We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes & Desert Exploration

Dunes & Desert Exploration
Douar Ouled Messouad | N °100 Bloc C, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 661 539 639
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #33 of 452 activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dunes & Desert organizes half-day or full day activities: quad biking,buggy riding, paragliding, mountain biking, camel riding and a lot more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our kids loved this, as did their parents. Very well organised, good focus on safety, well maintained vehicles and great guides plus the awesome scenery and the fact you are belting through the desert at up to 60kph makes this an excellent day out. The only sour note for me was the follow up email soliciting a 5 star review - not necessary and unprofessional.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    57
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Although on the face of it it had seemed quite expensive (£50), it was in fact very good value for money . 2+ hours driving through interesting scrubland around Marrakech, visiting Berber villages, viewing spectacular scenery and then tea in someone's house. Dusty, bumpy & noisy though the quad driving was, it was definitely worth doing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester, uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Buggys ..fantastic, but miss out the camels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I wasn't looking forward to dune buggying but was trying to keep the rest of the family happy. However this turned out to be one of the highlights of the stay in Marrakech. The guide was really kind and friendly and the trip was fairly scenic for Marrakech. There was a toilet available (European style) at the start /finish point and one available at the stop-off (Morrocan). Also useful to know that there are lockers available. No complaints at all about the experience and would recommend. Five stars awarded by me for this experience...but then 1 star for the camels I am afraid:
On the basis that we had such a great experience with tis company, we then booked the camel riding with them a couple of days later. (We rode camels a few years back in Egypt and had .loved it)

unfortunately I can't think of much good to say about this one. The route was ugly, the camels were extraordinarily uncomfortable, ( my husband actually bailed out halfway and walked back!), and there was none of the friendly and informative interaction at we experienced with the Quad/buggy guide. There were NO Toilets available at any point and no lockers. We actually wondered if it was indeed run by the same company.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A different and unique way to take a quad excursion not too far from Marrakech. The staff was helpful and provided a pre-excursion mini class to teach everyone how to drive a quad. One recommendation: you will get very dirty, so wear long pants and long sleeves, bring or get from them a pair of gloves because the sun is very hot and your hands will get burned !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quadtatsic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This activity is certainly one that all young and old should give a go. I went twice during our brief stay; the price is about right at around £50 for a couple of hours of exhilarating fun. Mo was our guide, he certainly did not let any of the horses get unused and we had a break for pancakes and desert whiskey. There were four of us on my first trip and we opened up the accelerator on a few occasions bringing a smile that never left my face. I have to say quoting Miranda “Such Fun”.
The second trip was however was entwined with a Camel trip as well as Quad biking. All I will say is if you have a choice, leave the Camels at home it was more of a Camel carry than a Camel ride. They were tethered together so close the Camel behind might as well have hitched a ride with me. If he could (assuming a he) we could have had a great conversation. Disappointing; unlike the Quad biking of course, truly recommend it to young and old they vary the pace according to the group.
If you have a choice drop the Camels and have the extra time on the Quads .
“ Such Fun”

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunes & Desert Exploration also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dunes & Desert Exploration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes & Desert Exploration, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.