We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Save Saved
You added Riad Cherrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Cherrata
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First class hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in the Sabra suite which was beautiful and, like the whole Riad spotlessly clean.

The Riad is definitely a haven of beauty and calm in the midst of the chaos of the Medina! For convenience it would be hard to beat, the famous "square" and the souks are just a few minutes away on foot, however, as mentioned by other guests, the truly outstanding feature of this Riad is Valerie herself, she ensures that each guest has as much or as little attention as they need, and everyone is personally drawn maps by hand by Valerie as she explains each step of the journey you wish to take, you are of course also supplied with the usual tourist information maps as well as a local mobile in case of emergency and a wealth of personal knowledge of the area is yours for the asking.

I would recommend Cherratta to anyone looking for a Riad with panache (as one would expect from a chic French hostess), my only word of caution in an honest review would be that the "call to prayer" from the mosques can be heard early in the morning, having said that, although I heard them every morning, my husband didn't hear them once...!!!.A final word of warning, Friday is the religious day in Morocco and the early morning call to prayer goes on for longer than usual. This is the only downside to actually staying inside the Medina walls, bear in mind that anywhere you stay within the walls you will hear the call to prayer.

The toiletries supplied in the bathroom were so lovely that I "googled" them upon my return to the UK and discovered that they are an expensive and authentic local range with Argan oil.

And finally, the breakfasts are huge! I have certain dietary needs which were accommodated brilliantly.

Room Tip: The Sabra suite is far larger than the others and was excellent value for the lovely room and ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
151
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

... this is simply an amazing place to stay in Marrakech. Already a wonderful city, it was improved no end by Valerie's warm and attentive hospitality; knowledge of the city including hand drawn maps and recommendations; delicious, homemade breakfasts and a calm and cool riad in the midst of the bustle of the medina. We cannot thank Valerie and her team enough - they made our holiday with endless thoughtful touches. This level of service is a rare treat.

Do please book - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fliess
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Riad Cherrata is a haven of calm in the medina. Valerie was so hospitable and helpful, as others have said she spent time drawing us maps, walking us to a nearby restaurant on the first night, booking a hammam and massage for us etc. We also had an evening meal in the Riad which was the best meal we had in Marrakesh, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying. It was our wedding anniversary and Valerie presented us with a small gift of an essential oil that I'd asked her about earlier. These little touches make it truly wonderul place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have never before experienced such great service and attention to detail anywhere in the world. We were so surprised the place was only a 3.5 star! Valerie (the owner) did everything she could to help make our stay comfortable, plus much more. We definitively recommend Riad Cherrata to anybody planning to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I'd recommend staying at the wonderful Riad Cherrata if you're visiting Marrakech. Valerie, who runs the Riad greeted us with mint tea and pastries before taking the time to explain where all the sights are on a map. She then walked us to a nearby restaurant as it was late when we arrived and explained to the owner we would pay tomorrow once we'd changed some sterling. Valerie even provided us with a mobile phone for our entire stay and said we could ring her any time.
The team of staff are always smiling and provided superb fresh baking each day for breakfast. Perfect, 5 star service in a traditional setting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Riad Cherrata over the Easter Week and as most other guests, we had the most unbelievable time! It needs repeating, Valerie is a host like no other! Warm, knowledgeable and always willing to help. Riad Cherrata is truly like a home-away-from-home. The entire building is spotless, with beautifully simple bedrooms and bathrooms. Located just outside the main soukhs, Riad Cherrata provides guests with the tranquility required after a busy day haggling and fighting crowds. Nothing prepares you better for the day ahead than the carbo-loaded feast of breakfast, filled with delicious pastries, preserves and yoghurt freshly prepared by the resident chef.

If you're looking for a riad in Marrakesh, don't consider anything else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Riad Cherrata in March 2013. We chose it because of the fab reviews and they weren't wrong! Valerie is a wonderful host and she really does everything in her power to welcome you and help from the minute you arrive. The Riad is beautifully furnished and kept spotlessly clean, linen changed every day and the breakfasts are truely memorable! Valerie gave us hand drawn maps for making finding our way around easier and a mobile phone for backup. Valerie will book anything from Taxis to restaurants or in our case a trip to the Spa - she deserves all the business she gets because she works so hard to achieve excellence. If we ever visit Marrakech again, we will be staying here as the location is perfect too - just 10 minutes walk to the main square and 10 minutes drive from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.