We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming rooftop restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse des Epices

La Terrasse des Epices
15 Souk Charifia Sidi Abdellaziz, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-75904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: European, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming rooftop restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ended up a here a few times. Very cool place esp and literally in the August heat - they have mist sprays that help you chill. Food was as enjoyable as the mist.. really.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    433
    144
    63
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very beautiful place, food a little disappointing for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This rooftop terrace restaurant in the old medina is a great place, very spacious, comfy with amazing design and decor and great music !
staff is young and efficient
prices reach a european/american level (think paris) so we expected the food to be exceptional and it was not
Morrocan dishes 100-200 dh a little too sweet for our taste but nice, warm and satisfying.
You can have salads and pasta if you want
The price is worth the experience but do not expect gastronomy or creativity !

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This really lively terrace restaurant looks down onto the Spice Market and is a great spot for "people watching". Staff were very friendly

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We found this today by mistake. We got lost in the souks and thought we'd go up on the terrace, have a drink and get our bearings. And we're very glad we did.
We started off thinking we'd just have a drink but we ended up eating lunch and it was the best food we've had yet in Marrakech.
The lamb tagine with plums was delicious, hot, sweet and spicy and melt in your mouth. And the chicken skewers were soft and full of flavour. The mash that came with it was all creamy and devine and so were the sauce and accompanying vegetable dishes. All together with tip and drinks, and bread and olives and coffees, it came to 300 dirhams....about £24 or €30.
The location is great too. You can sit under cover in little cubicles or you can sit in the sun and use the big sun hats you find on the table to keep the sun off your face.
It was all very charming. Service was good too and the menus were in French and well translated English. We'd definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I'd read about this restaurant in a guide book, trying to find it was the tricky part but once we had...oh my days!!
On arrival we were shown to a private cushioned cove and presented with the menu. We ordered tagine (when in Rome) and the chicken skewers. It was promptly bought over, smelled and looked delicious and tasted ever better. The atmosphere is fantastic, especially on hot days, the staff are friendly and the service is very good.
If you choose the skewers make sure you try the mash potato, it's to die for.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse des Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Terrasse des Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrasse des Epices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.