is ever-smiling, welcoming and there to serve you. They respect your privacy, help you as much as they can and provide an amazing service. The hotel is unbelievably close to to everything and is so well centered and so beautifully designed that I like to think of it, at the end of a long, touristic day, as the oasis where I go to rest, and enjoy a good smoke in the Terrace. I am SO glad I chose Riad Bahia Salam!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a great hotel/spa located within Medina. From the outside, it is nothing but a door on a bustling street, however once inside you are taken to a whole new world. So relaxing, no street noise, beautiful decor. The rooftop terrace is a great way to end or begin your day in the city. It is approximately 300 meters from the market, 200 meters from palace and Jewish quarter, making it a great location for exploring Marrakech

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A very nice, hidden surprise in the heart of Marrakech. Just sit on the roof terrace and listen to the buzz of the Medina around you, Salam provides you a vey cosy hide away and a great service with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived outside the Riad, wondering if we had made the right decision. On first appearance from the outside, you would be forgiven for entering with just a hint of trepidation.

Once you enter, the place is a little oasis in the madness that we knew Marakech would be. Everywhere is spotless, the floor and walls are decorated with colourfull ceramic mosaics and the sitting areas, of which there are three are very traditional and opulent.

The temperature outside as we arrived, was 24 degrees. Once inside, the courtyard arrangement brought the temperature down to a lovely cool 18 or so. The rooms had air con, but once again, the construction of the Riad keeps the temperature down enough that it was not required.

The Riad is only a slow ten minute walk from the main square. Out of the door, turn left, walk for about 3 or 4 minutes, turn left into the souk and just carry straight on. You will not miss the square!! On the return to the Riad, pop into Kosybar to watch the sun set and the storks nesting. It's tucked away a bit, but worth the effort to find it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Located a 5 minute walk from Jemaa Al Fna square and across the street from a parking lot, this riad is very well situated. The building itself is absolutely beautiful and our room was well appointed. The restaurant serves tasty and not too expensive Moroccan fare up on the roof terrace with a decent view of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Riad Bahia Salam was wonderful. The staff were incredible, and they could not have done more for us. Our room was comfortable, clean and well presented. The Riad itself is authentic and beautiful. The location was out of this world if you want to be in the mix of Marrakech. It is only a few minutes away from El Fna and the Jewish quarter. However, please dont think this means you'll be kept up all night with noise as this is not the case. The Spa facility within the Riad is a real treat, and a Hamman is a must. The staff in the spa are professional and helpful and it is a lovely thing to do whilst in the city. I would certainly recommend anyone and everyone to experience this Riad. Thanks you guys if you are reading this we really loved our stay and look forward to seeing you again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casablanca Suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Bahia Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia Salam

Also Known As:
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel Marrakech
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel
Address: 61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahia Salam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Bahia Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.