We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Save Saved
You added Riad Cherrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Cherrata
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Riad in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent 4 nights here and absolutely loved it. It's location is perfect in the Medina and within walking distance of most attractions. Valerie is the perfect host, she greeted us on arrival with mint tea and pastries whilst giving us plenty of useful information about Marrakesh, this also included hand drawn maps and a mobile phone to call her if we had any problems. The Riad is kept very clean and has a wonderfully calming and relaxed feel to it. Breakfasts were delicious with Saadia's home made yoghurt (probably the best I have tasted), fresh orange juice, homemade brioche, pastries, pancakes....all extremely tasty!

I would definitely stay at the Riad Cherrata again, it was a truly wonderful place with a real personal touch. Valerie and her team should be very proud of themselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
154
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech and I am very happy we chose to stay at Riad Cherrata. Valerie greeted us with tea and Moroccan treats, explained how to get around in Marrakech, which is very important if you are visiting for the first time. Very delicious breakfast every morning, beautiful, Moroccan style room, very comfortable and cozy, very clean. Stunning views from the rooftop. Valerie helped us with everything, reservtaions, taxis. She made our first stay in Morocco truly amazing! My husband and I were treated like part of the family. I highly recommend staying at Riad Cherrata!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jadeswiss
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights there. We were welcomed with marrocan tea and sweets. Valerie gave us a local phone and wrote us a map with all useful information. The riad is 7 minutes walking distance from the main square. We felt like home, we could have a huge homemade breakfast on the terrace just the two of us. The room was very clean and nice decorated. We could even relax and sunbath on the roof and enjoy marrocan tea in the afternoon. Valerie give us some excellent advise to go dinner! What we really appreciated, too, was to have the number of Abdou, the trusted taxi driver that we could call anytime from anywhere to pick us up and get back to the riad. We had the feeling that we could anything and Valerie will do her best to realize it. Sadia and the girls were really polite and made our holidays fabolous! We will be back!,,,thank you so much!,,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Riad Cherrata is hidden in a quite side alley close to the main square (about 10 minutes walking distance). We were overwhelmed by the personal service Valerie (the owner) is offering. She even passed us a phone with a local sim card for our person use. Moreover, she has given excellent dinner recommendation with fantastic food, which we enjoyed a lot. The riad is tastefully decorated with high attention to detail. We would definitely come again if we were in town and this is place cannot be beaten. Thanks Valerie & team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, Thankyou Valerie & your lovely staff for taking such good care of my daughter my friend & myself. The three of us can not speak highly enough of the experience we had in Marrakech which was made all the more special by having such lovely accommodation with such a personal touch, Valerie was so very attentive & helpful in guiding & advising us, answering any questions we asked. The food & service was excellent! Lovely quality accommodation, everything you see in the pictures & more. Good location with an easy 10 minute walk into the heart of Jemaa el Fna & the historic souks, etc. Breakfast was excellent, lovely choice & varied from day to day...servings are VERY generous, I find it difficult to eat so much in the mornings...but I did my best...was just sorry to see so much return to the kitchen... ;-). The place is spotless & very well maintained. We stayed for 4 nights all up, next time I would book here again for at least a week. Ecellent experience!!!. Thankyou Valerie xxx

Room Tip: Any room here will be perfect. Riad location is very peaceful & quiet except for the call to pra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stenderup, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There are many beautiful riads in Marrakech - but only one is hosted by Valerie! Valerie and her team make the difference. No other place have we experienced a service like the service offered at Riad Cherrata. You feel personally taken care of, and everything has been thought of. Besides that, the riad is really beautiful, the beds are good, and the standard of cleanliness is high! The breakfast is also really something, most of it homemade. This is the place to stay. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

There was only one problem with our staying at Riad Cherrata.......Not enough days to enjoy such a special place. We had planned a three day stay and I regret the fact that it was not long enough not only to visit Marrakech but also to enjoy the service and the accommodations offered by Valerie and her wonderful team. Impeccable rooms, wonderful breakfast, beautifully done interiors, and the most caring and thoughtful host.... Valerie with all her recommendations (including her hand drawn map), the cell phone She provide us with (That She actually answer when we need her) , Her going out of her way to buy me a set of her beautiful breakfast dishes. Abdue (taxi driver), gentle , sweet man that help us with no understanding of each other language, I'll definitely plan to come back and tell all my friends about Riad Cherrata. Thank you Valerie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.