We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Zone Touristiqur Agdal Lots 18 | Avenue Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #742 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends in March 2013. The hotel is nice and you get exactly what you pay for. It has all the basics you could need, the rooms are clean and bathrooms have hot water and are cleaned daily. The rooms are spacious enough and we had a pool room view which was lovely. The pool was too cold for us to use in March but it was lovely weather to soak up the sun. The hotel does have a spa attached to it, but you have to pay to use it. It’s very pricey but it does add a little taste of luxury to your visit if you use the heated pool and Jacuzzi. I would strongly advise against getting any kind of treatment at this spa, we paid to have a hamman and it was a little short of a shower in a warm cubicle. We went for a proper Hamman at a proper Moroccan spa and it was well worth every Dirham, the hotel reception can offer you some options but you won’t be disappointed going to the Mythic Oriental Spa located in the heart of the souks. When changing money if you can, change the majority of your money on arrival at the airport. It’s definitely the best rate but it only makes a few pounds difference if you want to change money up as you need it at the hotel every day. We stayed half board; breakfast was nice they have a great selection of food to every ones taste. We only had lunch once, and I would recommend you don’t opt for this as it’s usually the same set menu every day and you can tell it’s been sitting out for a few hours. Overall, the hotel it’s nice and you won’t be disappointed if you don’t expect too much, it has everything you need to enjoy the city and sun.

Room Tip: Ask for Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    144
    131
    46
    44
See reviews for
71
174
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are basic and clean and are of good size.The staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem,they tried to speak and understand english.Marrakech itself was a let down a lot of the culture was missing all they wanted was money for everything ,even in the large square in the centre it was all hastle trying to drag you into the Souks,all selling the same things we were both dissapointed and we expected more ,we went with to high expectations

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The accommodation was fine but if have half board treat it as a freebie and use when necessary.
The food varied a lot ,salads were good but not always sure what was vegetarian. When they were not busy the staff were accommodating.
Located handy for airport. Main criticism beds were rock hard and we both had to resort to lying on folded duvets as woke up with very painful backs.
The Free city trip was interesting but be warned if you have mobility issues it involved a lot of walking. We went on a trip into the Atlas mountains which was beautiful and had a very pleasant lunch by a river.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the pool and ask if any of the beds are softer than others. Email to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overall an average hotel. Spa has nice facilities, however hammam is disappointing and would recommend going elsewhere for a authentic hammam.
Communication was difficult with the staff when asked to ring up a few local spas to book in with little knowledge on good recommendations.
The pool area is clean and couldn't ask more for a relaxing few hours by the pool.
Be warned bringing food from outside the hotel is a no no.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

By hubby and I stayed here in December 2012 for four nights. The hotel itself is quite however we were woken up every morning before 8am to the sound of the cleaners banging around and shouting to each other in the hallways. Also, there's no carpet in the hall ways so the cleaners make a lot of noise wheeling around their cleaning trollies which was very annoying. The hotel was fine especially for what we paid for it but the service was by far the worst we've ever experienced. We were not too worried when we discovered that most of the staff spoke little or no English but it was the way that dealt with the English in particular that really annoyed us. At times we were ignored at the reception desk for a few minutes whilst the staff stood around chatting and then a French speaking tourist would approach the counter and then they would be served first. Very annoying!!

The staff working on the reception at the spa were also very rude and laughed in my face when I attempted to book a treatment whilst speaking English. Again, they couldn't speak English so I gave up in the end!

Location is good although we'd try and stay closer to the medina if we went again. This hotel is fine if it's cheap but if you are looking for luxury this isn't it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Courteous and friendly and very helpful staff. Clean and well tended room and buffet breakfast, occasional buffet lunch and buffet evening meals were absolutely fine. Good choice of cuisine, excellent lamb and chicken dishes, fresh orange juice to die for and wonderful salad bar.

Sad that boiling water for their Liptons tea bags couldn't be achieved but hey, the only gripe, and the coffee's always on the menu at breakfast anyway.

Free wifi in our room ( and all rooms probably ! ) and a free internet point in the main lobby area on their computer too.

Good weather helped but go careful as you immerse yourself in the ever so inviting outside pool, it's wonderful but oh so damnably cold, takes your breath away ( which you never recover from ) believe me, the coldest pool I've ever experienced, probably coz of the high'ish altitude I guess ! But so well tended by a happy and attentive poolside guy who really takes his job seriously and moves sunbeds and shades around to help you keep cool or hot as you wish.

Didn't use the indoor pool or the free hamman but did take advantage of the hotel's shuttle bus service into the city centre where the souk experiences are challenging. Night time at the main city square is an experience where you can eat alfresco at market stalls stools set up for the evenings alone ........... and their food was no where near as good as the hotel's which quite surpassed my expectations.

Well done Zalagh, I'd certainly return........... I'd been meaning to travel to Marrakech for about 30 years, having travelled the world over ( on holidays ) ......... not sure there's much to attract me back personally but if I was to return I would certainly stay at the Zalagh again.

Well done you guys.

Room Tip: we had a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool and gardens and that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great trip: flights fine [Easyjet]; transfers excellent [Atlas Riders]; hotel good in parts [Zalagh Kasbar]. Hotel looks good from the outside and lives up to that on the inside. It is spotlessly clean inside and the pool/garden areas are equally well-maintained, the staff are friendly and hard-working. The bar and lounge[s] are a welcome retreat and the shuttle bus is a real Godsend. Safes are free but aircon not active until April [the start of their summer]
So why not 5*?
Essentially the food is a big let-down. The range is limited [in comparison with other hotels we have stayed at recently]. More importantly the dining room is woefully unorganised rather than being disorganised. The lighting is too low, the food is warm, not hot, soups are bland, salads uninteresting and both the main courses and desserts too limited in choice. It's all rather unappetising. Meat dishes are either from low cost cuts or improperly cooked and tepid. Fish dishes are always battered. Croquettes were soft rather than firm and crispy, pasta offerings have watery, tasteless sauces - and no, they aren't all available every night. Dishes [and plates, too!] are regularly unavailable and slow at being replenished; the water for tea is lukewarm; even the coffee ran out and was not refilled for an age. The food is simply uninspiring and never an occasion to look forward to: you eat because you must. I recommend B&B and eat out which we eventuually did. On this basis the hotel might warrant a 5* rating.
The day trip with Atlas Riders to the High Atlas, arranged by Ahmed, was wonderful and can be fully recommended. Marrakech can be sampled as a taster for a few days but you will miss so much. Better plan a return or go for a longer break in the first place. Morrocans have an easy manner; not once did we experience any rudeness, intimidation or agression quite the reverse. Plenty of hassle and bargaining in the markets but that's what you come here for, surely. Even in the midst of bargaining there's that easy smile and a twinkling eye. Safe, secure, interesting, different, enchanting - and hot!
The small taxis are plentiful and cheap 50-60 Dirhams from Jemaa El Fna. This is the centre of everything and an experience not to be missed. Le Grand Balcon Glacier provides a terrific view as does Le Restaurant & Cafe de France. A coffee and lounge in the sun well worth the meagre cost. Eat in the square at night for a wonderful, cheap and unforgettable experience. The souks are magical; guides are not essential but don't panic if you can't easily find an exit, there are many to choose from and you won't get lost. The Kasbar is well worth the stroll from the square: different and less touristy. Visit the Saadian tombs and the Bahai whilst here. A trip to Nouveau Ville is an interesting diversion - it's amazing how two so very different places can co-exist so closely together.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor facing West for an uninterrupted view of the High Atlas mountains - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Address: Zone Touristiqur Agdal Lots 18 | Avenue Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #742 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.