We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Riad Nesma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nesma

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 5 more sites!
Riad Nesma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   128 Riad Zitoune Lakdim | Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
København, Danmark
1 review
“Great stay at Riad Nesma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Doing our 3 week vacation in Morocco we stay at Nesma four days in total. Two days in the beginning and two days at the end. At first we couldn't find the Riad as it's in the center of Marrakech, so we had to pay some local boys to show us the way. But from thereon it was a pleasent experience. The room was clean, friendly service and great breakfest! The reason why they don't get 5/5 is that the bathroom door couldn't close and you had to hold the showerhead as the grip was not working. Good value for money Riad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    46
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in Riad Nesma for 2 nights in June. The place was recommended to us by a friend. It is located about 10 minutes walk from the main market and a walking distance from many attractions and restaurants. What I found amazing is the fact that the busy and noisy life of Marrakesh is right on your doorstep but the Riad feels like a quite safe oasis in the middle of it:)

The room was as described / shown in pictures. It was spotlessly clean and very pleasant. Riad Nesma has a beautiful Moroccan décor and plenty of nice little spots where you can chill out and relax. We enjoyed the roof terrace especially.
The breakfast served on the terrace every morning was delicious too!
Abdoul (apologies if I've miss spelled) and the rest of the staff ensured we had a great stay. They provided us with lots of help, guidance and great company as well.

I definitely recommend Riad Nesma and will be back there next time I make a trip to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was our first time in Morocco and it was an amazing experience.
The Riad Nesma is very pleasant, involving us in to the mistic moroccan atmosphere. It is very well located, with a great environment and food, as well as the it's friendly staff, always ready to help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location was close to the main square.. In fact too close.
We arrived there at tea time and the room had a damp/ musty smell so we left the windows open and went out to air it off.
The damp smell was still there on our return... It transpired it was due to the wet wall adjoining the dirty, limescale shower which allowed water to seep through it into the bedroom which was very small as you can see from the photos. The damp was very bad and We coughed all night. The first and only night out of 5 was spent on the roof terrace,which was very nice, searching the web looking for alternative accommodation. We managed to find a much nicer hotel nearby the katoubia mosque for and extra 7€ per night for 2 with a buffet breakfast, pool, bigger better room and lovely staff.
The staff at riad nesma were also very nice, but almost too eager. When sat on the terrace at night, the gentleman on duty would not leave us alone and spent 40 minutes, trying very hard in broken English to give us a brief history of marrakech. This was very nice of him but we wanted to be left in peace to relax and had the impression that he was waiting for a tip for following us up the stairs to the
roof?
When we informed them the following day that we were checking out and cancelling the remaining 4 nights we had to wait 20 minutes for the manager to arrive who accepted our complaint and was more worried about us giving a negative report on trip adviser and booking.com than us leaving.
All in all... The staff were very nice as was the riad on the whole... But the room would benefit from an extension, some tiles in the bathroom to stop the water seeping into the bedroom and a de-humidifier to reduce the damage already done!
With a little tweaking and TLC this riad could be lovely but it wasn't for us as it is right now.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadnesma, Propriétaire at Riad Nesma, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
hello,
First of all thank you for your comment and for the time you took to write it.
By your comment I understand that you were disturbed by the smell of the room, the money and the staff.
Our riad was built in accordance with the tradition of using the finest natural materials to make our customers live in the past and atmosphere thanks to craft hands we could make our riad a real gem and a peaceful peace.
Let me explain to you sir that the smell that you felt in the room is not incured moisture but it is the smell of clay with which the walls of the room were coated with this is that is called the TADELAKT.
You will find below a definition of TADELAKT I found on wikipedia encyclopedia:
Tadelakt is a coating of lime water, shiny and waterproof. It can be used both indoors and outdoors. It is the traditional coating originally used to seal water tanks. There is also a decorative art: shaped facades, pools, steam baths, riads and palaces. It has the distinction of being "hooked" with a river stone and to be treated with black soap to acquire its final appearance.
Tadelakt has a soft and fine aspect with undulations due to the work of the roller which confers great decorative capacities.
This is the only lime plaster which, by its waterproof, can be applied to the soil. It supports water, high humidity rooms (steam, bathrooms) is used in the decoration of the walls, and well executed, it serves for sealing bathtubs, sinks, showers ...
Regarding the price you booked through booking so you received the best price 7 € a room at night can be a listed building. Our Riad is ranked Guesthouse second category (3 stars) and you can check Mr. feedback from our customers on tripadvisor who elected us better establishment in 2013 "travelers choice" you will find a picture of the trophy that was sent to us by tripadvisor .
 Regarding staff our riad, they always ensure the comfort of the client and remains available 24h/24 while being discreet. They work in a family friendly atmosphere to make clients feel at home. Throughout the scoring criteria on tripadvisor staff is always rated higher.
thank you again for your comments which were taken into account by management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the Medina and within walking distance to the new city center. It is small and therefore very close and personal. Abdou and the rest of the staff go out of their way to provide you with an incredible expereince during your stay. The front desk also provided me with two great day tours. The hotel área seems very safe and all the sights and sounds of Marrakech are virtually right outside of your door. The rooms are very clean and seem noiseproof as I slept like a rock. I plan on returning to the hotel with my family in the future.

Room Tip: All the romos seem to be the same. Perhaps choose one further away from the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Riad Nesma for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay from beginning to end. We were met as soon as we stepped out of our taxi when we arrived, which was a lovely welcome to the city! The staff were always really friendly and helpful. Air conditioned, spacious room with good shower. Great breakfast, served 7-11am, on the terrace. Location also great. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel location is very good, almost in the heart of the medina also not very far from the new city center. The hotel is nice, clean, comfortable. The terrace is wonderful and perfect for taking your breakfast. The staff was really helpful and friendly making us feel welcomed in Marrakesh. I truly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Nesma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nesma

Also Known As:
Riad Nesma Hotel Marrakech
Riad Nesma Hotel
Address: 128 Riad Zitoune Lakdim | Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#174 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Nesma 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Jemaa El Fna and two minutes of both Bahia and Badii Palace, a former hotel formerly named the Workers (1939) has been restored by the appeal to knowledge internationally known craftsmen of Marrakech.More than a typical hotel, Riad NESMA opens its doors on an exceptional place with its beautiful patio and 7 rooms that have been planned and studied with great care to offer quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Riad Nesma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nesma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Nesma to your Saves list