We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant oasis in MArrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zen House

Save Saved
You added Riad Zen House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Zen House
230, Arset Ben Brahim, Arset Ihiri | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant oasis in MArrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent 3 days in this Riad, located just inside the walls of the Medina. We were 6 adults occupying 4 large and well-appointed rooms, each with its own bath. The Riad is pleasant, there is a great terrace, and it is about 20 min walk to the famous Jemaa al lFna place. Staff was quite helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is much cooler at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had read some of these reviews on tripadvisor and booked ourselves in advance at the Riad Zen. Was not disappointed at all! This is a really pretty hotel, with lovely rooms done in true moroccan style. My sister and I were in Marrakesh for the first time and were a little worried about our safety but this hotel felt very safe. They have a really yummy and unique breakfast spread which was included in our package. The hotel is very well appointed, within the old city walls, which also lend a lot of charm to the place. Special mention to Carla, who helped us with all the info we needed and made this trip what it was! Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a great stay at Riad Zen House, the room was lovely with a huge bathroom, the breakfast was lovely, the service was great and the people there were very friendly. The roof terrace was nice and relaxing, especially on sunny days! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a great holiday in Marrakech made all the better by the great welcome provided at Riad Zen House. Carla, Miloud and the entire staff were so welcoming we immediately felt at home.
The Riad is located just inside the walls of the old city in an area that felt safe. Easy to find and easy to navigate to the main attractions from. The Riad itself is beautiful with stunning rooms (we stayed in the red suite but saw each room as was not busy!) eating areas and sun terrace.
Carla went out of her way to welcome us, explain the local ways and maps, and explain the tours available by Miloud.
We didn't feel pressurised at all but we did do a few trips and found them to be good value.
Food was amazing at the Riad : recommend eating in at least once. Breakfasts gorgeous.

Simply a fabulous stay : we will be returning and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Extremely welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The Riad offers all the amenities that are usually needed to feel good.That feeling of relaxation that we have back home after a hard day can be obtained in the same sense at the Riad Zen House. Of course, much due to Carla,Miloud and the rest of the staff who made us feel at home.Although we have already been in Marrakesh, Carla and Miloud could add more sites to visit because they were always available for us to provide all the information that was needed.All furnished with lovely Moroccan textiles and furniture.For anyone visiting Marrakesh, the Riad is very well located with services nearby like taxis, restaurants and tourist sites to visit.For sure we will be staying here again .... .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the Kahlife Suite at the Riad Zen House for ten days at the beginning of November 2012 and it made our first visit to Morocco an unforgettable experience. The serene and beautiful Riad Zen House is hidden behind a large wooden door amongst the small alleyways of the Medina and it gave us a truly authentic experience. Carla and Miloud made our stay even more memorable as they were very knowledgeable about Marrakech and the surrounding areas and their lovely staff were extremely attentive. The trips organised by the Riad were excellent and thoroughly recommended. We discussed the evening's menu with Carla each day and she provided a wide range of excellent authentice cuisine and was more than happy to advise us on all the options available. We would thoroughly recommend a guide for the first couple of days which really helped acclimatise us to the hustle and bustle of the souks (yes you will get lost !!) and the main square which were easily accessible by foot from the Riad. Bring lots of money if you do plan to visit all the beautiful silver and textile shops you will need it! A trip that we will not forget in a hurry and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kahlife Suite which was very large with a huge bathroom. The only small downside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Zen House Riad is conveniently situated close to Bab Yacout entrance to the Medina with taxis nearby, but it is also easy to walk, via the many narrow streets, to the Souks etc. - an experience not to be missed!! Zen House is very comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful and knowlegeable, nothing is too much trouble and their spoken English is also excellent. This is the very best way to have a really authentic experience of Marrakech and by staying in a riad you get a true feeling of Morroco and the peace and calm of your residence after the frantic excitement of Jemaa El Fna (the main Square both day and night) and the many Souks. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Red Room but each one is similar in size but all have their own unique design
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zen House

Address: 230, Arset Ben Brahim, Arset Ihiri | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Home Away from Home, Riad Zen House is ideally located in the center of Marrakech, inside the fortified walls tucked away in a quiet neighborhood between the Jemma el Fna Square and the Majorelle Gardens in the new city. It is a haven of peace. Carla, Miloud and their team will accompany you throughout your trip making it a memorable one, including organizing the outings you wish to take with our private minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.