We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunches on a cool terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse des Epices

La Terrasse des Epices
15 Souk Charifia Sidi Abdellaziz, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-75904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 668 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Moroccan, French, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Tasty lunches on a cool terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay . It is very popular and can get busy at peak times. It is quite chic and classy with very tasty , thoughtfully spiced food.
On both occasions I had the trio of salads and the grilled vegetable platter. The composed salads also looked good. My husband had chicken skewers which were excellent and a steak which was a bit plain. Service is efficient, everything is clean and appetising. They even have fine mist sprays to keep the terrace cool.
It is an excellent little spot to retreat to when the chaos of the souks is too much and you are well away from fumes and traffic . Expensive - 2 starters, I main course and 2 diet cokes came to arround 300dh on both visits.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice food shame they messed up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

good steak but we ordered 2 and they only bought one, no apology and i had to eat whilst my husband waited an age for his,I was finished for about 15 mins before his came ruined the evening. terrible service. the manager should have offered a reduced price for the cock up in my book. setting nice howver.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank desperatetorelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pekin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good food, nice view, just a nice place to relax in the middle of the "souks" area. Good variety of moroccan and western dishes.
Take a place in the shade and enjoy the view

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank begonialane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch in the souk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived just before 12:00hrs and were told by a staff member at the door that they would open shortly. We roamed the shops on the mezzanine level for a few minutes and the same staff member came to find us to let us know that the restaurant was now open. We were invited to choose wherever we would like to sit and given the drinks menu. Within 5 minutes we received our 1.5L water (25Dh), a basket of bread, complimentary black olive dip and the food menu. We watched the terrace fill with hungry customers by the minute, obviously a very popular lunch destination. Our waiter remained courteous and attentive with a smile as he checked after a few minutes if we were ready to order and we decided on chicken skewer (95Dh) and lamb & prune tagine (120Dh) . We were given around 20 minutes to nibble the bread, dip and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere before the main courses arrived - the presentation of which were very appetising and all was rather tasty indeed. The meat in both dishes was of good quality and the portion sizes were fine. We finished with an espresso (15 Dh each) and were told that the bill can be paid at the till on the way out at our leisure. There you will see a discrete tips jar where you may or may not show your appreciation - amazingly enough no pressure. Having read previous reviews, it sounds like we were lucky, so why did I not award excellent status? Bearing in mind that I would not like to have missed the experience, when you exit the restaurant and submerge yourself back into the souk below you think - did I just pay nearly 30 euros up there? And then you smile at each other and say what the heck, we're on holiday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bravefoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely rooftop place in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The rooftop restaurant is tucked away in a small street on top of a shopping complex. it has very good view over the town. It's nicely decorated, quite posh and relaxing. They don't serve any alcohol but have a big selection of tea from herbal infusion to moroccan tea or red tea. The food we tried were a bit too sweet. But it's definitely a good choice for an afternoon tea or after dinner drink (tea or coffee).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank clairechuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse des Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Terrasse des Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing