We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Zone Touristiqur Agdal Lots 18 | Avenue Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #731 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I guess when you opt for half board in cities that are saturated with hotels and popular with tourists, that you cant afford to be too picky? We stayed four nights in the second week of Dec.

Negatives
Bedroom- Wardrobes were dusty and bathtub sink seemed blocked. We complained the first morning after we arrived and nothing was done about it.
Breakfast is continental which in itself would be fine but there was not meat, the cheese was dry, croissants too dark/crispy. There was boiled and scrambled eggs each day.
Dinner was a disappointment. There was often soup, as well as a meat and fish dish, Salads seemed to be recycled from each day.
You have to pay 60D for use of the indoor pool and jacuzzi and that is only for 30 mins- as a result there was hardly anyone there. Shame as in the winter it is too cold to swim outside.
We did the City tour and were taken into what we were told was the largest pharmacy in Marrakesh. Well, you are given a 40 mins or so demonstration on herbs/essential oils etc and given bags to purchase goods. dont be forced into buying as you can get products for three times less that the prices they quote. I bought my Argan oil from a women's cooperative whilst on the Ourika Valley tour. Liked the valley tour as we were at least given the option on which shops etc we wanted to stop at. Ibrahim the tour guide was also very chatty and you learn alot about Morrocco and its people in general.
Beware of taxi drivers trying to rip you off ask at the hotel what a reasonable price is to pay and then haggle.
Lots of cats all over Marrakesh, if you dont like them then dont come here!

Positives
Price
Location
Smiley, helpful waiting staff
There is free wifi and a desktop by reception you can use.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor and rooms were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    144
    125
    46
    43
See reviews for
68
172
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day trip which my wife booked via secret escapes (travel agent: Fleetway Travel). As some people do, I researched this hotel and Marrakech in the weeks leading to the trip through TA and other sites & was somewhat concerned over some of the reviews. But we had already booked so had no choice but to hope for the best. To be honest, the hotel was not bad at all. The staff were really friendly and helpful in general. Ask for a pool facing room.
We did however have a free hamman as part of our deal, but the steam room was not very 'steamy' and the balck soap was just some oil with no exfoliating bits, the jacuzzi was cold so I would recommend having a spa experience somewhere else. The Spa staff were not very attentative.
Food is very average, but we ate out most of the time (one night we went to Comptoir Darna Restaurant (avearge food but made u witht he fantastic belly dancing show), and a couple of times we ate at Al Mazaar).
There is free WiFi which only seems to work in the foyer, but there is a complimentary PC in the foyer connected to Internet which you can use at your leisure. Make sure the keyboard is set to Francais as the qwerty set up is different to UK.
Check out is at 12, but you can leave you baggage at the hotel if your transfer is later.
There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to the Medina around 6 times a day and it stops off outside Hotel Tazi, which is the same location for the return shuttle.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Spent four nights at the Zalagh Kasbah Hotel as part of a deal which was too good to turn down. The reception area is impressive as is the view through to the pool area. Unfortunately, the rooms that we had didn't match that standard. Yes, they were clean and everything worked, but they are somewhat spartan, even if the twin beds were very comfortable. We were on a half board basis and the food was tasty, even if the presentation and coordination was a little lacking. We found the staff in reception and in the dining areas to be friendly and helpful. Nothing really to complain about, especially considering what we paid for our stay, but I'd say that calling this a 4* hotel is stretching it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have just arrived back from this 4 star hotel, sorry at best lower end of 3 star, room's clean but need a make over, broken toilet, sink, when reporting staff at desk cannotunderstand english and look at you blankly, so you give up. Staff in general were unhelpful and rude, if your unlucky enough to be on half board basis you are in trouble, food absolutely awful, we gave up eating dinner at the hotel after 2 nights, it was tastleless and to compound matters it was luke warm, other people at the hotel with us were getting staff to reheat in the microwave, it was genually horrible food. We made the decission to eat out every night, the new city as great restaurants to eat at, but cost around £60 ahead. I knew it was off season but expected a bit more then a very expensive bar, Buy your wine at the local supermarket ( off license shuts at 8pm) as the charge you 5 times as much for the same wine at the hotel. Pool looked lovely but it was so cold you could only stay in it for 2 minutes max and if you wanted to use the spa facilities it was 60 dirhams for 30 minutes. Marrakech itself is a lovely place to visit and the other couples and people we met while on holiday made the trip, but if possible avoid this hotel at all costs!

Room Tip: If using the hotel have a ground floor facing room, easy access in to your room for cold drinks etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I travelled to Marrakech with my five girlfriends for a pre Christmas break. The Hotel had mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. We found the Hotel reception staff very helpful and accomodating, however the same cannot be said of the Spa staff who were very abrupt and unfriendly. The rooms were very cold, we asked four times before we finally got a heater. The meals are not of high quality and are left to stand to get cold, warmed only with candle heaters. Myself and a friend became ill on holiday with gastroenteritis. I would not hurry back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms over the reception are rather noisy. Try and choose a room at the end of the hotel to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Zalagh Kasbah from 27th Nov to 4th Dec 2012. For the little we paid we really couldn't complain. The room was a good size with the balcony overlooking the pool. The lobby areas are a good size and the mint tea was lovely. The food available on the half board deal was not great but fine if you are not interested in exploring the area. We ate out most nights and the places I would suggest you try are The Red Sun, 5 minutes walk away, a japanese inspired place, really lovely. Jana, next door to Red Sun, it is traditional Morroccan restaurant designed like a riad, lovely setting and delicious food. The hotel Ceaser next to our hotel is modern, clean and serves tasty traditional meals. We also ate in a small Riad near the Medina called Riad Oman, its difficult to find but does a really good set meal for 180 dirhams, starter, mains and dessert with drinks and mint tea. Go out and do the day trips on offer, Ouzoud Waterfalls were great, even the monkeys stealing our food! Essaiuria is a must do trip, seafood lunch at Fanatic was brilliant and so unexpected. We also did a camel ride including scrfs and afternoon tea at a berber house, great experience all round!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This Hotel exceeded our expectations from some of the other reviews I have read about it on here. We booked a 4 night Half board experience at the Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa 4* in November. The hotel staff were so helpful they could not do enough, they have a great shop their which has great gifts from Kaftans, to leather shoes and they have a wonderful man who handcrafts beautiful silver and brass items, who will also personalise them for you.
The hotel offers a bus from the hotel to La Medina and it runs at set times and will pick you back up when you want to return. The hotel can taylor trips to suit if you wish to explore Marrakech further, otherwise just relax and enjoy the beautiful pool side settings. The helpful friendly staff in this hotel make the stay worth while as they can not do enough to help. Perfect place to stay for families, couples and single travellers as there are alwasy people around to talk which was nice.
The Spa is relaxing and offers a wide range of treatments. The Food is good and there is a wide variety of things that kids and adults will enjoy. The decor and setting of the hotel is beautiful and I would return to this hotel for a luxurious relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Address: Zone Touristiqur Agdal Lots 18 | Avenue Mohamed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #731 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.