We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Save Saved
You added Riad Cherrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Cherrata
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“A Treasure in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Riad Cherrata is located in a quite side street in the Medina and within a convenient walking distance of less than 10’ to the central place “Jemaa-el-Fna”. Valérie, the host and owner of the Riad has created a place of great atmosphere. Her personal instructions about Marrakech are certainly of great help for everyone visiting the city for the first time. The rooms are in excellent conditions, air-conditioned clean and comfortable. Wireless LAN is available throughout the building and on the marvelous terrace where you find space to relax and comfortable canvas chairs. Breakfast is either served in the patio or alternatively on the terrace – we preferred the latter and were very positively surprised by the rich breakfast Valérie served us in the late morning. The freshly squeezed juice, the toast brioche from a French bakery, the homemade jams and pancakes were a delight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
150
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We can not praise the Riad and the service we received enough. The location is perfect. The hustle and bustle of Marrakech is not too far yet when you are back at the Riad it is so peaceful and quite that you can just unwind either in your room or on the beautiful terrace. The staff were so attentive to all our needs. We fell in love with all the staff at the Riad. Valerie planned most of our trips and she made sure we got the best deal. Her recommendations for shopping and where to eat were the best. We felt at home once we were back in the Riad and Valerie's hand drawn map and mobile made sure we never got lost and even if we did get lost we were not worried as Valerie's mobile was with us and we knew she was just a phone call away. She only used taxi drivers she trusted which made us feel safe at all times. We really can't fault the Riad and the service we received. In the mornings we were welcomed with fresh home made breakfast which was the best way to start our day. I can't thank Izza enough for always making me english tea after we would come back from a very hot day. If you are looking for a relaxing time combined with making sure you see the best of Marrakech then this is definitely the place to stay. We are hoping to visit Marrakech again and I don't think we would stay anywhere but here.

Room Tip: All the room are comfortable. We tried out 2 rooms as initially we were given a double bed room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Please look no further! We had stayed in Marrakesh in two different Riads and Riad Cherrata left us with the best memories in Morocco. Valerie,the owner, showed her excellent hospitality immediately upon arrival. We were greeted with mint tea and amazing Moroccan cookies. She gave very helpful tips about Marrakesh,directions and places to eat. She even gave us a Moroccan cell phone to use in case we have to call her or make some local calls. We were appalled by her professionalism,hospitality and assistance. Valerie has amazing team that helps her keep her guests very well taken care of. Amazing breakfast,home made,very fresh.Location is great,about 10 minutes walk to the Jemaa el Fna.Valerie suggested us to use hop on off bus,that was a great choise for us to see Marakesh. Riad is very clean,stylish and authentic. Stay here and you will never forget your trip to Marrakesh

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Riad Cherrata is well situated, about a 10 minute walk from the main square.
The breakfasts are fresh and delicious, with huge amounts of breads and pastries and fresh orange juice and yogurts.
The rooms are very basic as you would expect in a riad- no TV, little hanging space, etc, but this is part of the point as you get to relax and go exploring more.
Bathrooms were also good quality with lots of hot water, and the AC is good. Very clean rooms.
One of the best points about the riad is that the owner Valerie will take really good care of you, making sure you know exactly where you are so you don't ever get lost!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Everything about Riad Cherrata makes you feel safe, welcome and at home; perfect when you need a rest from a day out in bustling, busy Marrakech. We would highly recommend staying at the Riad Cherrata, and can only echo the other reviews here by saying that Valerie and her team are the perfect hosts for your trip. Nothing is too much trouble and it truly is service with a smile. We stayed in the Stuck Room, which was a decent size and very clean. The room does look out onto the little street so there is some noise and the early morning call to prayer may wake you up, but that is part of staying in Marrakech. Valerie’s invaluable recommendations, tips and maps make the whole stay enjoyable and we would recommend this Riad to anyone planning a trip to the city. Definitely email in advance and book the hotel transfer. It is about £10 per person and well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We loved it! Valerie, the owner and host, is gracious, extremely helpful, friendly and informative. She takes great care of her guests, making sure they find the Riad, assisting with travel plans, introducing them to good restaurants, and more. Her presence really makes the Riad a special place. The Riad itself is lovingly restored. The ground floor and roof top terraces and calm, relaxing spots to chill after the intensity of the medina. The rooms, on a small and cozy scale, are very tastefully appointed and are clam and soothing- and quiet. Beds are comfy. The breakfasts (we had ours on the terrace) are amazing - wonderful jams, patisseries, pancakes, juice, coffee or tea. The roof top terrace has great views and is perfect for relaxing with its three levels, lounge chairs and The location is ideal for exploring the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

An Oasis of calm amid the crazy world of the medina.

Personal touches mean so much and without doubt it is this and the attention to detail that makes Riad Cherrata was the perfect choice for our first visit to Marrakech.


The ambiance and the service ensure that no matter how crazy things are in the medina you have somewhere tranquil and relaxed to return to.

Both Valérie and Saâdia couldn't have done any more to make us feel at home.

Wonderful breakfast, arranging transfers, helping us plan an itinerary.

You arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend.

Chapeau! It's great to find people who really care about their guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.