We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunches on a cool terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse des Epices

La Terrasse des Epices
15 Souk Charifia Sidi Abdellaziz, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-75904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: European, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Tasty lunches on a cool terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay . It is very popular and can get busy at peak times. It is quite chic and classy with very tasty , thoughtfully spiced food.
On both occasions I had the trio of salads and the grilled vegetable platter. The composed salads also looked good. My husband had chicken skewers which were excellent and a steak which was a bit plain. Service is efficient, everything is clean and appetising. They even have fine mist sprays to keep the terrace cool.
It is an excellent little spot to retreat to when the chaos of the souks is too much and you are well away from fumes and traffic . Expensive - 2 starters, I main course and 2 diet cokes came to arround 300dh on both visits.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    433
    144
    63
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice food shame they messed up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

good steak but we ordered 2 and they only bought one, no apology and i had to eat whilst my husband waited an age for his,I was finished for about 15 mins before his came ruined the evening. terrible service. the manager should have offered a reduced price for the cock up in my book. setting nice howver.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pekin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good food, nice view, just a nice place to relax in the middle of the "souks" area. Good variety of moroccan and western dishes.
Take a place in the shade and enjoy the view

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch in the souk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived just before 12:00hrs and were told by a staff member at the door that they would open shortly. We roamed the shops on the mezzanine level for a few minutes and the same staff member came to find us to let us know that the restaurant was now open. We were invited to choose wherever we would like to sit and given the drinks menu. Within 5 minutes we received our 1.5L water (25Dh), a basket of bread, complimentary black olive dip and the food menu. We watched the terrace fill with hungry customers by the minute, obviously a very popular lunch destination. Our waiter remained courteous and attentive with a smile as he checked after a few minutes if we were ready to order and we decided on chicken skewer (95Dh) and lamb & prune tagine (120Dh) . We were given around 20 minutes to nibble the bread, dip and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere before the main courses arrived - the presentation of which were very appetising and all was rather tasty indeed. The meat in both dishes was of good quality and the portion sizes were fine. We finished with an espresso (15 Dh each) and were told that the bill can be paid at the till on the way out at our leisure. There you will see a discrete tips jar where you may or may not show your appreciation - amazingly enough no pressure. Having read previous reviews, it sounds like we were lucky, so why did I not award excellent status? Bearing in mind that I would not like to have missed the experience, when you exit the restaurant and submerge yourself back into the souk below you think - did I just pay nearly 30 euros up there? And then you smile at each other and say what the heck, we're on holiday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely rooftop place in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The rooftop restaurant is tucked away in a small street on top of a shopping complex. it has very good view over the town. It's nicely decorated, quite posh and relaxing. They don't serve any alcohol but have a big selection of tea from herbal infusion to moroccan tea or red tea. The food we tried were a bit too sweet. But it's definitely a good choice for an afternoon tea or after dinner drink (tea or coffee).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse des Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Terrasse des Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrasse des Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.