We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Atlas Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Atlas Guest House to your Saves list
Riad Atlas Guest House
19 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #678 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Winchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Riad is well located for the main square, is clean and the wi fi worked well.

However, the minuses

1. We were asked to pay up for the nights we stayed in advance, and as soon as we arrived. No pleasantries at all. No tea or cold drink while we sorted this out
2. Breakfasts were poor. While they may have been typical, they were virtually the same every day and very basic and cheap - dry tasteless bread, pastries/pancakes fried in butter, jam made from fennel and carrot (sweet and tasteless) coffee and orange juice
3. The plunge pool is on the lower courtyard and in full view of everyone, close to the front door. While secure, it did not provide an ambience that would be conducive to anyone using it and therefore was next to useless
4. There is no-one really in charge - there is the girl who cleans (very well) and the night porter who serves breakfast (charming) but there is no-one in charge apart from when they want to take payment

I have never had to post a review like this but I don't think the earlier reviews really reflect some of the things that made this place rather disappointing and average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you want perfection maybe it's not perfect for you. But if you want a quite, comfortable,pretty place near the Djemaa El Fna with wonderful people taking great care of you then it's the place for you. They have a nice breakfast each morning on the roof, it's included. They help you find services like cars with drivers when you need them for very fair prices. If you want the true feel of Marrakesh I would definitely stay in a Riad over a hotel. Also they offer a car from the airport at a good price and I would recommend taking it, because to find the place the first time would be very difficult. Very centrally located. I will be blogging about Marrakech teawithlavera.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 7 nights. Very central location near to the big square. We booked airport transfers. A hotel employee met us and helped us with our luggage the last part of the way where the car could not drive. It is almost impossible to find the way in the narrow streets alone for the first time.
Not all the staff speak English, but they always got hold of others that could. The room was clean and with nice interior, and we had breakfast on the terrace.
The staff gave ut advice on bargaining, because we wanted to buy a carpet, that we ended up buying on a day excursion to Essaouira, which the staff arranged for us. The staff was very helpful, and we can confidently recommend the hotel/guesthouse to others.

Room Tip: We stayed at Lalla Jamila, nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this Riad. Although a bit difficult to find the first time, it was easy the rest of the time. Very close to the big square, yet there was very quiet inside the Riad. Room was clean and nice, and wifi worked without any problems. It was winter so it was a bit cold, and there was a radiator to heat up the sleeping area.

Staff was very friendly all the time, and understood and spoke english and french.

Only minus was that the water was pretty cold when showering, but that is something that could be expected I suppose. Would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When I got to Riad Atlas I was welcomed with a drink and lots of smiles. The Riad is located 4 minutes away from the main square and although I was a little scared at the beginning (it can be a bit difficult to find at first and after 11 the city starts to get very quiet) it was very safe.
I didn't want a cab from or to the airport as I found that it's cheaper to just hop in a cab when you arrive at the city. I paid 80 dirhams and when I got to the main square I just asked for directions. The only annoying thing was that I had to call the guy to open the door if I was out after 11pm as I just don't like bothering people but they were completely fine with it though.
Breakfast was alright, room was really nice and clean and the staff was really friendly. I would definitely go back.
Oh and at 6am everyday you will hear the prayers for around 10/15 minutes, but then that's not their fault if you stay really central you'll see speakers everywhere in the medina and you can hear the prayers all over the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This riad was beautifully clean, situated right next to the main square. It's totally true what others have said too...you make the two minute walk from the chaos & mayhem of Jemaa El Fna sqaure to the calm tranquillity of the riad- a total haven. Staff were lovely and friendly. Breakfast was a traditional form of pancake/crumpet/pastry style offering with a host of different jams. I was slightly disappointed that our 'double bed' was actually two single's pushed together, but that was a small negative compared to the overall great experience we had. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Riad Atlas is in a really great location just a couple of minutes walk from the main square (although not so easy to find on arrival). However, we were amazed that once you come off the main road the noise and rush of Marrakech completely disappears. The courtyard is beautiful and calm - perfect place to relax after a mad day in the souks. Our room was on the ground floor - tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean (like the rest of the Riad). Staff were polite and attentive, breakfast was lovely on the terrace and we were even served very early in the morning on our last day when we had to leave early. Sheets/towels were changed every day and staff were always available. Overall fantastic value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Atlas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Atlas Guest House

Address: 19 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #678 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Atlas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Atlas Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.