We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and nice stay in low season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahia Salam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bahia Salam to your Saves list
Riad Bahia Salam
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #426 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and nice stay in low season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had a nice stay in (upgraded) room. Staff was helpful and very kind, vene teaching me some Arab in quite hours. Room was very clean although the airco unit was somewhat dusty. Rooftop terrace is nice with shade if you want it and some refreshind wind in the evening. Breakfast served there was quite ok. The spa is rather small but very clean and luxurious given the limited rooms. Location is just fine, near several interesting places but not right at the tourist hot spots.
Transfer from the airport is expensive compared to local taxiprices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    73
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
107
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second stay at Riad Bahia Salam. We stayed there previously for the Marrakech half-marathon. Both times were great experiences. We have stayed in both the normal double room as well as a small suite and found both to be quite comfortable for the two of us and our toddler.

The Riad is located just outside of the ancient Medina itself - a 5-10 minute walk to the J'maa al Fenaa square and we find that its location provides good separation from the pressure of the medina. In addition, there is a metered and guarded parking lot across the street from the Riad which makes parking a breeze.

Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace (they have an enclosed seating area as well) and is very good. We have found the staff to be extremely nice and professional. Additionally, they have a very well equipped spa/hammam in the basement of the hotel which our friends have used.

We have only eaten dinner here once. The dinner was fine but not overwhelming and it was very off-season. In addition, I would recommend eating dinner outside of the Riad as there are so many good restaurants there in addition to the J'maa al Fenaa square.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel and very well appointed decor and rooms. We had a few plumbing issues but service was good at addressing them. Some rooms have open windows (covered by decorative grills and shutters) into the hallway which means that you have to give up a lot of privacy if you want light in the room. Ask for a room with an outside window. Beautiful rooftop terrace was great for breakfast and to relax-though service was quite slow. Breakfast was generous. Very nice and helpful front desk staff. Easy 5-10 minute walk to Al jmaa square and other monuments.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Hi we just returned back to the UK from Marrakesh, both me and my wife went there for the 1st time. It took us one day to get used to the culture shock, but we began to love the place, the riad really was authentic, quiet with superb helpful staff, The rooms are very clean and hot water never runs out, I loved our room the ceiling was amazing and we had all the mod cons we needed, we were lazy as we had breakfast in bed and only went to the roof terrace for lunch or tea after 11am. The terrace is beautiful, relaxing and the views of the snow capped mountains was beautiful. There is a lot to say about this riad as we were there for a week, my wife had the hammam treatment and she said the suite was beautiful. The location was brilliant only 5 mins to Princes Street which leads onto Jamea Al Fna (the main square which is the hub of activity in Marrakesh) The staff are always ready to help and room service is very quick and polite. We awoke this morning and decided, we are going back there one day soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We were taken here by someone working at a smaller riad which was full. It was fantastic, truly an oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The location really couldn't be better -- It's just a couple of minutes' walk from the Djemma el Fna in one direction, and a couple of minutes to the Place des Ferblentiers and the Bahia Place in the other direction, so there are lots of options for restaurants nearby. There's also an inexpensive guarded car park directly across the street which is convenient -- we left our car there for 3 days and went around Marrakech by foot and horse carriage. The street the riad is located on is very busy by day, but you walk inside and the riad is quiet and cool. The terrace is amazingly beautiful with a great view of the Koutoubia mosque and even the Atlas Mountains.

We were 3 people who wanted 3 beds, so many riads are too small. The Bahia Salam added a cot to our room but it was still large enough for the 3 of us and our bags. Our room did not have an external window but only opened to the walkway and the courtyard, which is typical of medina houses. It makes the room a bit dark, especially since you will want to keep the shutters on the window for privacy. That's about the only drawback. Otherwise, the staff were pleasant and helpful, and the decor of the rooms was lovely. We thought it was of good value All in all, it was really much nicer and in a better location than we'd dreamed we could find and afford in Marrakech, with the charm we'd hoped to find in a riad.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

It was our first trip to Morocco and we staid one week in lovely Riad Bahia Salam in Marakech. I can recommend this riad to everybody.The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and service in the riad was excellent ! Very clean,beautiful design and decoration, good breakfast, great location and easy too find !! Even the riad is located in noisy street, in side is silent and peaceful place to relax.We could also reach most of the famous tourist attractions on feet and the famous square Djema el- fna is just behind the corner - prox. 5 min walking from riad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012, and what a nice place.

Marrakesh is manic, and this hotel is right on a main street, But once you step in the mayhem is left behind and everything is peaceful.

My room had everything I needed - free safe, free wi-fi, TV, air-con. The rooms are cleaned everyday.

The staff are really friendly.

The hotel has a roof terrace, where you can view the street below. There is a dining room off here where they serve breakfast - very nice.

They also serve dinner and evening meal, and I had this in my room one night - no problem at all.

The location is a 10 minute walk from the main square - Djemaa El Fna.

I liked this hotel. Being honest I couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Mr room was on the ground floor but hand no windows - it was an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahia Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia Salam

Address: 61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahia Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riad Bahia Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahia Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.