We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Save Saved
You added Riad Cherrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Cherrata
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just returned and the hotel and staff were amazing. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main square and souk and is far enough away for it to be very quiet at night. The staff were amazing, we were met by a waiting driver (which was all arranged by the hotel and is highly recommended). On our arrival Valerie gave us maps, a mobile phone and made us aware of all the essential information. We were also given tea and cakes. Our room was amazing ultra clean and the breakfast was brilliant all home made. I can't rate this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
154
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were privileged to spend a week in the wonderful Riad Cherrata in the Medina, where service and attention to detail is balanced perfectly with a warm, relaxed atmosphere; a combination that almost all top end hoteliers could only dream of emulating. Valerie's recommendations, maps and guidance during our stay was invaluable in us getting the most from our visit to this extraordinary City, whilst saving us huge amounts of time (a dream for short visits) and probably a fair amount of money on taxis, carriages, excursions, restaurants, shops and souks (seriously worth considering when you settle your bill and contemplate what service to add). The ever present Saadia was so welcoming, even when we knocked on the door at some inhospitable hour following a late dinner at Bagatelle and drinks at Le Comptoir. Her breakfast is a reason to visit Marrakech on its own (eliminated the need for us to stop for lunch). Conclusion: if you need a 'camel leather clad' lift, stay at Mamounia, if not, stay at Riad Cherrata and experience Marrakech as it should be experienced, with a little insider knowledge from Valerie; you can always pop over to Mamounia for a gin and tonic in the gardens. David and Natalie (13th to 21st January 2013).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Riad Cherrata - As per other posts Valerie was extremely helpful, and very informative - with local information and maps. We were also provided with a mobile incase we got lost, and given local numbers for taxis incase we needed to get around. We were greeted upon arrival and served Mint tea and pastries. We had spoken to Valerie prior to arrival - so she had arranged our airport transfer for us (220Dirham) from door to door - this took the stress out of finding the riad on our own. We stayed in the Maillechort Room - was beautiful clean,modern and comfortable - our only concern was there was no door or privacy from the bedroom to the ensuite - so would leave the room if my husband needed to use the bathroom. Breakfast each morning was hugh but absolutely deliscious - an assortment of Pasteries, Bread, Moroccan/ French Pancakes, home made Yoghurt & Jam.
Riad is centrally located, and a 10 minute walk to the medina /Jemaa El Fna
Would recommend as a place to stay, and will stay there again if we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our stay in Riad Cherrata this past weekend was beyond all expectations. Having read the reviews on here prior to staying we were expecting excellent service, however Valerie went above and boyond to make our stay perfect, she recommended a brilliant spa for our first Hamam experience, suggested some great little restaraunts we could never have found ourselves and even left a card and gift on the bed the evening of my Birthday. I would not hesitate to recommend Riad Cherrata to anybody looking to stay in Marrakech, the location is great just 10mins from Medina the rooms are beautuiful, the breakfast massive and the staff lovely. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask Valerie to arrange transfers from the airport, she can get you a much better price than haggling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the beautiful Riad Cherrata the most welcoming place we have ever stayed. On arrival Valerie sat and spent time with us providing hand drawn maps, good places to eat, a mobile phone should we need her help with anything and recommendations of how to get around - we would have been lost without her invaluable help. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast is a feast of homemade breads and jams, honey drizzled pancakes and homemade yogurt and the evening meal of lamb tagine and six different accompaniments was absolutely superb.The riad is conveniently situated and offers a peaceful haven from the bustle of outside and we would highly recommend it to anyone considering visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Riad Cherrata, and had a wonderful stay at this beautiful welcoming Riad. Valerie is one of the most helpful people I have ever come across, from the moment you enter she provides you with a hand-drawn map, mobile phone and recommendations of how to get around and where may be good to eat. The Riad is an easy 10 minute walk to Jmaa El Fna, it's quiet and tastefully furnished with a comfortable lounge and fireplace downstairs next to the the indoor plunge pool. We stayed in the Sabra suit it is a large room with a luxurious king size bed, lounge suite and a large shower with consistantly hot water.
The morning breakfast is a french/moroccan feast that usually will negate the need for lunch. I would not hesitate in recommending Valeria and Riad Cherrata as the place to stay when you go to Marrakech

Room Tip: The Sabra Suite was extremely quite and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A fantastic Riad in the medina - convenient for Jemaa el fna square and many other sights. Valerie will do anything she can to help you to make the most of your stay. Provides a sanctuary for an authentic Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.