We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Targa & Resort

Save Saved
You added Atlas Targa & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlas Targa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Douar Bouchareb Targa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is nice enough, you cant complain at the look at all. Modern looking, rooms are nice. The cleaners only seem to make the bed and give you new towels thats about it however and some new soaps. The staff do speak english but its nice to try speak some french when you can. Please, thank you's etc or when ordering beer.The club guys do try to say hello and stuff but don't bother to much with you as it is very much more catered for the French speaking. The english are a minority and it shows.

You are only allowed 2 drinks at a time though the french seem to be an expectation to this rule and they often "run out" of beer or some spirits eventually. Personally no thats a lie. It is very much regulated that they allocated so much alcohol per day so they are going to tell you there is no more etc, then the following day at 10am more has just appeared? i think not.

It is great getting a bottle of water in your room when you arrive but that is it you get no more, you are not allowed to fill up a bottle from the water dispenser it has to be in a cup every single time, again a type of way to try and regulate consumption and overall keep their costs lower.

The food is ok not kept very warm at times unless you dive straight in at 7.30am 12.30pm and 7.30pm otherwise it will be going cold. They have a little snack thing at 4pm to keep you going between lunch and dinner but that is it really as well.

As a whole when you look at these faults you think well I paid £350 flights, hotel, 7 days I am getting what I paid for however i went to Cuba for 14 days £800 and got beer 24/7 food 24/7 water every day in our room etc... If you want a cheap holiday then I wouldnt complain to much at the service you get but I wouldn't recommend the hotel as a whole, I am sure there are much better all inclusive ones at the same price/ a small amount more

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    243
    156
    94
    67
See reviews for
265
193
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We came here as we got such a good deal and having been Marrakech before without the kids we thought returning would be good for them to see a different culture. We are a family if 5 so we needed two room. We got ones next door to each other on the ground floor in a quiet part of the hotel. The rooms were clean and functional with great hot powerful showers, a fridge and a hair dryer. The pools were good fun. There was always loads of loungers. Only gripe is they didn't have enough parasols. They did get some new ones when we were there but still not enough. When it got super hot there was nowhere to hide!
The staff were a mixed bag 90% of them were friendly with10% bring aloof and grumpy. The courtesy bus was a godsend so you could investigate the souks in the medina. We used the spa for massages 4 times. They were mixed also and the staff were not very friendly. They overcharged my husband for his massage. When I went back to complain and get my money back I had a 20 min argued with the receptionist and with me advising I was going to get the general manager she capitulated and gave me my money back. It left a sour taste in my mouth so although my husband returned I did not. The food was actually better than I thought it might be after reading reviews. They are a bit tight on water and drinks etc but as I said to my husband that if they weren't people would take advantage and they could not keep the prices low. For £1600 for a family of 5 to get flights, food and accommodation for a week in the summer is good value. You do have to fork out for ice creams tho so not quite all inclusive. I would recommend this hotel for a cheap 4* hotel that the kids will like and you will find clean and good value. My only other wee gripe is the loud music at the pool all day but if you go up to the square pool near the flukes it is much less intrusive.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My friend and I booked an all inclusive holiday via Travel Zoo to this hotel. I have not booked a holiday through the internet before and have not done all inclusive, therefore, I was quite dubious about the quality etc. The price was so good, I thought there must be a catch, even though I did go on Tripadvisor first, and the reviews were mainly good. My friend and I had one of the best holidays ever. The hotel is modern and spacious. We arrived late and thought we would not get anything to eat, which we were not too worried about. However, we were given a three course meal with drinks and then went to our rooms. The room was a twin with ensuite. It was spacious and very clean and comfortable, with a.c. We had a free safe for our valuables and plenty of wardrobe space.

There are two pools, one with water slides for the children, tennis and volley courts. There were clubs for dancing, fitness, kiddies, evening entertainment and two indoor bars and one outdoor. Drinks were available all day up to 11 pm at night, longer in the paying bar. There is a large dining room and outside tables with the most amazing food, laid out like a banquet three times a day. I have never eaten so healthily on holiday before. All the staff were professional, polite and unassuming. They all wore clean smart uniforms and were extremely polite.

The main language is French, as this is a french and arabic speaking nation. If you speak a little French it helps, but the staff are very good at speaking English. The entertainment team are made up of 5 young men and 1 young lady. They worked very hard to keep the children and adults entertained and happy.

There is plenty of room to do your own thing, or join in things if you wish. There is a free shuttle bus service into Marrakech every 2 hours and we had a free guide around the Souks on the first day. The grounds are kept immacuately and the linen and towels were changed every day.

We had a rep meet us the first day to arrange any trips we liked, and we went to Essouira, Atlas Mountains, Majorelle Gardens and a City tour, all for a very reasonable price. Two of these days trips had lunch included.

The weather in mid June ranged from mid 30's to mid 40's, with hardly any humidity. Our tour guides were some of the most delightful young men you could wish to meet. We met some other really nice English people, and it was nice not to be embarrassed to be English for once.

If I had to make any negative comments, and some people did of course, it would be that one of the reception staff was not that helpful and I think they should invest in a few more spoons in the dining room.

We will definitely be going back to this hotel again, and will be doing all the things we did not have time to do last time.

Thank you so much for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: I think we had 2014, on the ground floor with a balconly overlooking a lawn. It was a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Have been to Marrakech lots of times but this Hotel is simply not the best.rooms quite nice towels are disgusting would use them to wash the floor,also they smelt stale.then we come to the restaurant well food terrible food counter dirty from night before.chief didn't know how to fry eggs was also very rude,dirty pans. some of the food would be dressed up again for next meal if wasn't eaten at breakfast yuck! next thing cracked china,food put into serving dishes with huge crack down the middle.had to always serch for clean uncracked plates.breakfast was supposed to start at 7-30,but chiefs did'nt start untill 8 they would not start cooking untill they had finished talking to the staff.feel this hotel will be closed unless its put under new management.only one bar open in the daytime serving drinks if you could stand the files and wasps buzzing around the overflowing bins yuck again.i could go on and on.but i certainly would not recommend this hotel.some staff where lovely but most very rude!!!!

Room Tip: Didn't get the room we should have had,so be certain to sort it before your given the key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Arrived at the Atlas Targa just before 11pm on 24th June (delayed by French air traffic controllers) to find that there was no chance of getting anything to eat and that if we wanted a drink we had to buy it. We went to our room which was of decent size and quite clean only to find it had only been set up for 2 instead of the 3 which we had paid for. The room had a fridge which was empty with no sign of the mini bar which was advertised. In the morning it took several attempts with reception to try and get our room set up for 3 and it was only after the intervention of the rep that anything was done. We discovered that other newcomers had no fridge or were given a complimentry bottle of water on arrival but this was hit and miss. When we queried this with Reception we were told that we had to buy our water from the shop and it was the maids responsibility to put water in the rooms of new arrivals.

The Restaurant was an eye opener with first trying to find a plate that was not cracked, trying to find a spoon for making tea and eating cereal and finally asking for a glass for juice. The food was running out at 9am and we asked for some butter and jam as there was very little left in the pots. It took 2 of the restaurant male staff 10 minutes to walk to the kitchen and walk back with a bowl each chatting and having a conversation before the butter and jam was put out for serving. This was a feature of the week with the majority of the restaurant staff spending as much time as possible evading doing anything. Dishes were allowed to pile up on tables, the wine jugs were filthy, and you had to search for a jug and a glass that was not chipped or cracked. Male restaurant staff were observed transferring watermelon from one container to another using their hands, running hands around the trellis by cooking area thats serving food. The food was of a quality that left a lot to be desired and the fruit and veg was sub standard with blacken over ripe bananas, bruised oranges and over ripe plums being put out daily. though in fairness the soup was generally good and on the Moirocan evening the food was cooked beautifully. The tables and floor area were only cleaned once during our stay and spillages of water and food on the floor were left until someone actually pointed it out to the staff that it needed cleaning up. The Raffia place mats were filhty with ingrained food and pieces of bread and when we asked for clean ones we were told that they were cleaned once a week. The outside eating area was only cleaned down one during our stay with spilt food and drink making it an area for the wasps to congregate too. If you wanted hot food you had to be at the Restaurant early as none of the heating elements were being used. Going early also meant that you beat the queues as it seemed to be an enjoyable pastime for the staff at the cooking station to wander off when people were approaching or waiting. Shortages are rife and and food was constantly running out on 3 occasions there was no yoghurt or fruit after 8.30am. The restuarant was removing food around 25 minutes before it was due to shut and if you arrived in the evening after 8 30pm there is next to nothing left to eat. the afternoon "snack" of dry sandswich and a dry cake with particularly disgusting coffee with more being left than eaten. When we left it was the start of Ramadan with all the staff disappearing at sunset into the kitchen leaving 2 managers to try to clear tables. The best food from the serving station also went with the staff and a number of guests complained that freshly cooked chicken was taken away by them to be replaces by dry chicken scraps.

Our room was large enough for 3 with the third bed in an alcove which enabled some privacy for all. The decor was quite good and the room came equiped with a flat screen TV with BBC world news being the only English channel you could receive. Our maid was very good cleaning the room every day with clean towels almost daily . The balcony was never touched and the floor was quite dirty with a number of bird droppings being seen. Depending who you saw on Reception they were very polite and courteous though generally not in any hurry to sort a problem out. This applied to the staff as a whole with only a very few who gave the guest the service they expected. A number of the guest made the comments that the Atlas Targas should have been labelled Manyana + as a rating.

The bars had the inevitable queues for getting a drink with staff disappearing until a queue had built up. a group of us timed the pool barmen one day who disappeared 8 times for an average of around 10 minutes during the time of 11am to 3.30pm so be prepared to wait for your drinks. The barmen will only give out drinks in plastic cups after 10pm as they don't want to have to wash up and you have to be firm that you want the drinks in a glass. After 11pm the only drinks available are from the payment bar which just happens to have a larger tv and better seating. water is from a dispenser and you are supposed to use a cup, they all have notices saying you cannot fill a bottle but almost everyone appeared to be doing just that. If you need to buy water it is a lot cheaper to buy in town than from the hotel shop.
The pools and grounds are well kept though the areas around the top pools by the waterslide need cleaning. There are some sun umbrells but not nearly enough and due to the temperature touch 40 the trees in the grassed over areas had to be used for shade.
The exercise room had 2 treadmills and 4 exercise bikes while the games room was not able to be used as there was a problem with the pool tables and no one knew where the cues were. The entertain was in French and even though there was a considerable British contingent present no attempt was made to use any English. The clocks went back 1 hour on the Saturday morning for Ramadan and despite being told they were going back Sunday by staff the only notices advising the guests were in French. This had the effect of a lot of people turning up for breakfast at 6.30am - 7am as a number of trips and shuttle bus bookings were planned.
The Hotel operates a free shuttle bus which operates through the day and evening but requires booking. This is really hepful as the Atlas Targa is a long way out of the centre of Marakech and the majority of taxi drivers will not drive out to the hotel as it is too far. If you intend to go exploring the old town and souks make sure you have an English speaking guide as a number of the people who we met had a bad experience when they went off exploring on their own. They became lost and the locals demands payment or purchase of goods before pointing you in the right direction. Book a guide from one of the local tour companies it cost us 250 dir for around 4 hours and was well worth the money. We found out the local tipping rates from some regular visitors to marakech for a guide was 100 dir for a half day and 200dir for a full day, if you had a driver it was 20dir for a half day and 50dir for a full day.

We went to the Fantasia show which was held just below the mountains and a 45 minute drive from the hotel. The cuisene was supposed to world class and a number of certificates were proudly displayed but in aactuallity the food was very bland. The first course was soup which only tasted of cornflour and the german couple we sat with refused to eat it. The second course was a shoulder of lamb only, no veg, cooked beautifully but very greasey. We had a tajine for third course which had dried out cous cous along with some stewed pumpkin which we all left. This was rounded off with a platter of fresh fruit which was mainly oranges. drnks were around 20 dir for soft drinks and 25 dir for a bottle of beer. Even though the food was indifferent the pantomine, theatre and sheer exhileration more than made up it and we left at 11.30pm feeling that it had been more than worth it.
When we left on the 2nd July we were presented with the tourist tax which is 16.5dir per person per day which cost us about £27. We had a latet check out of 2pm but were bothered a number of times by maids and reception to be out of the room as the maid finished at 3pm. The hotel does not offer a courtesy room to wash up but there is an area beind reception where you can leave you cases which also has washing facilities.

To sum our stay at the Atlas Targa we would say that they Hotel is over rated. It is certainly not a 4 star hotel but more like a 2+ star everywhere else. The All Inclusive is not like an AI as we know in Spain, Turkey, Canaries etc but more like full board with a few drinks. if you go there with this in mind and have not paid a lot for your holiday then you will get what you expect. As one guest said if you took the hotel building and grounds and transported then to the canaries where standards are higher then it would be perfect. In answer to the question would I stay at the Atlas Targa again then the answer would have to be no.

Room Tip: The further away from reception the quieter and the higher the floor the less problem with insects...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I'm still in the Atlas Targa resort, and felt when better to write this review?

Be prepared for the heat, it's an average of 40C in the day and 30C in the evening, dropping to about 20C in the early morning.
With it's 4 pools, there's always somewhere to dip in to cools off (even at night, whilst sipping a cocktail)

On the note of alcohol, respect that you are visiting a country of beauty, in all senses of the word. The religion here is Muslim dominant, therefor drinking alcohol is tolerated, however not encouraged. The hotel has a low stock/standard of spirits (paint stripper?) they have a choice of whiskey, vodka, rum & gin which all taste the same. On the other hand, the wine is outstanding, it's a local wine, and I'd highly recommend grabbing a few pitchers with lunch or dinner.

Going onto the food, there's a wide selection of continental breakfast foods, or if you wish to taste local foods, there's that option also. The food is absolutely stunning. And a small 'American kitchen' where the Chef cooks 1 food per meal time for a stated amount of time.

The service, is what let's the hotel down, on a personal level.
I am not ignorant, and understand that here the main language is Arabic, then French. And I do attempt to speak French, along with my phrase book & google translate. However, I can't help but notice the sheer disgust on the staff's face with the British. The entertainment guys only speak English if they don't have enough people for their activities, and attempting to buy anything from the boutique is impossible. French are welcomed with open arms, British are treated like second class citizens.

The rooms are stunning, beautiful art, a nice big powerful shower, floors washed daily, lovely balcony and great AC.

The grounds, also gorgeous with palm and olive tree's, gorgeous bright flowers and freshly cleaned walk ways, along with a beautifully clean pool & pool area there's is absolutely nothing to complain about.

There is also a shuttle bus that runs ever 2 hours along with many activities throughout the day, please see attached photos.

Overall, I WOULD recommend this hotel. It's beautiful, clean and family friendly. With great food & music. If you come here, brush up on your French, change some Dirham notes to coins for tips to those who are kind (gets you a long way). On an all inclusive basis, the hotel is at a very low price for the standard. Although, if you want to drink alcohol & party, Marrakech is not the place for you - if you want to relax, take in the culture, soak up the sun and enjoy Moroccos beauty, this is the place for you.

I hope you found this lengthy review helpful. And if you do go here, I have no need to say enjoy, as it's impossible not to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Just back after a 7 day all inclusive really recommend this hotel & resort. The rooms were clean the pool lovely the staff friendly and the food abundant and tasty. Good location because the shuttle bus made it so easy to get into town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas Targa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Targa & Resort

Address: Douar Bouchareb Targa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#121 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlas Targa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort offers a free shuttle service every 2 hours to the center of Marrakech, 10 minutes drive. It also has a pool and an Oriental spa and spacious rooms with balconies. Atlas Targa & Resort has a private tennis court and several bars and restaurants, including a snack bar by the pool. The rooms at the Atlas Targa & Resort are air conditioned and feature modern décor. They enjoy a view of the Atlas Mountains. Each is equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. On site you will find a shop, a nightclub, and a free mini-club for children. Guests can also relax by the fireplace in the elegant lounge or on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Atlas Targa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Targa Hotel Marrakech
Atlas Targa And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Targa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.