We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointing and unhelpful hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakesh Garden

Save Saved
You added Marrakesh Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marrakesh Garden
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Morecambe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disapointing and unhelpful hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a two centre holiday in Morroco spending 4nights I'm Marrakech and then going to Agadir.We returned to Marrakech and stayed one night in this hotel. It was grim the staff were not helpful or welcoming apart from the receptionist Nadia. We went to the restuarant and asked when they closed 5pm we were told.but when we tried to order food we were told they had one.The next day we were told to wave our room half an hour biofeedback out in a brusque and unfriendly manner.We asked to keep the room longer as we had six hours to wait .We even offered to pay for an extra night but told they were booked up .We could sit by the pool if we wanted. We sat by the pool for six hours and could not help but notice that the hotel was nearly empty. D We were relieved to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a hotel planned for the 12th to the 19th of August 2013 to Marrakech booked with this hotel and pre paid. Everything seemed okay and payment was taken. We found out that are flights would leave the UK at 7pm and would make it hard for us to check in on the 12th. We used booking.com (Please be advised if there is any problems whilst on holiday - they will not help you as they describe themselves as a 'Impartial Booking Agent - Do not use them as they will not help you) after contacting booking.com and making them aware of our flight details, we were told it would not be a problem to book in on the 13th, i mean why would it? as we had already paid for the room.

Having arrived at Marrakesh and staying with friends at a separate hotel, we arrived at this hotel on the 13th to check in. Everything was ok and there was no problems we were shown our room which was in the Jasmin Pavilion Room C34. Now, people looking into a holiday in Morocoo please be advised that the hotel is a 15-20 minute taxi journey out of the centre and you will find not many taxi drivers know there whereabouts of this place. Yes, Shocking i know as this is what is rated as a '4 Star' hotel.

We decided to stay with our friends who were living a lot closer to town with easy access to transport such as a taxi stand directly outside the hotel. Once our friends had left a few days later we decided to use the facilities at the pool which is a considerable amount of time out of Marrakesh. Having got there and walking towards our room, we were approached hurriedly by the security guards who escorted us back to the reception for some reason, which we were not quite sure about. His English language skills were extremely limited and we explained him to that we had checked in and we were going to our rooms so that we could get ready and use the pool. So as he could not understand a word of what we were saying we decided to go to our room.

Having got to our room, Marked C34 and opening it we were truly staggered to find another family in our room. This is something you would probably see in the movies and to our utter disbelief there were children running and playing in the living space. So we went to the reception to address this situation and spoke to the receptionist. This woman was an utter disgrace, completely obnoxious and disrespectful, to the point as if she thought she was a figure of high importance. She spoke to us in french and arabic, which we could not understand and tried to tell us that as we were not in the room they gave our room away. This meant they were making double money out of one reservation. Having argued with her and trying to get evidence of the paperwork, which she hid and was reluctant to give. We contacted booking.com whilst in reception and tried to explain to them the situation which had just unfolded.

Whilst we were doing that, the receptionist contacted the head of house keeping (speaking in arabic) and communicated to her to clean the room and usher the family out so as to try and say there was no one in our room. At this point i broke off from reception to get video evidence and was completely unaware of what the receptionist had said to her head of housekeeping. As soon as i reached the room, the door was wide opened and the family was leaving, and the cleaners were piling into the lift and the room was spotless. Under the circumstances, i tried to get the best video evidence i could in the pressured environment that i was in.

Our security was comprimised and we did not feel safe, as had our personal possessions been there which was money, phones, wallets, passports, ipads etc expensive goods whose know what could happen.

We left the hotel and filed a complaint now the hotel refuse to give us a refund as we did not stay there once, the maximum we stayed for 7 nights was for one hour at the hotel at the reception and filing a complaint. The hotel are now claiming that there was a gas leak in the room and have shredded the documents of our room, and now are quoting us random rooms that we have stayed in. Furthermore, they are now claiming that we tried to bring escorts back late night to the hotel - which yet again is another fabrication - as there is proof of us staying at another hotel in the city.

MY WARNING: Please do not use this hotel as they are crooks in their nature and if you find yourselves in a similar situation you will not have a chance as they will lie through their teeth. Whats more is every time you book a holiday regardless where it is always use a credit card as you will have insurance.

Please be advised the staff are rude and obnoxious and are looking to make easy money, be careful if you stay here i would completely and utterly never recommend this hotel to anyone in my life. And would one day like to see this place shut down as this is a 3rd world country no one cares about what they do and they are willing to everything in their power to make money.

ALSO - never use booking.com as they the agents have been absolutely rubbish, their call centres are around the world and you can not speak to one specific person. Additionally, they will not side with you and they do not help so there is no point in fighting as we have found out.

Whats more , as a company they have even provided us a gift out of a good gesture such as a few nights in a hotel somewhere - which i believe other companies like hotels.com would.

PLEASE BE WARNED THIS HOTEL IS A NO GO!

LEARN FROM OUR MISTAKE.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really nice place to relax and recover from jet lag. It was nice to see people from other countries enjoy it too. I'll return next year when I'm on my next N. African biz trip. The breakfast could be better, but hotel is well priced.

Room Tip: No knowledge of this. Ask the desk person where the best rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Dec/Jan 2012, for 10 nights,
The service was excellent, the staff was so friendly my kids luvd them, we had breakfast included in our stay, and that was delicious, they would bring it to ur room aswell if you wanted,
We are planning to go back in October 2013,
The hotel is just 10 minutes drive from the famous jame el fna, and the medina and souks,
the cleanliness is no problem, the room was cleaned everyday with smiling staff, toilet papers
and towels replaced everyday.
All staff speaks English,
All in all lovely hotel, friendly staff on call 24 hours, they also do excursions which is great x
10/10 that's my score x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a separate lounge/ dining area.

PROS

APARTMENT- Beautiful apartment, perfect for children, huge spacious living area and dining table, leather sofas and flatscreen tv and dvd player. Large clean shower, double sink, 2nd guest wc, superkingsize bed, 2 single beds with space for a large travel cot. Nice big balconies front and back, one with pool views.
washing machine, kettle, toaster.


STAFF- Very helpful, spoke English and were able to arrange transportation.
maid service daily. On request extra towels, iron etc provided immediately.

BREAKFAST - Provided at no extra charge to your room. Good continental breakfast. Helpful catering staff. Further payable snacks available.

WIFI - free in lobby and poolside. Computer also available for use in cafe daytime.

CONS!

Walls soundproofed, ceilings not (like paper!)- we could hear footsteps, chairs, guitar being played, talking. Wouldn't have been so bad if they didn't stay up all night.

LOCATION - No transportation available, you need to walk to Margane every time to catch a taxi or no.12 bus into town. Location is probably 15mins by taxi from the Medina.

Room Tip: If you are travelling off peak request, room where no one is above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was amazing with huge leather sofas, freeview plasma tv, air con and kitchen etc. The grounds were well kept and pretty with a lovely pool. We had 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies, and extra details had been thought of eg a rack for drying clothes, washing machine, etc. It was also great to have the Hypermarche and bus stop nearby. Chedcking out was a little inefficient and time consuming but no problem really.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marrakesh Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakesh Garden

Address: Avenue Abdelkrim El Khettabi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakesh Garden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakesh Garden is a 4 stars hotel opened all year long; it offers you a luxurious environment, apartments of high standard near the palm grove and a few minutes away from the city centre and the main historic sites. Marrakech Garden is a new residential and tourist prestigious complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Marrakesh Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakesh Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.