We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stay here.....but read the end of the review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ida Ou Balou

Save Saved
You added Riad Ida Ou Balou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Ida Ou Balou
127, rue Bab Taghzout | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #499 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Just stay here.....but read the end of the review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A brilliant stay in Marrakech, if your looking to stay in a Riad look no further.
The place is clean, has all the facilities you would ever need and the staff are amazing.
Jean-Pierre, a Frenchman is the owner and he will go out of his way to assist, Hashim( my apologies for the spelling)who works there is fantastic, helpful and street wise so he will be able to give you an idea of prices if your going to do some shopping.
I have reviewed a number of places all over the world and this place falls into my top 2 or 3 places to stay. Marrakech can be daunting, especially if your French is poor or non existent but this is somewhere you will enjoy staying.
Read the rest of the reviews of this place, everyone who has stayed here gives positive reviews...I can be a bit pedantic at times, but I rate this place 100%, but if your even more pedantic than I am,you will still rate your stay here very highly.
It is about 15 minutes from the main square, close to the markets....there is bus number 2 that will drop you next to the square, and on the way back 50 metres from the Riad, just get your bearings before you take the bus especially if you don't speak French.
The Riad is in a very working class area of Marrakech. It's fine I felt totally safe here.
However if you want to see a sanitised, pasteurised version of Morocco this place may not be for you. This is a working class area with all the life, the passion and the character of the Moroccan people.....if you want to see and experience the pulse and life of the real Morocco outside your door, stay here. If you want the sanitised version stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at this Riad and our host Jean-Pierre was most helpful and courteous, as was his staff. My grandson loved to play with the cats and kittens too. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable - so quiet amid the bustle and activity of Marrakech. Mint tea provided was so refreshing and the evening meal is to be recommended. Altogether a lovely experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very friendly, helpfull staff, perfect location in the medina. Although on a busy square, inside your room and on the great roof terrace there is no noise. Perfect spot to stay in Marrakech. The first time you go there it might me hard to find on your own. Google maps will help you out (when you're walking, not by car). The airport pick-up we used was very comfortable and not expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this riad, the first time was during our honeymoon back in April 2012 and we enjoyed our stay so much we promised to return. Jean-Pierre, his staff and the cats make this riad what it is, a relaxing and tranquil place to stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. Although it is not in a tourist area you benefit from seeing "the real" Marrakesh and it is only a short walk to the medina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Initially, we were only booked to stay here for 3 nights, but after enjoying the Riad so much we extend our stay. The location is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

The staff went above and beyond, even taking us on an orientation walk through to the main square via the Souks. No request was too much and the staff were always friendly and attentive. We felt like we were at home.

This place is a must stay for those wanting an authentic taste of Marrakech with a quiet haven to come home to!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijeveen, Drenthe, Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very nicely furnished, small hotel, with extremely helpful owner and staff, french and english speaking. Good breakfast, great dinner (to be ordered in the morning). Very nice location in non-touristic area, with very friendly inhabitants (also for women), great to enjoy the real Marrakshi daily life! Very quiet in the night, though. Main touristic sights are on walking distance, but there's a very good public bus-connection or cheap taxis. There's enough to be seen in Marrakesh and surroundings to stay at least one week!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We are just back from our holliday and stayed for 10 days in this nice small riad. The service coudn't be better. We ate our breakfast there every day which was OK. The dinner we had for several times was very good. Hafida, was the woman who cooked the delicious traditional dinners in this riad for a low price( €10 to €15 pp). Sophiane was the host of this riad and helped us with all kinds of things like arranging excursions, serving the breakfast and dinner etc. All things we asked were possible. He always tried to help us out. We stayed in the Sahara room with a double bed, TV and shower and airco. The room was big enough and looked very romantic. The room was cleaned every day and if you needed a clean towel you only had to ask. The bathroom wich looked very nice was small but OK.
Before showering you had to turn a red switch to get hot water. The riad has a nice roofterrace with sunbeds but during the day it was too hot to stay there. It has no swimmingpool which was no problem for us. Because of Ramadan it was noisy on the street at night till 4 o'clock in the morning. But this is only during Ramadan. The riad is located in the Medina about 15 minutes walk to the Djema el Fna square. But it took us a week to find the way because you easily get lost. You can always take a taxi for about 20 to 25 Dirhams.

Room Tip: The Sahara room has a TV and a window and a good bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ida Ou Balou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ida Ou Balou

Address: 127, rue Bab Taghzout | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Ida Ou Balou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ida Ou Balou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.