We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very friendly & attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Zone Touristiqur Agdal Lots 18 | Avenue Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #737 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very friendly & attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

"We had already had 5 nights stay in a Riad within the medina so booked Zalagh Kasbah hotel to relax for the last couple of days on a half board basis.
The hotel communal areas were quite grand are nicely furnished with moroccan features, the staff spoke english & were attentive. Our room (#2010) had comfortable bedding, a good shower and balcony overlooking the pool. The one downside was that the room above was quite noisy late at night - although this was not the fault of the hotel/staff I suspect that because many of the surfaces are tiled the noise traveled alot more as there isn't anything to absorb the sounds!
Breakfast was the usual continental & we found it to be adequate, the evening meal was buffet style - not very exciting and the hot food was not very hot. Drinks could be quite expensive at about £3 for a small bottle of beer & almost £5 a glass of wine.
The hotel is about a five minute taxi ride from jemma n fna but there is a free shuttle bus to/from the hotel every couple of hours. Carrefour & Almezar shopping centre with nice fashion shops & lots of eateries are an easy 5 minute stroll (we bought some nice bottles of Rose wine to drink on the hotel balcony for about 38 drms roughly £3 at the carrefour)."
The hotel staff are happy to organise any excursions to the dessert or mountains as well as other daytrips.
Don't think the spa is open yet as there seems to be some work in progress.
"Haggle for everything!!
taxi drivers asked for about 100 dirhams to the square we never paid anymore than 30 dirhams (less than £3).
We paid 50 dirhams from the hotel to the airport!!
Prepare yourself for the queues at passport control when entering & departing. The airport pretty much keep you in the dark if the flights are delayed - our flight was delayed more than 2 hours but there was nothing on the departure boards to indicate the delay & the airport staff told us nothing until 15 minutes before our aircraft arrived."

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    127
    110
    44
    39
See reviews for
60
158
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Just got back from this hotel after a 7 night stay. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. The staff are polite enough, however communication in english can be somewhat difficult.
Food was not very good, and can be described as basic. We only ate at the hotel on two occasions, it doesn't appear to have a proper qualified chef or cooks, on one occasion we waited for 1 hour and 10 mins for a tuna sandwich!.
The Spa is not finished and the location is not too far from the centre of Medina (10 min taxi ride) which we found as a positive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We agree with all the other reviews of this hotel - it was a bit far out from the centre but after our hectic tour of part of Morocco we were happy enough to relax on the balcony in our spare time.

We used the computer to read our e-mails and sent two one-line replies which never got to their destination - luckily they were not important.

On our last but one day we happened to mention that we were cold in our room (the result of sitting on the balcony too long !) to a smartly dressed man who was explaining the computer keyboard to us and when we returned after our evening meal we found an extra heater had been placed in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecina, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for on the first night and on the last 2 nights of our stay in Morocco and its desert. The hotel is new and the rooms are very well furnished. The pool area is very nice and relaxing. I am not sure about the Spa, as I didn't look for it. Like many other hotels, this one is not close to the center of Marrakech, but about 3-4 km outside. It costs around 20 dirham (2 Euros) to get into the center with a mini-taxi. close by (10-15 minutes walk) is a new shopping center as well as a big carrefour supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed in this hotel as part of a Cosmos tour. I work for www.globalcoachtours.com and sell the 10 day version of this tour. Our group of agents stayed 2 nights. If you buy this tour it's the start and end hotel.

Excellent first impression continued to the room which was quiet and very comfortable. Balcony overlooked the pool which I actually swam in on 3rd December. It was VERY cold.

Free wifi in the lobby and one PC to use. AZERTY keyboard made typing very difficult for westerners used to QUERTY.

Very good breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Bar had only white wine - barman said they'd run out of red and rose, but the restaurant had some.

Bathroom was new, but shaving mirror had been fitted off kilter. One of the towel rails was far too high for people under 5' 6" to reach. Standard of grouting in Morocco is 'just slap it on'. A little more effort would make the place amazing.

It's a little out of town, but if you pay much less than a central hotel there is a shuttle and taxis are only 60 MAD (dirhams) - about $6 / GBP4.50

Spa on the way, but not yet

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this hotel at the beginning and end of our group touring holiday in Morocco.

pros:
- new hotel, spacious well furnished rooms
- nice balcony in the rooms overlooking the swimming pool
- close to a shopping mall - pleasant walk on the promenade during the evenings

cons:
- no spa (despite the name). so we went to another nearby hotel for a hamman and treatment - but paid far too much for the quality
- a distance from the city centre medina (and the shuttle does not stick to the allocated times)
- kitchen and dining room looks like it's still under construction
- staff seem inexperienced and don't speak English

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed here as part of a tour group at beginning of tour, and then again at end. Stayed at 4 other Moroccan hotels in between, and what a relief to get back here where everything works! And great private balcony for each room overlooking pool.

The hotel is still quite new so everything is clean, working and looks good. Fantastic swimming pool in the centre - the best of the hotels we stayed at. Very attentive man brings you towel within minutes of you sitting on a lounger or looking at the pool!

Good breakfast, but would find an alternative for evening meal as the buffet was not great. TGI Fridays 10 minutes walk away but some great Moroccan restaurants within minutes by taxi.

We then extended by 2 nights but in a traditional riad near the centre, which is my preference. But if you are looking for clean relaxing modern hotel with a good pool, this is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Charming, Pool...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#248 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
#301 of 461 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Luxury, Free Br...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#340 of 461 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Charmin...
Show More
4.6 mi away
Tichka Hotel
Tichka Hotel
#317 of 461 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Pool, Luxury, F...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#247 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Quiet, Pool, Lu...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#321 of 461 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Address: Zone Touristiqur Agdal Lots 18 | Avenue Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #737 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.