We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Teranga

Save Saved
You added Riad Teranga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Teranga
Taoula 56, Sidi BenSlimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Mijas, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the moment you walk in you know there is somebody that has that little bit of love for their place. attention to detail, gentle people, helpful and friendly.
It is a little riad in the Medina, and it is perfect for a comfortable bed and it has a pretty patio and roof terrace.
Good wifi throughout - and lovely decor in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Papy made us feel very welcome, safe and relaxed in the Riad. It is a very pretty place, in a typical riad style of the tall house with a central courtyard, which stayed pleasantly cool during the day. Breakfast was served whenever we left our room and while being basic, was a very welcome change to the meat or couscous based foods eaten in the rest of the day.

The rooms were nice, a little dark although this only added to the Moroccan feel. The bath/shower seemed to try and have hot water, although in truth it was always fairly cold. The air conditioning in the room was a lifesaver on a night and for respite during the day.

Papy gave us a map, with directions of how to get into the centre and advised us on taxi prices (knowing a reasonably price makes bargaining a lot easier). Walking to the centre takes around 20-30 minutes, depending on how leisurely you are and how many motorcycles try and run you over! We found that it was best to leave for dinner around 10 minutes after the call to evening prayer, when the streets were much quieter.

The riad is a little hard to find, especially at night. Try and avoid the kids giving you directions (this can be pricey!) and continue on until you reach an entrance to a mosque, with a small washing fountain ahead. The entrance is a large door on the right (keep checking behind) with a small sign. Your taxi will drop you off a couple of hundred metres short of the riad so you will need to walk.

The mosque is very loud, and will wake you up early on a morning for 10 minutes (I don't understand what other reviews are doing to not notice it after a few days!). Annoying, but I suppose part of living in the medina of Marrakech for a few days so best just to go with it!

Definitely recommended for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

What a fab place to stay!
Excellent to get away from the business of the streets.
The staff were fantastic, and very very friendly! We would like to thank Papy for his hospitality!
Other people have mentioned the call of prayer early in the morning, it does wake you up on the first night or two but then you get use to it. It's all part of the culture, so just embrace it! Thats why you holiday in different places, to get a feel for their way of living!
The room was beautiful and had aircon which was much needed in the 44degree heat! Breakfast was made freshly each morning, and there was something new to try each day which was nice!
We would definately recommend as we really enjoyed our stay :)
Thank You!

Room Tip: We chose the Berbere room, great value, on suite, aircon and tv. Couldn't fault it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

On a arrival in Marrakech you are swept into the busy surroundings but when you enter the Riad it is very peaceful. Everyone in the Riad were very helpful and even though our French was non existent ( should have stuck in at school !!!! ) we still managed to communicate. The manager knew enough English to assist and we were made to feel very comfortable here. We cannot rate this highly enough, staff /service were great. You will note from other reviews that there is a call to prayer but that's the culture and after the first day it becomes the norm. We will plan to return some day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

What a surprise. The busy town can be left behind as soon as the door closes and one enters a serenity. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Enough spaces to be comfortable. The fresh orange juice and bread is very welcome. One can even get some cheese (pre-packed yes, but still) and ask for an egg. Good service. Friendly people with good advise.
One doesn't get a key of the house. There is always somebody in to open the door so your stuff is well secured. And yes, there someone singing (or making noise) at early hours, but it is part of that world and the second day you do not hear it anymore.
I will surely return some day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Although this Riad is very clean and the facilities are as described on the website, you will be woken every morning at about 5.40 a.m. by the call to pray by the local Iman in the mosque next door. Very noisy!
The location of the Riad is off the beaten, or even driven, track as it is located in the northern Medina in a maze of side steets and narrow alleys where the visitor can get easily lost. It is not possible to get the taxi within 400m of the front door of the Riad due to the narrowness of the alleys. The first time visitor will need the help of a local to find the front door and there is an expectation that the visitor will have to pay his 'guide' even if he says that the service is free.
As the Riad is located in the northern Medina there are very few foreign visitors in the area and you may feel intimidated; we certainly did at times.
As far as distance from the Souk is concerned the times and distances quoted are about right but be prepared to have to explore the souk to find the easiest way in and out. We found that a local 'taxi petit' was needed to get to and from Jemaa el Fna (main square) and should cost about 20 - 30 MAD.
Talking about taxis, the traveller may also need to be aware that the taxi from and to the airport should cost about 100 - 150 MAD for two people and not the 220 MAD that we had to pay when we got there! Marie in the Riad arranged our return taxi at a cost of 110 MAD.
The staff do not speak English and so visitors need to have a good command of French or Arabic. During our 5 day stay we did not come across any other British visitors at the Riad.
On a more positive note, the continental breakfast was good, the room was cleaned and the bed made every day and we found the bed to be extremely comfortable.
By the way, the cat bites!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

LOCATION
About 10 - 15 mins walk to start of the souks which is probably the most you'd want to be, especially when walking back from the square late at night after a hard days shopping! he plus side of it being slightly further out is that is very peaceful. In fact it was probably the most peaceful place during our whole stay in Marrakech! It is such a crazy city it is great to have somewhere so relaxing to return to at the end of the day.

RIAD
It felt safe, especially as you had to ring the front door bell to get let in. The layout was really good, spacious rooms, lounge area, tv room, breakfast tables in central courtyard. Gorgeous accommodation, very clean and tidy, beautifully decorated...can't rate it high enough - a complete gem! Oh and there's a resident cat - Mr Quincy.

ROOM
We stayed in the Berber Room - €60 per room per night. Huge room, cleaned daily, ensuite wc and walk in shower. The beds were so comfortable...and I'm quite fussy so that's saying something! Despite it being 30 degrees outside the room stayed relatively cool, and there's an air conditioning unit that cools down the room in 5 minutes.

STAFF / SERVICE
Absolutely brilliant staff - breakfast was served whenever we got up. This included a basket of bread roll with a selection of butter, marmalades and jams, mini pancakes and crumpets with tea and juice. Delicious! And even when we were up at 5 am to leave for our return flight we still were served a full breakfast, cant ask for better than that! The owner as most helpful in booking a day trip to the Atlas mountains and arranging pick-ups and drop-offs to and from the airport.

ANY NEGATIVES?
Just the one...the riad was located right next to a speaker which played the prayers out at 5am. A bit of a shock on the first morning!! But that is the only negative about this place...otherwise it is HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Teranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Teranga

Address: Taoula 56, Sidi BenSlimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 169 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Teranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Teranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.