We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean, welcoming riad well situated and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Atlas Guest House

Save Saved
You added Riad Atlas Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Atlas Guest House
19 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean, welcoming riad well situated and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This riad was beautifully clean, situated right next to the main square. It's totally true what others have said too...you make the two minute walk from the chaos & mayhem of Jemaa El Fna sqaure to the calm tranquillity of the riad- a total haven. Staff were lovely and friendly. Breakfast was a traditional form of pancake/crumpet/pastry style offering with a host of different jams. I was slightly disappointed that our 'double bed' was actually two single's pushed together, but that was a small negative compared to the overall great experience we had. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Riad Atlas is in a really great location just a couple of minutes walk from the main square (although not so easy to find on arrival). However, we were amazed that once you come off the main road the noise and rush of Marrakech completely disappears. The courtyard is beautiful and calm - perfect place to relax after a mad day in the souks. Our room was on the ground floor - tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean (like the rest of the Riad). Staff were polite and attentive, breakfast was lovely on the terrace and we were even served very early in the morning on our last day when we had to leave early. Sheets/towels were changed every day and staff were always available. Overall fantastic value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As a starting point, this is an EXCELLENT and beautiful place to stay. We were picked up from the airport and taken to the Riad which was wonderful, especially arriving at night. The Riad is amazingly central in the Medina, literally just a couple of minutes from Place Jeema El-Fna down a road (which might be hard to find first time alone) which made it an oasis of calm. The Riad throughout was wonderfully decorated. The room we had was Lalla Liakout on the ground floor which opened up onto a beautiful little courtyard with a fountain and the room was VERY clean (I've worked as a chamber maid for four years, high standards...) and always cleaned with care and thoughtfulness, not to mention being arranged in a nice manner with the bedding etc. The staff and owner were very polite, kind and always helpful, better French than English but both worked. Breakfast was fantastic - four different types of Moroccan pancakes over our stay, honey, wonderful unusual jams, like carrot, aubergine, and then the more normal fig or cherry, bread, coffee etc - all on the top floor terrace - heaven. We did one of the several excursions for the day which they offer, we chose cascades d'Ouzoud which I would recommend for 100 euros- the prices they offer are per car and that was all good. It is true that the driver can put you onto a guide but that is part of the way of things and you can say no. Wifi worked well, always felt secure, there is a safe available and always someone there to let you in, which increases the security and allows you to spend lazy afternoons in the cool of the courtyard or on the sunny terrace. Truely excellent value for money.
All in all it was a wonderful stay, would definitely recommend it and we would like to thank everyone at Riad Atlas for all their hospitality and kindness, hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This Is a nice Riad very close to the main square (literally a couple of minutes walking distance). The Riad arranged a transfer from the airport for us so getting there was no hassle. The Riad itself looks very nice and is kept very clean as the staff spend hours cleaning it daily. The breakfast included is good too as they made us fresh pancakes each morning with OJ and spreads.
The only thing which stopped me giving this a 5 star rating was that there was no air conditioning in the room, but just a small floor fan which didn't do a great job at keeping us cool. As it was 41 degrees in Marrakech at the time, this did make it somewhat uncomfortable

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. As there is no air con, you probably want to be lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We chose this riad for it's great location just around the corner form the 'big square'. We were not dissappointed. We arranged airport transfers and were met by one of the staff who ensured a smoothe taxi ride to our accommodation. Staff were all very friendly and informative, drawing us a map with suggested tours on offer. Our room on the ground floor was tastefully decorated in moroccan style. The breakfast on the top terrace was simple, breads, jams, cakes etc, but delicious. We were a bit surprised at having no bathroom door in the room but decided to accept it as 'interesting and quirky!' There were a couple of occasions when the noise from our fellow guests bothered us some as the building is very open internally. The staff even apologised on their behalf.
Overall this was a very pleasant riad and we would definitely recommend a stay here to be near to the local attractions. One recommendation would be to definitely visit the majorelle gardens. You'll be amazed!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy request a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The other reviews accurately rate this Riad very highly for location and value. Here is some other useful information. You may as well include the Riad's taxi in and out services as part of the room price since I don't see how you can organize any other way to get in or out for the airport (€15), train or bus (€10). The Riad is locked at all times so you must ring the doorbell to get in. After 10:30 PM you must call ahead. Great for security but a little inconvenient. We had mosquitoes in our ground level room probably because the windows to the courtyard are left open during the day. Wifi in the rooms is weak but works.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

As a student i don't tend to travel on a huge budget, and I was so happy to be able to stay in such a stunning place on such a small budget! When I first walked into the riad my first impression was WOW!it was so beautiful and tastefully decorated I stayed in a double room on the ground floor with its own bathroom, only strange thing was there was no door between bedroom and bathroom. But this did not stop this place from being jsut perfect! it was like paradise in the middle of the medina! bout a 2mn walk froñ djemma el fna but not disturbed by the noise when in the riad. Breakfast was homemade and just delicious and it changed every day.Staff was amazing and became more like a friend over our stay! I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Atlas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Atlas Guest House

Address: 19 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Atlas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Atlas Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.