We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Riad Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Save Saved
You added Riad Cherrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Cherrata
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Riad Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My 15 year old daughter and I spent 6 days at the peaceful Riad Cherrata and enjoyed every minute of our stay in Marrakech. The airport transfer arranged by Valerie made for a hassle free start and there were lots of other small extra touches, which added to our enjoyment. The personal welcome, the maps, the restaurant recommendations, the fabulous breakfast, the lovely room which was both spotless and comfortable, the waterproof capes and umbrella we were lent when it rained unexpectedly, the great location, the extra guidebooks we were offered, the mobile just in case we got lost or needed anything .... Nothing was too much trouble, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
137
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a wonderful experience it was staying at Riad Cherrata. Valerie and team went beyond any expected requirements to make our holiday very special. The Riad is beautifully presented, exceptionally clean and what can I say about breakfast besides wow. Coming back after a busy day was so calming, hard to believe it's situated in the heart of the Medina. Valerie helped with transport and bookings, she provided a hand drawn map to ensure we didn't get lost and also a mobile phone. My husband had a birthday while there and we returned to our room to find a gift for him. The little touches just made the stay more special. Valerie arranged our airport transfers for both arrival and departure. She greeted us when we arrived and waved us off when we left, we really felt more than guests. I would highly recommend the Riad Cherrata if you want a wonderful experience and to be made to feel like VIPs at very reasonable prices. Both my husband and I will hold very special memories of our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just came back from long weekend in Marrakech and Riad Cherrata could possibly be the highlight of our short holiday!! It is definitely a haven of calm and relaxation after all the hustle and bustle of the Jema El Fna Square which is only a short 10 minute walk away. Valerie has made sure that we are equipped with maps and mobile phone to help us get around the city. Lots of great tips on where to go for food, sightseeing, etc.. We stayed at the Sabra suite which is a very large room with four poster bed and kept spotlessly clean everyday by Saadi who also looked after us during the stay. We spent our sunday afternoon sun bathing on the roof terrace which was a nice treat. Breakfast were all homemade and rather large! Could never finish all the French-Moroccan bread and pastries which were all delicious. The homemade yogurt was the best yogurt I've ever tasted(not usually a fan of yoghurt) so Valerie have just emailed a copy of the recipe over to me. All in all Riad Cherrata is thoroughly recommended! Would go back anytime--if only they could branch out to another city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This fantastic riad has just 4 rooms so you get excellent (and a very personal) service. The rooms are well appointed and spotless! All are ensuite with an excellent shower, Valérie (the owner) ensures that your trip will be memorable and safe! She gives each customer a local mobile phone so that you can call her if you have any problems whilst on your travels (e.g. if you get lost in the souks!). Every time you want to go somewhere particular she'll draw maps to show the best way of getting there (without getting lost!) or will organise a local taxi from one of her 3 trustworthy contacts (Abdou was great). A huge continental breakfast is part of the price and we challenge anyone to finish it - the homemade yoghurt and jams are a delight (as are the pancakes!). With advance notice you can also have an excellent dinner cooked by (the ever smiling) Saâdia which was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech. All of the staff (Valérie, Saâdia, Izza and Halima) are excellent and very welcoming.
Valérie also helped with organising trips - the highlight of our stay was a day trip to the Atlas mountains - she organised a good English speaking driver (Hussain) who organised an excellent English speaking guide (Omar). Our 3 hour walking trip (good shoes/hiking boots recommended) ended with a great lunch on the terrace of a local hotel, Kasbah du Toubkal, in the village of Imlil - the best view (of the Atlas mountains) that you could possibly have for lunch.
In all we spent 6 nights at the Riad which gave us plenty of time to explore Marrakech and the surrounding area with Valérie's help. The Riad is located in the Medina so great for exploring Marrakech - rather than the new town which is a little sterile. Riad Cherrata is excellent for couples, a small group of friends, or even if you are on your own. We can't think of a better place to stay!
A GREAT BIG THANK YOU TO VALÉRIE, SAÂDIA, IZZA AND HALIMA!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This cosy little riad was fantastic! Right in the heart of the Medina you are close to all of the souks and terraced restaurants and most things are well within walking distance. Valerie, the riad (guest house) proprietor, is nothing short of fantastic! She made sure we had a map and a mobile phone and she also helped to organise all of our activities which included quad biking, a spa evening and a table at a plush restaurant. Breakfast was delicious, all homemade breads, yoghurts, pancakes and pastries. (You can expect to eat a lot of bread in Marrakech). This is definitely a place for couples - married couples especially, as most guest houses will not accommodate non-married couples sharing a room. The pictures and the reviews speak for themselves and are all accurate. I will be recommending Riad Cherrata to all of my friends and family and of course to you guys too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just returned and the hotel and staff were amazing. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main square and souk and is far enough away for it to be very quiet at night. The staff were amazing, we were met by a waiting driver (which was all arranged by the hotel and is highly recommended). On our arrival Valerie gave us maps, a mobile phone and made us aware of all the essential information. We were also given tea and cakes. Our room was amazing ultra clean and the breakfast was brilliant all home made. I can't rate this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were privileged to spend a week in the wonderful Riad Cherrata in the Medina, where service and attention to detail is balanced perfectly with a warm, relaxed atmosphere; a combination that almost all top end hoteliers could only dream of emulating. Valerie's recommendations, maps and guidance during our stay was invaluable in us getting the most from our visit to this extraordinary City, whilst saving us huge amounts of time (a dream for short visits) and probably a fair amount of money on taxis, carriages, excursions, restaurants, shops and souks (seriously worth considering when you settle your bill and contemplate what service to add). The ever present Saadia was so welcoming, even when we knocked on the door at some inhospitable hour following a late dinner at Bagatelle and drinks at Le Comptoir. Her breakfast is a reason to visit Marrakech on its own (eliminated the need for us to stop for lunch). Conclusion: if you need a 'camel leather clad' lift, stay at Mamounia, if not, stay at Riad Cherrata and experience Marrakech as it should be experienced, with a little insider knowledge from Valerie; you can always pop over to Mamounia for a gin and tonic in the gardens. David and Natalie (13th to 21st January 2013).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech
Riad Cherrata Hotel
Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.