We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad with a personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Cherrata to your Saves list
Riad Cherrata
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Riad with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'd recommend staying at the wonderful Riad Cherrata if you're visiting Marrakech. Valerie, who runs the Riad greeted us with mint tea and pastries before taking the time to explain where all the sights are on a map. She then walked us to a nearby restaurant as it was late when we arrived and explained to the owner we would pay tomorrow once we'd changed some sterling. Valerie even provided us with a mobile phone for our entire stay and said we could ring her any time.
The team of staff are always smiling and provided superb fresh baking each day for breakfast. Perfect, 5 star service in a traditional setting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
173
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Riad Cherrata over the Easter Week and as most other guests, we had the most unbelievable time! It needs repeating, Valerie is a host like no other! Warm, knowledgeable and always willing to help. Riad Cherrata is truly like a home-away-from-home. The entire building is spotless, with beautifully simple bedrooms and bathrooms. Located just outside the main soukhs, Riad Cherrata provides guests with the tranquility required after a busy day haggling and fighting crowds. Nothing prepares you better for the day ahead than the carbo-loaded feast of breakfast, filled with delicious pastries, preserves and yoghurt freshly prepared by the resident chef.

If you're looking for a riad in Marrakesh, don't consider anything else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Riad Cherrata in March 2013. We chose it because of the fab reviews and they weren't wrong! Valerie is a wonderful host and she really does everything in her power to welcome you and help from the minute you arrive. The Riad is beautifully furnished and kept spotlessly clean, linen changed every day and the breakfasts are truely memorable! Valerie gave us hand drawn maps for making finding our way around easier and a mobile phone for backup. Valerie will book anything from Taxis to restaurants or in our case a trip to the Spa - she deserves all the business she gets because she works so hard to achieve excellence. If we ever visit Marrakech again, we will be staying here as the location is perfect too - just 10 minutes walk to the main square and 10 minutes drive from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went to Marrakech on 15 March 2013 to celebrate my 50th birthday with 6 friends. I chose Riad Cherrata on a friend's recommendation and it was a brilliant choice. This Riad is a little gem! Valerie, the owner, is the perfect host. nothing Is too much trouble for her. We had 3 rooms between us and she gave us 3 mobiles to use so we could stay in touch if we split up as we moved around the city. she had maps with her recommendations, booked taxis and restaurants for us and went iout of her way to make sure we had a good time. Breakfast is a feast, lovely pastries, local yummy yoghurt and freshly squeezed OJ .

She organised a birthday present for me, and was always on hand for us. rooms are lovely, very clean and fresh. Roof top terrace is fab, loungers to relax on and great views over Maarakech towards the Atlas Mountains.

Location is spot on, a 10 minute walk to the main square. Go with her recommendation for a hammam...that was fab!

Room Tip: All rooms were great but ones on the back a little quieter than those on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous 3 night stay at Riad Cherrata. Valerie was our wonderful host and from the minute we arrived to the minute she waved us off in the tax back to the airport she was amazing. Our trip was a birthday celebration. Valerie pulled all the stops out to make sure we had a weekend to remember. The Riad was elegant, peaceful but yet felt like a home from home and was a perfect base to come back to after the hustle and bustle of the souks. I will definitely recommend this Riad and look forward to making a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was wonderful and the breakfasts were fresh, home prepared and big enough to keep you going all day. Valerie was a wonderful host, both making us feel like welcome guests and preparing us for what to expect. One evening, she redefined customer service. We went out for a meal some distance from the Riad and were unprepared for the heavy rain that fell while we were eating. As she knew where we were she brought us some rain gear ! Amazing. The meal Sadia cooked for us one evening was also marvellous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I traveled to Morocco as a single female traveler in Early February, 2013. I had my first night in the Riad Cherrata where I was greeted by Valerie, the loveliest lady who not only provided me with a welcoming smile but mint tea, maps, fantastic recommendations for places to eat and what to see, and even provided me with a cell phone in case I needed some assistance. The rooms were pretty and very clean as was the entire Riad. It had a modern feel to it but still had a very Moroccan vibe. I loved it! I travelled around Morocco for one month and the Riad Cherrata was by far my favourite place that I stayed. It truly felt like home to me...seeing Valerie, Saadia, Izza and Halima in the Riad brought a feeling of calm and comfort to me. I would highly recommend a stay at the Riad Cherrata. It was a highlight of my trip!

Room Tip: I stayed in two separate rooms. I visited the Riad Cherrata on two separate occasions because I lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#40 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#37 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#31 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Nafis
Riad Nafis
#53 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cherrata is ideally located on the edge of the medina, at 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna Square and 8 minutes drive from Golf Amelkis, Golf Royal and Golf Al Maaden... Reachable by car, a car park is available nearby. The sober elegance and a discreet luxury appeal to this little Riad. Everything has been though to make your stay a true pleasant and refined experience : a meticulous decoration, a range of tasty Moroccan Cuisine (on request). You can also savour a traditional mint tea with Moroccan pastries by its refreshing small pool and fountain. THE PATIO This little house privileges intimacy where << Tailor-Made>> is a philosophy. We do wish to answer our guests' desires and make them enjoy the best of our wonderful mythic city of Marrakech. Riad Cherrata is the perfect alliance between the tradition of architecture, noble materials of Morocco and modernity, providing a serene and calm atmosphere. The lounge, the cosy elegant rooms and the three terraces (including one with panoramic view on the Atlas Mountains and Koutoubia Mosque) are such a haven of peace. THE ROOMS Every room is equipped with all modern comfort : Split Air conditioning & heat system, individual safety box, plasma screen TV (on request), and a particular attention was given to the quality of beds. SABRA Junior Suite : Is the largest double room, with a sitting area, located on the first floor (no lift) - Double bed (Baldachin) - Extra bed available - Split air conditioning & heat system - Individual safety box - Bathroom with shower - Hair dryer Decoration combines refinement, comfort and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.