We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcoming place I've ever stayed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Save Saved
You added Riad Cherrata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Cherrata
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Most welcoming place I've ever stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay in Riad Cherrata. Valerie & her team are so welcoming - providing hand-drawn maps, great personal recommendations, a mobile to use whilst in Marrakech & accompanying us to a local restaurant on our first night so we didn't get lost. Saadia's cooking is amazing from homemade croissants/pancakes/local breads & jams for breakfast to a great tagine/local salads in the evening (we booked in advance.) We would definitely recommend to anyone else thinking of staying in Marrakech (and have already done so to some friends.) It's also the first time I've made the effort to write a review on Tripadvisor, because they made such an effort to welcome us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
137
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Riad Cherrata with our two young kids for 5 nights in mid December. We chose this Riad based on TripAdvisor reviews and can't but agree with the previous reviewers on the fantastic service Valerie and her team have offered us!!!! Valerie is an excellent host: she drew us maps to guide us through the city, recommended restaurants and places to visit and even offered to take us to a paediatrician when my son was ill. She provided the kids with toys and DVDs to watch. The Riad's location is very convenient- 10 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna. The room and bathroom were elegant and spotless. There was still plenty of room in the Sabra suite despite having a sofa bed and a cot. Saadiya's breakfasts were fresh and filling. Looking forward to our next visit!!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent place to stay, would recommend for anyone who wants to be in the medina and close to everything but also enjoys a peaceful and relaxing place to sleep at night. Valerie is great - tells you everything you need to know right when you arrive, always giving you tea and water! Excellent and lavish breakfast spread! She gives you a cell phone to use and also called taxis for usand made dinner reservations for us at a few incredible restaurants! Gorgeous and clean rooms in true Moroccan style with a lovely rooftop terrace where we actually spent an afternoon laying out in the sun. Amazing place to stay - cant wait to go back to Riad Cherrata!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My daughter and I traveled to Marrakech in November 2012. We stayed at the Riad Cherrata for 4 nights. It was simply beautiful. Understated elegance. Our room had 2 single beds, was spotless, big, pleanty of storage area. The Bathroom was roomy and there was a Moroccan theme. The owner, Valerie, is a marval. She greeted us upon our arrival with tea and pastries and gave us a thorough understanding of Marrakech. She drew us a map and even gave us a cell phone. Of course, the first evening we got lost in the souks, Valerie came personally to get us. Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast of homemade jams, brioche breads, flatbreads, pancakes, pastries, fruits. More than enought to take us through our days. Valerie arranged a tour guide for us and a taxi driver, mohammed, who patiently drove us all around Marrakech, waiting for us to shop and just be amazed at the things we saw. Valerie never stopped spending time with us making sure that our stay was memorable. She even booked our train trip to Essaquira and got our tickets for us. This woman is awesome and truly special! Thank you Valerie. Thank you Mohammed. Linda and Adrienne

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My daughter and I spent 5 nights at Riad Cherrata and it was absolutely perfect! I had chosen Riad Cherrata based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. I contacted Valerie by email when I booked and she arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport (recommended).

Valerie was at the Riad to greet us and welcomed us with mint tea and lovely Morocaan pastries. She spent time telling us about the sights of Marrakech and recommended restaurants, and other activities which helped make our visit to Marrakech a memorable one. She drew a detailed map for us to ensure we didn't get lost. She even gave us a phone and a list of taxi drivers and their numbers!

Our room was lovely! Quiet. Excellent bed - extremely comfortable! Beautiful bathroom. The rooftop terrace, which offers excellent views of the city and the snowcapped mountains in the distance, is a lovely spot to relax (in warmer weather). There is also a lounge area with a fireplace which was quickly lit whenever we chose to sit and relax after our busy days.

And breakfast really is fantastic. From the homemade breads, jams, pancakes, yogurt and freshly squeezed orange juice to the delicious coffee, it was the BEST meal of the day! Kudos to Saadia who prepared and served it all.

Valerie couldn't do enough to ensure our visit was perfect. She booked and picked up our bus tickets to Essaouira. She booked our visit to the hamam (and drew another detailed map to ensure we found it). She organized taxis whenever one was needed. By the end of our visit, it felt like we were staying with family.

Riad Cherrata is perfectly located within a 10 minute walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa. The route is well lit so even when returning after dinner in the evening we always felt very safe.

I could go on and on but suffice to say, if you are planning a visit to Marrakech, Riad Cherrata is, without a doubt, THE place to stay. I can't wait to return myself!

Thank you Valerie, Saadia and the rest of the Riad Cherrata team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Riad Cherrata.
Valerie made our stay in Marrakesh effortless, drawing maps, booking taxi, hamman and recommending restaurants. The breakfast was delicious and filling, our room comfortable and the terraces a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.
We've only been back a few days and have already recommended the Riad to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at Riad Cherrata; Valerie is wonderful -- was there to welcome us with her handwritten maps and walked us to local restaurant to make sure we had our bearings. She also personally waved goodbye to us as we left in taxi. Staying in the Medina and at a Riad is not my typical experience-- but staying at this Riad with Valerie and her team made it magical. The medina is a wild place, but when you step inside the beautiful wooden door of Cherrata, you are transported to a spot of tranquility. Watching sunset on the roof is magical.

We were in the junior suite-- well equipped, comfortable bed. And the morning breakfast is excellent and educational-- trying all the different breads and jams.

Valerie goes out of her way to ensure that her guests have the best experience. She treats each guest as family.

We highly recommend this Riad. It is also well located-- in the Medina but also very close to edge of Medina too. Overall, a magnificient and magical experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech
Riad Cherrata Hotel
Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Cherrata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.