We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprises await you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia Salam

Save Saved
You added Riad Bahia Salam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Bahia Salam
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprises await you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived outside the Riad, wondering if we had made the right decision. On first appearance from the outside, you would be forgiven for entering with just a hint of trepidation.

Once you enter, the place is a little oasis in the madness that we knew Marakech would be. Everywhere is spotless, the floor and walls are decorated with colourfull ceramic mosaics and the sitting areas, of which there are three are very traditional and opulent.

The temperature outside as we arrived, was 24 degrees. Once inside, the courtyard arrangement brought the temperature down to a lovely cool 18 or so. The rooms had air con, but once again, the construction of the Riad keeps the temperature down enough that it was not required.

The Riad is only a slow ten minute walk from the main square. Out of the door, turn left, walk for about 3 or 4 minutes, turn left into the souk and just carry straight on. You will not miss the square!! On the return to the Riad, pop into Kosybar to watch the sun set and the storks nesting. It's tucked away a bit, but worth the effort to find it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    68
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
100
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Located a 5 minute walk from Jemaa Al Fna square and across the street from a parking lot, this riad is very well situated. The building itself is absolutely beautiful and our room was well appointed. The restaurant serves tasty and not too expensive Moroccan fare up on the roof terrace with a decent view of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Riad Bahia Salam was wonderful. The staff were incredible, and they could not have done more for us. Our room was comfortable, clean and well presented. The Riad itself is authentic and beautiful. The location was out of this world if you want to be in the mix of Marrakech. It is only a few minutes away from El Fna and the Jewish quarter. However, please dont think this means you'll be kept up all night with noise as this is not the case. The Spa facility within the Riad is a real treat, and a Hamman is a must. The staff in the spa are professional and helpful and it is a lovely thing to do whilst in the city. I would certainly recommend anyone and everyone to experience this Riad. Thanks you guys if you are reading this we really loved our stay and look forward to seeing you again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casablanca Suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we were 7 persons staying at the Riad for my Birthday, the Riad was spotless, staff were excellent, location was excellent, as we have stayed twice before but in different Riads and they had alleyways to go through to get to them and at night this was a bit scary but this Riad was right on the main drag and road so much more safer feel to it. I was upgraded to the Fez Suite as a gift for my birthday which was much appreciated and a lovely room, all my other friends rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean. the staff were so welcoming and arranged transport for us on our evenings out so that we never had to haggle with taxis. just like to thank the Riad Bahia Salam for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 102 is lovely and bright large white high ceiling. Fez Suite has a bath tub and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond North Yorks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

An excellent, conveniently situated small 'boutique' hotel. Wonderful roof terrace with fantastic panoramic views across the city. The staff were without exception, exceptional. Friendly, interested and couldn't do enough for you to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. Fruit would have been a very welcome addition to the breakfasts. Otherwise nothing but praise for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This Riad was so welcoming after a busy day in the Medina square. The staff were extremely cordial, helpful with suggestions, and provided many nice touches...including a late breakfast delivered to our room and boxes of cookies for the road. The rooms were well appointed, and beautifully decorated. One of our rooms had a deep soaking bathtub...so nice after being in the desert and smaller villages. All of Morocco was so memorable and this riad stay was such a wonderful way to end our vacation.

Room Tip: We had one standard room and one superior. The standard room had more traditional decor and the sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Very nice ant quiet place to stay, central in the Medina. Hotel is clean, staff is very friendly, rooms are nice and well decorated. A real surprise...for those who want to sleep late in the mornings, use earplugs, because the Imam can wake you up with his call to prayer very early..

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahia Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia Salam

Address: 61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahia Salam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Bahia Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.